This is hard

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sue and Polly

New Member
I don't know if I can do this. I know Polly has only been diagnosed 2 weeks but the roller coaster effect is very
stressful and I am so worried about her. Having thought she was improving and that I was coming to terms with
Her being diabetic the vet now tells me she has pancreatitis. I am away on business. - this is being typed on my
Blackberry so don't know if it will work - so haven't spoken to her. I am beside myself with worry having read
various websites. I am away this weekend and have lined up new catsitter as my previous lady could not
Commit to the time constraints. I understand perfectly but am still upset. The new one e seems lovely and
Ex vet nurse - and very local - but it is still difficult and I don't know if I should go. I think I'm feeling sorry for
Myself.
 
Try to relax a little, I know this is hard in the beginning, but in time things get better. As you learn more it becomes almost second nature.

My Tucker(GA) had pancreatitis, it didn't flare very often. When you're back from your business trip there's some information you can read some information we have on pancreatitis.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/phorum5/r ... 722,876722
 
You are right. It is absolutely hard, particularly when you dump pancreatitis into the mix. The good news is that we have lots of people here who deal with both conditions successfully. We can help.

You have every right to feel sorry for yourself and for Polly. All I can tell you is that once you get hometesting down, once you learn how to deal with the pancreatitis, you will begin to feel more in control. You will know you are helping Polly and helping her feel better. And she will realize it too.

Breathe. Sounds silly, but was some of the best advice I got when I first arrived here, scared and overwhelmed. Breathe and let us help.
 
Dearest Sue,

I'm sorry about the pancreatitis diagnosis coming on top of Polly's FD... I can understand you feeling a bit blue and sorry for yourself. It's okay. Trust me, I've had my share of pity parties...

I've been lucky enough to have had a great traveler in Giz and now a great traveler in Nikki. Giz preferred the chauffeured position in her carrier in the back seat. Nikki likes riding shotgun, also in her carrier. And, who doesn't love a long seat belt?

Obviously you can't take Polly on your business trips; and, I don't know if your weekend trip is business or pleasure. If pleasure and you are planning to drive, would you consider taking Polly with you? It might ease some of your angst to have your furry girl with you... I mean, if she's a good traveler and all... Either way, it sounds like you have great coverage for Polly.

Hope this helps. And, Sue, believe it or not, it will get easier.

Much love and countless hopeful, encouraging hugs for you both,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz, forever dancing in my heart...
 
Dearest Sue, of course you are upset and overwhelmed. I understand completely and I'm sure everyone here would. It is all so hard until...and it does happen I swear....it becomes....EASY. It really does Sue. I think most things in life are hard until they become easy. My Tom was on deaths doorstep at diagnosis and I really did'nt believe we could do this...I mean I REALLY did'nt believe we could. Today I send Newbie's a Newbie Kit to get them started and I believe that little box alone gives them a boost. Now I can test Tom in under 30 seconds or so. I still do not like to leave him...I don't think I ever will, but that's me. I don't really want to go anywhere that badly I guess....yet!
Go easy on yourself Sue, there is plenty of time to get over the initial shock and saddness of it all, but I think it will surprise you how this in the long run becomes a gift rather than a burden.
Lori
and tomtom too!
 
Two weeks ago, I felt the exact same way: "I don't know if I can do this".

Like you, I found this place and have gradually been able to calm the roller coaster ride.

Ex-vet nurse! Sounds like you might have given yourself an upgrade. Talk to her as much as you need to. Tell her about us! If she needs a hand, she can find it here too.

Things will get better and they will get easier. It's emotionally very difficult in the beginning. Learning to breathe and posting questions to fdmb goes a long way to easing the difficulty.

Many hugs for you, your kitty and your catsitter.

Best,
Sarah.
 
Sue and Polly said:
I don't know if I can do this. I know Polly has only been diagnosed 2 weeks but the roller coaster effect is very
stressful and I am so worried about her. Having thought she was improving and that I was coming to terms with
Her being diabetic the vet now tells me she has pancreatitis. I am away on business. - this is being typed on my
Blackberry so don't know if it will work - so haven't spoken to her. I am beside myself with worry having read
various websites. I am away this weekend and have lined up new catsitter as my previous lady could not
Commit to the time constraints. I understand perfectly but am still upset. The new one e seems lovely and
Ex vet nurse - and very local - but it is still difficult and I don't know if I should go. I think I'm feeling sorry for
Myself.

I know it's tough, but you've got to go, right? So, lay your worries on this new sitter who sounds to me like a dream come true and say a prayer like we all will for Polly.
 
