Theodore +7 527

NadineTheodore

Member Since 2023
Hello all,

Just as an update, I was going to increase Theodore back up but I noticed some great *BLUE* numbers in the threes and I am getting sudden drops (not today). Should I still increase to 3.5? Last time I did, my vet saw the sheet and called me asking not to do that so I get real conflicted sorry. I am doing my best. Consistent poops for Theodore and NO ketones
 
Usually it’s not tested until over 6 units I think. I would not test at this dose and being only 4 months on insulin. @Wendy&Neko
 
Last edited:
We've seen cats with acromegaly on less than 6 units. If you see any clinical signs of the condition, no reason to hold off testing because his dose is under 6 units. The large scale study done at the Royal Veterinary College found cats with acromegaly on as low as 1 unit. One other thing discovered at RVC is that you shouldn't test too early after starting insulin. You should wait at least 73 days, or there was a fairly high percent (33%) of false negatives when testing IGF-1. You've waited long enough if you think he should be tested for it.

The other condition worth testing for is IAA (insulin auto antibodies). The blood goes to MSU, same place as the IGF-1 test, for a relatively cheap add on.

One of the issues I see is that you are holding doses too long. That can cause glucose toxicity, where kitty's body gets used to higher numbers. When following SLGS, you increase every week unless you see nadirs (plural), in the 90-149 range. I agree with Elise that you should increase to 3.25 units. The blue you saw the PM of 8/25 looks out of place, sandwiched by two tests in the 300's.
 
Hi Wendy, @Wendy&Neko

Could you advise if you think I should increase now to 3.5? He was previously on 3.5U, I was thinking of increasing in AM. I know we haven't held for too long but Theodore's case is special. Vet wants me to bring him in for full blood panel and urine culture to see if there's any undetected infection that has no symptoms, I am not sure if that makes sense? .Still doesn't feel we need to test for acro given he's reacting to insulin...She feels part of his struggle is the lack of strict feeding schedule, she acknowledged that while they do say Lantus is supposed to allow for free feeding with cats, she feels some follow more dog rules.. I will say today after I gave Theodore his dry, his numbers went from yellow to red. I'm in a hard place given I need something to help him poop and taking away dry has always caused blockages for him even though it's textbook opposite.

So I was told Fancy Feast Pate is fine, Theodore loves FF Chunky Chicken and FF Flaked trout, He's on Dr. Esleys Chicken Dry....these are what he's eating daily. Could one of these be a problem? The other thing I want to ask is I give him Churu wet treats because I have to provide him restoralax daily and this makes it easier. Should I limit this and just mix into FF Pate?
 
I've heard Churu is fine. If the food chart says the FF are under 10%, they are fine too. Some people have reported their cats going higher on Dr. Elseys dry, but it might vary by cat.

I think Theo's high numbers tonight are due to bouncing from the very steep drops he did this morning. He seems to really like to drop at +2. I think you need to try to feed him to level him out and try to reduce those fast drops. Maybe a mini meal at +1.5 might help?

Would it be possible to get a +2 at night on this dose? With no PMPS on this dose and only a +1, I don't think I can say how low 3.25 units is taking him. Even if you were following TR, you'd hold the dose for 6 cycles, so no to going to 3.5 units tomorrow morning.
 
I will get my husband to give him a mini meal at +1.5 although we sometimes leave food out, I guess we shouldn't? More promising number today at 358 before shooting. I proceeded with 3.25 even though vet advised to lower when his number goes down. I just personally find he needs consistency.

What do you think about complete blood work and urine culture? Or should I just insist on testing for acro + IAA? Complete bloodwork along with urine culture is going to be around the same price as the acro test $400-500 so I would like to do one step at a time.


I've heard Churu is fine. If the food chart says the FF are under 10%, they are fine too. Some people have reported their cats going higher on Dr. Elseys dry, but it might vary by cat.

I think Theo's high numbers tonight are due to bouncing from the very steep drops he did this morning. He seems to really like to drop at +2. I think you need to try to feed him to level him out and try to reduce those fast drops. Maybe a mini meal at +1.5 might help?

Would it be possible to get a +2 at night on this dose? With no PMPS on this dose and only a +1, I don't think I can say how low 3.25 units is taking him. Even if you were following TR, you'd hold the dose for 6 cycles, so no to going to 3.5 units tomorrow morning.
 
What do you think about complete blood work and urine culture? Or should I just insist on testing for acro + IAA? Complete bloodwork along with urine culture is going to be around the same price as the acro test $400-500 so I would like to do one step at a time.
That's a HUGE price for acro + IAA testing. Total costs to Michigan State University is $89 for both. Plus you have to pay for a blood draw and shipping and a huge markup. More details in this post: MSU VDL testing instructions for IGF-1 and IAA

although we sometimes leave food out, I guess we shouldn't?
It's fine if he's a grazer, but try to lift the bowl for the last few hours of the cycle if you can. Feeding late in the cycle after nadir can shorten duration and give you higher preshots.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top