Thomas 4/13 Still High Numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sonya

Member Since 2012
I didn't get an AMPS this morning, he was too adjitated (my fault, I didn't get a good spot to begin with and he wanted his breakfast). An hour after his shot and food he was at 449. PMPS was 379, and +3 (really 3.5) was 453. He's eating more. I will try increasing to 1 unit tomorrow am and get more readings so I can figure out the lows.

Sonya
 
Sounds good Sonya. Pats for Thomas and I hope the dose increase gets some better numbers.
 
Hi Sonya,
I see you increased today. Some cats react to an increase right away. Others may not react for a few cycles or days. I would get some spot checks in today and tonight. Then do a curve tomorrow.

Please remember that you almost shot a 60 and 70 blind this past week. That shows how incredibly important it is to test before shooting. Is there anything we can do to help make the preshot tests easier?

I hope today shows some progress. It really is a game of patience, tho.

Oh...i also wanted to mention again, it would be a good idea to get those ketostix and test THomas' urine for ketones at least once/day while you are waiting to find the right dose.
 
I've shyed away from the Ketostix. Is there some info on line about using these? I'm just not sure how to do this with a cat. With a human, easy. I don't know when I can catch Thomas.

I did a couple random checks today. Will do the curve tomorrow. Sometimes I have difficulty finding just the right spot on his ear to get enough blood for the test. Others i get it the first try. This will just take practice on my part. Thomas has been pretty patient about the whole thing.

Thanks for checking up on us!

Sonya
 
Hi Sonya!
I see you got an amps this a.m. Great job! :thumbup (though Thomas, that is not a number we like to see! :? )
I also see he is heading down. I hope he continues to do so gradually, and does not end up as high as amps tonight.
You are probably going to need to increase the dose again in a few days. But let's wait it out and remember to increase slowly...so you don't miss the right/safe dose!

The ketostix are used to monitor kitties for ketones, who are sitting in higher numbers. It can be a life saver, in the case he were to develop them. I know a lot of people struggle getting the test, but most end up successfully getting them on a daily basis. I was pretty lucky (maybe???) to have a cat who would walk in the box, lift her hiney all the way up and pee outside. :? Made it easy to catch the urine stream, but not so nice to clean up. :YMSIGH:

Here is a picture of what you want. You can get them at most regular pharmacies. If they are not in the isle by diabetic supplies, than ask the pharmacist.
http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/2 ... _SH20_.jpg

Did the new syringes come in?

Hope you guys are having a good day!!!! :mrgreen:
Keep up the great work.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top