? Theodore, dose wonkiness? +378 AMPS 493 +7

NadineTheodore

Active Member
Hi,

Theodore is off antibiotics and I've struggled with a few things since his antibiotics. He had megacolon so previously his stool was always too hard. Now it's formed but soft post antibiotics Purina DM dry works to harden the stool but raises his numbers. I've was sick last week and a half so my husband was managing his doses and I think it got a little off track. His glucose keeps raising midday so I am wondering if this is a somogyi effect? I know it's viewed as a myth I just don't understand why his midday numbers are higher than AMPS.
 
Since you are following SLGS for dosing, any chance of getting a curve sometime? And those before bed tests are really important if you can do them now. I suspect he's going lower than he's used to overnight, then bouncing the next day. Either that or the high carb DM dry is raising his numbers quite a bit. I suspect he needs an increase.

Has the vet said anything about weight loss? He's lost quite a bit in a relatively short period of time.

The link to your last post here for continuity.

Symogyi is an old story, created over 100 years ago with a small test group of humans and fast acting insulins. With cats on Lantus (a much more modern insulin), sufficient testing and slow increases in dose, it's not something you have to consider.
 
Since you are following SLGS for dosing, any chance of getting a curve sometime? And those before bed tests are really important if you can do them now. I suspect he's going lower than he's used to overnight, then bouncing the next day. Either that or the high carb DM dry is raising his numbers quite a bit. I suspect he needs an increase.

Has the vet said anything about weight loss? He's lost quite a bit in a relatively short period of time.

The link to your last post here for continuity.

Symogyi is an old story, created over 100 years ago with a small test group of humans and fast acting insulins. With cats on Lantus (a much more modern insulin), sufficient testing and slow increases in dose, it's not something you have to consider.
The weight loss happens every time I remove him off the Purina DM. His weight with the Young Again for whatever reason doesn't help him gain weight. I am not sure if there is a better option. I am going to take him in for blood work this week, the vet wants to "confirm" the antibiotic got rid of the blood parasite. It's an expensive confirmation as it will run me $350 then we have to check the protein in urine which will likely be another $100
 
Yikes on the vet costs! Hope the results come out that he's all cleared.

If you are going to have to stick to the DM, then it's likely you'll need to go to a higher dose. We work the insulin dose around whatever they need for other issues.
 
Yikes on the vet costs! Hope the results come out that he's all cleared.

If you are going to have to stick to the DM, then it's likely you'll need to go to a higher dose. We work the insulin dose around whatever they need for other issues.
@Wendy&Neko YEP, he's an expensive boy. Not to mention my other cat has a URI which I will need medication for. :| I will do a curve Wednesday. I just bumped it back to 4.5 so I wanted to give it a few days and tomorrow I will be hard with my schedule. Gotta work for the cats :smuggrin:
 
The weight loss happens every time I remove him off the Purina DM. His weight with the Young Again for whatever reason doesn't help him gain weight. I am not sure if there is a better option. I am going to take him in for blood work this week, the vet wants to "confirm" the antibiotic got rid of the blood parasite. It's an expensive confirmation as it will run me $350 then we have to check the protein in urine which will likely be another $100
It sounds like you're dealing with a complex situation. If your pet's weight loss stops when they're on Purina DM but not on Young Again, it could be worth sticking with the Purina DM for now. The blood work and protein check in the urine are definitely costly but crucial to ensure the health of your pet and confirm the effectiveness of the treatment for the blood parasite. It’s a tough call with the expenses, but health comes first. Good luck with the vet visit this week!
 
Last edited:
Back
Top