Thinking about switching from TRP to SLGS

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris & Queenie

Member Since 2015
I have been following the TRP for about three weeks and I'm pondering if the GS method might be better for my kitty and for me. How much harm would I do by just slowing things down a bit? I am concerned about my ability to keep up with all the testing and have times when it would simply be impossible to monitor a kitty bouncing around in the 50's, 60's etc. I am interested in what others have gone through when switching back and forth between these methods.
 
I think a lot of people tailor approaches between the two protocols to suit themselves and their kitties. Don't feel bad, it has to work for you and sometimes the slower approach is a better fit.

Having said that it seems like you have done a lot of the hard work already. You are certainly testing far more than even the tight regulation calls for but I see that you have a bouncy cat and needs must.

If I were you I would post your question in the LL forum and see what members suggest. They will certainly understand your concerns and be able to advise.
 
I think a lot of people tailor approaches between the two protocols to suit themselves and their kitties. Don't feel bad, it has to work for you and sometimes the slower approach is a better fit.

Having said that it seems like you have done a lot of the hard work already. You are certainly testing far more than even the tight regulation calls for but I see that you have a bouncy cat and needs must.

If I were you I would post your question in the LL forum and see what members suggest. They will certainly understand your concerns and be able to advise.
Thanks! I did ask this question in my condo but I have not yet seen a reply to it. Maybe I will break it out as a separate post. Another member here had mentioned to me that her kitty was an "unusual" case and the LL forum suggested she post on the main forum to get a wider audience, so I thought I'd take that approach too.
 
Bud just switched on 3/20 from ProZinc to now Levemir. I chose the SLGS protocol to start on since I'm never home during the day during the week. I'm anxious to get Bud in better numbers though, so I was thinking of switching to TR. But, like you, I can't catch nadirs of 50 all the time and steer them if I need to. And getting a curve every week like SLGS calls for isn't ideal either though. I would like a medium protocol... Maybe we should make one. :) Of course I'm not experienced enough with Levemir to figure this all out on my own right now. I think doing dose increases on Friday nights makes the best sense, for me.
 
If you're "up" for it, set an alarm for +5.25 or +6 to get a nadir period test or two. By setting an alarm on an increment of 45 minutes, you are likely to be at the end of a sleep cycle, and easier to wake.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top