This is b-o-r-i-n-g........

Status
Not open for further replies.

DEF

Member Since 2011
OK , I know you are supposed to be patient with Lantus but...............can all this yellow be right? :YMSIGH:

I have looked at alot of spread sheets and see some progress or at least some changes (good and bad) with the shots.

Pinky hasn't learned about 'curves' or nadirs --doesn't seem interested in the least.

The thing is she isn't acting like her old self--lies around like a limp rag doll. Most of the day resting in a closet she never went into before.
She is eating (a little) and peeing and pooping but that is the extent of her activities. No ketones. No dry food. Had blood work done early Sept. and vet didn't mention anything but diabetes diagnosis.

I know you have got to take it slow but also read the sooner you have the BG tightly regulated the more of a possibility of remission.

Tonight I am cracking open a new pen even though the other one is new. I pushed a little air into it a few times before knowing you aren't supposed to do that. Plus, It has a bubble in it and read that can degrade it.
If the new pen doesn't do anything with the numbers I will assume the first one is still OK.

So we just keep on keeping on??? Dreaming of curves and good nadirs.

Elaine and Oh so yellow Pinky
 
It looks to me like Pinky needs more insulin.

There are a couple to things to consider. I don't think you're at a point yet where fattening a dose (i.e., going from 1.75 to less than 2.0u) makes sense. I'd suggest sticking with the protocol and increasing by 0.25u. Until you see some movement, I would increase the dose every 3 days/6 cycles.
 
Thanks for reply. I will follow 'the 3 day and then increase ' pattern more closely. My 1.75 and <2 are probably the same dose --just a hair below 2 but I held it for 6 and 1/2 days---too long as nothing was happening.
 
Hello, elaine & pinky!

hope the numbers start to move for you soon...but i can sympathize with what you are feeling...
It was agonizing waiting for binks to find that breakthrough dose...
and then it was a wild ride from there on!

celi & binks
 
Hello Elaine and Pinky,

I know that patience is very difficult to have when we want our kitties to be better. I too was upset about not having movement, then I went through the emotional ranges of the extreme swings, then finally seeing BG#'s like other peoples SS.

As Celi said, once you find that breakthrough dose, hold on tight!!

I believe you will start to see some improvements in Pinky soon...
 
Thanks everyone for the encouragement.

I just tested Pinky at 10 pm and it was BLUE. (199 barely blue but blue).

Pinky must have realized I was writing about her on the internet and 'complaining' just a tiny bit. cat(2)_steam

With that # I decided not to switch to a new pen yet and see how it looks in the morning.

In one of the stickies it says something about having a nadir 12 hours after a shot so I guess that is what Pinky Pop is up to now.

Hope we are on the road to feeling better and better.
 
hi elaine! no advice, just wanted to send you a little encouragement. going up isn't so bad and it seems to be part of it.

hang in there!
 
I am just offering lots of support I think one of the hardest things about the sugar dance is the being patient part so hang in there (((((HUG))))
 
Patience has got to be one of the hardest things for any of us to have when we're trying to get our kitties regulated. I know I'm not the best one for being patient, however, perseverence (sp), and patience are both rewarded in time. You ARE doing very well with Pinky, and Pinky's doing well, too. Being in the yellows is much better than being in higher #s (pinks and reds). Sticking to the protocol will help get her unstuck, too, and you'll be seeing progress. Sometimes, a kitty needs to up in insulin in order to come down in #s. She'll tell you. :smile: Hang in there!! {{{{{HUGS}}}}}
 
Elaine - Everything you are feeling is completely normal!!

Take a peak at my ss. We have been the KING OF YELLOWS for the past 45 days or so and I"m pretty sure I used your exact same words....BORING....I also used Flatsville, Pancake, etc..... After much (and very difficult) patience, we're starting to see some action!

Pinky has gotten quite comfortable in that yellow zone and her little pancrease will work right along (and against) the insulin you give to keep her comfortable. Think of it like this....yellow to her is normal, and every time you give insulin, you threaten her normalcy. The tight protocol is a slow "relearn" giving little nudges (increases every 3days/6 cycles) to "reteach" that pancrease how to accept and learn to love again....the lower numbers.

Follow Sienne's advice to the tee and you will see the break happen.

You also mentioned the nadir. When you look at our ss, up until now, our low seemed to run at +2 - +4. Now, it's moving a bit closer to the +6. It may be beneficial to you to get some other spot checks like +2, +3, or +4. A curve once a week is also helpful to get a full picture. Now's the perfect time so you can really see when the break happens!

Hold on you two...you'll get there!! ;-) ;-)
 
Jessica, thanks for pointing out your SS. Boo likes yellow too. Hope the action over the weekend continues.

Hopefully I am getting into some dosages that will make a dent into all the yellowness.

Thanks for the help and advice everyone.
 
This is b-o-r-i-n-g-.......

Being here in lantus land to me, is hardly boring! It takes a ton of work, a huge amount of patience, and consistancy to get a cat even mildly regulated, much less off the juice!
Havent seen you on here much, but you really need to do more reading of our Stickys which explain what this is all
about...Many of us have experienced many stressful and tense days with our cats, and Boring would NOT be a word I would associate with our work here. Also some of us have days when we are elated too!
The protocol is pretty specific, the support system here is incredible, and working within all that, perhaps you can reconnect with your kitty the way he used to be before FD.
Have a good day!
 
Anyone who has never had a chance to see my Squishy's SS doesn't know what boring is :lol: Well, it was more interesting boring than plain old boring :lol: Squishy liked to keep me on my toes :razz:

Remember, it's not all about the numbers :smile: A happy otherwise healthy cat is more important cat_pet_icon
 
Welcome! I know that it seems very boring now. However, it doesn't really look like you have done many full curves to know if your kitty is having any nadir. Data is really your friend at this point. Sienne will help you through it. To really get your kitty moving, you are going to have to stick to the 3 day dose increase if there is no action. Otherwise, you are just going to stay where you are.

Hope you have a great day!
 
Roni,

I used the word 'boring' to describe MY situation of dealing with many 'yellow' readings without seeing any changes. A more accurate term would have been worrisome but I decided to lighten it up a bit.

I in no way thought anyone would make the inference that I was speaking about others dealing with their own diabetic kitty nor was I thinking of those who spend a great deal of time here helping others.

I have read the stickys over and over here and other sites as well. I spent at least 5+ plus hours a day on the computer following her diagnosis for many, many days. I just counted out 62 pages on FD that I have printed out over the past 2 weeks alone.

I saw some charts where people were keeping it at very low dose for many more days than 3 despite high readings so I was loathe to give too much too soon. I realize that was a mistake and that I should continue to increase every 3 days when appropriate. I have already posted she is not the easiest to test but I am working on that aspect.

By the way, no 'reconnection' to my kitty is necessary. Never lost the slightest bit of connection. We have a tighter bond then ever and she has my total love, attention, and dedication to her welfare. It is my other 5 that wonder why mommy is so busy with Pinky.

Take care
Elaine and Pinky
 
I'm glad you're looking at spreadsheets. It's a great way to learn. At this point, I'd encourage you to stick with the protocol. There's no way to know if following it exactly will be the right course for Pinky, but it's a good start. Many of us deviate but it's because of experience and one of the basic rules, "Know thy cat." Getting data is the best way to begin to understand how your cat responds to Lantus.

It can be frustrating and it can take a great deal of patience. No matter if your cat achieves remission or tight regulation, the goal is a healthy and happy cat and a bean who still has all of her hair!

I hope you'll keep posting and asking questions. It's a wonderful community of people.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top