The Ultramarathon Part 19

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kris & Teasel

Very Active Member
AMPS was 4.9! Instead of stalling, testing and then shooting I'm making up a new "Teasel Rule" - when number is too low even for stalling, feed, wait 45 - 60 minutes, retest and then give a lower dose. I don't want another skipped shot so soon after the last one.

Will report back with final decision.

ETA: BG was 12.9 at +45 min post meal. I gave him 2.0 u.
 
Last edited:
BG at +4.5 was 17.8. Good data for the next time I want to use the feed/stall/test/shoot technique.
 
Last edited:
AMPS was 24.2. Probably mostly bounce so I can't assess the 2.2 u dose yet. I gave 2.2 u again this AM.
Nice new technique for dealing with Teasel's uniqueness! Hope it helps :cat:
Thanks, Kimi! Necessity is the mother of invention as they say. I think he's responding to lower doses now and in typical Teasel fashion, is overreacting and giving me very low PSs. I needed another way of avoiding a no shot which sets us back too much. I need to keep up the dosing pressure but it's hard with a rubber kitty - as you well know!! :)
 
PMPS was 20.3. I gave him 2.2 u again. PMPS and dose were an hour late tonight because I was out at a dinner meeting.
 
BG at +6 this afternoon was 11.4.
PMPS was 21.8 and I gave him 2.3 u. It seems the bouncing is over and I can see the effect of this dose. It's too low as I knew it would be.
 
PMPS was 20.4. I gave him 2.4 u again. He sometimes takes his time reacting to a raised dose so maybe I'll see some action tomorrow - maybe too much action ... :confused:
 
BG at +3.5 was 14.1. This tells me that he might be low-ish tomorrow at AMPS. I've been giving him a small bedtime meal regularly.
 
AMPS was 13.2. I'm very pleased that last night's before bed yellow wasn't a predictor of a nose dive! :) I gave him 2.4 u again.
 
AMPS was 19.7 - small bounce maybe. I gave him a fat 2.4 u and called it 2.45 u on my SS. I based it less on AMPS and more on how low he went yesterday.
 
Well, well, well ... PMPS was 5.7. :eek: I'm doing what I did a few days back instead of stalling: feed, test BG after 45 - 60 minutes, decide on a dose, inject. It worked last time (AM of 01/16). Non-standard procedure for a non-standard cat.

ETA: After 45 minutes post meal BG was 14.7 so I gave 2.2 u. Last time I used this technique I dropped the dose to 2.0 u and it took too many cycles to get back some momentum.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top