This sounds all too familiar. In June, my cat Stinky was diagnosed with Pancreatitis and his PLI test (the definitive blood test for pancreatitis) was through the roof... even the vet was shocked. At this time, unbeknownst to me, his BG was in the high 200s. Fortunately three weeks of antibiotics brought the PLI numbers to a decent range. A month later, he started showing the classic signs of diabetes, and his BG was tested at about 600. I remember leaving the vet's office crying in the middle of midtown crying like a crazy woman. The next 48 hours were spent researching on the web like mad, and eventually ending up on this board. Nothing made sense, I was lost and could not put all the info together. Stinky was doomed, I thought.

Well, after much great advice here, and consults with Dr. Lisa, everything started to click. I learned the nuances of Lantus (great insulin, btw) and low-carb diet, as well as home-testing and how crucial that info is...

We had a very happy ending, despite initially feeling helpless, clueless and stupid. He has been off insulin and in remission for three months. You can do this, and the people here on this board will help you. Pancreatitis often goes hand-in-hand with diabetes, so I wouldn't be too freaked out by that. It's likely that by following the protocol with insulin and diet, your cat's pancreas can heal itself to some degree. And remission isn't out of the question. At worst, your cat will have a happy and healthy life with insulin.
 
Thanks for the support, I'm sure as you say we will get there. We are even now falling into a routine and my husband is wonderful at giving Polly her injections! The catsitter came round tonight to give Polly her evening injection whilst I was there so I could make sure Polly would sit for her. She did so I feel better about it and she has promised to text me to tell me she is OK. Polly has to stay home as she is one of three cats and we have 4 chickens as well so no mass family outings fo us. I have read a lot about diabetes so I guess my next specialist subject will have to be pancreatitis. Monday it's back to the vets for a glucose curve so hopefully more information will help us get it right. I just want her to be well and happy and live out her life as fully as possible. Thanks once again for the sensible advice and words of encouragement.
 
Sue unless you really like going to the vet for a glucose curve it is totally unnecessary. You can do it at home! The full curve!
You just get your morning #, shoot, feed, and then test every 2 hours for 8-10 hours. That's a curve. It's main purpose is to see how the insulin is working on your individual cat.
 
oh and sue, if you don't get a spread sheet up before you do a curve (if you do the curve) this is how you can present it to us for best understanding ok.

amps (am pre shot) # shoot (whatever you shoot)
+2 #
+4 #
+6 #
+8 #
pmps (pm preshot) # and what you shoot. i mean actually tell us what you shoot.
 
Hey Sue,

My vet wanted to do a curve at her office too, but after I told her I'd be home-testing she agreed to reviewing the values I record during my own curve, done at home in the way lori describes. For us it was a better option - he was happier, (he hates sitting in a cage) and I didn't have to shell out the big bucks for an all-day stay.
 
HARD... I was so terrified that I'd kill my baby.... but please trust us that in a month... with testing and all... you'll be comfortable and confident in what you do... and if questions come up... this wonderful site almost always has someone to offer advise and support. I write poetry... and I'd to share this with you.

Finding FDMB
© 2004 By Carol Notermann

Alone I heard the words I’d feared, alone and terrified.
Did no one know or understand, I cursed the tears I cried.
I’ll beat this thing, I’ll prove them wrong for he is my best friend
There has to be some help somewhere, this cannot be the end.

The vet had been so cavalier, explaining choices to be made.
I’d heard his words, but in my brain, too few of them had stayed.
I ran to my computer, typed in the word I’d heard
As I hit “search” I trembled, for I hated that darn word.

The list popped up, and there I saw, that I was not alone.
I clicked on one, and read the text, but those words too had flown.
Then next I clicked, a message board, with others just like me.
I typed the words, “I’m just so scared, I’m crying and can’t see.”

Within a minute, maybe two, I was welcomed with a (hug).
They said to simply take a breath, my heart, it felt a tug.
For here were others just like me, they seemed to understand.
No one said to PTS, they said they’d lend a hand.

Thus guided by the “experts” that had no vet degree
I learned about this thing I feared, they took each step with me.
They told me of the blood tests, how to poke his little ears.
I learned of its importance, to shoot and have no fears.

I learned to simply trust my “gut”, and that I knew my cat.
I learned to treat a “hypo”, my testing would spot that.
I’ve cried tears of joy with others, and also tears of pain.
We are a world-wide family, we cheer each others gain.

And now, just four months later, my guy is lying at my feet,
Our lives are back to “normal”, and the path was not too steep.
For with the help of all my friends here on FDMB
I know that I am not alone, and that’s enough for me.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top