Theo, diagnosed in January 2019 has severe neuropathy

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michele & Theo

Member Since 2019
hi... my 7.5 yr old male flame point siamese was diagnosed in January of this year with a BG of 23 mmol/L (>400 mg/dL) when diagnosed. He had lost over 2 lbs (1kg) in less than 4 weeks and had become remote and somewhat lethargic so I took him in for a checkup. Luckily he did not have ketones in his urine. We tried changing his diet (he was a mainly kibble eater before) for a few weeks, but that did not have any affect. He started at 2 units of Prozinc twice daily at the end of January. The dosage has been adjusted twice in consultation with his VET but his levels still do not seem to be dropping. We are contemplating changing the type of insulin. I test his BG before every injection and sometimes throughout the day; I've also done 3 BG curves (see his spreadsheet). He doesn't mind the BG testing but absolutely hates getting his insulin injection ... I have to wrap him in a large towel and cover his head/hold him down and he growls the whole time (if I don't wrap him, he tries to bite and scratch me). Luckily he forgets quickly because we're buddies again when it is done (or it is because he knows he gets to eat!).

His neuropathy has become more severe over the last few weeks now affecting his ability to leap/jump, his walking gait (he also rests every few feet). I learned about the potential for Zobaline to help with the neuropathy from this forum. Unfortunately it is not available in Canada and the shipping cost to Canada (and potential for issues at Customs) are such that I do not want to go that route. So I approached my VET with info on the product (he had not heard about it) and he gave me a prescription so I could have it compounded at the local compounding pharmacy. As they do not make tablets, they provided me with capsules, which only have the 2 active ingredients (no fillers), which make it really easy to sprinkle on his food! I'm hoping to see an improvement within weeks/month. Luckily he has a great appetite eating just over 2 cans/day and as such is maintaining his weight.

Until his diagnosis, I never knew how many cats were diabetic!
 
Hello and welcome to FDMB. Theo is a very handsome fellow. I'm glad you are going to be using the Methylcolbalamin, or Methyl B12 to help with Theo's neuropathy. If you haven't found the link to the neuropathy information here on the board I am providing it:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...europathy-weak-back-legs.178252/#post-2172382

What kind of syringes are you using? It may be that you could use a thinner gauge of needle perhaps. I do not know if Prozinc would sting on injection, but you could inquire on the Prozinc forum about that.
If you haven't visited the Prozinc forum and have questions about that insulin or dosing, there are very experienced and knowledgeable members there to help.

We use the Main Health forum for questions about general health issues, and refer our new members to the insulin specific forums for questions about the insulin itself, protocols and dosing.

If you and the vet are considering a different insulin, you can read about them in the insulin support groups from the main menu.

Best wishes going forward:cat:
 
It’s great you are testing the BSLs. Well done!!!
Re giving the insulin.... have you tried feeding Theo, who is gorgeous by the way, while you inject to distract him? If that doesn’t help, swapping to Levemir, which is similar to Lantus but is said to not sting when injected might be worth looking into.
It sounds like you are doing well managing Theo’s FD. We have a mountain of information here to help you and if you’d like to post over on the main forum as @Idjit's mom suggested, we’d love to help you more.
If you have any trouble navigating this site, yell and we’ll guide you!
 
The Methyl B12 will help with the neuropathy. Several years ago I adopted Spot who had severe neuropathy. She could barely walk. After putting her on insulin and methyl B12 her neuropathy symptoms improved. Within a few weeks she was walking better and started jumping on things . Within several months she was running and jumping high. If you saw her you would not believe how bad her neuropathy was.
 
Welcome!
I lucked out and had an aunt returning from the states shortly after Rhubarb was diagnosed, so I got her to bring me some Zobaline. It made a world of difference! I'd noticed a difference in only a few weeks, but every cat is different.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top