The Ultramarathon Part 13

Status
Not open for further replies.
It seems to be the pmps numbers that cause issues, by being low and then hard to figure the dose and either a bounce or too little insulin causing the higher numbers overnight. Would 11/13 be an option?
 
It seems to be the pmps numbers that cause issues, by being low and then hard to figure the dose and either a bounce or too little insulin causing the higher numbers overnight. Would 11/13 be an option?
Good point, Sue. I assume you mean 13 daytime/11 overnight? I could certainly try that and I think they would accept a delayed dinner time if a small snack was given late afternoon. I say they because Teasel's schedule determines everyone's schedule.

Thanks for the advice - I think I got busy staring at trees instead of the whole forest. :)
 
Actually I was thinking +11 in the am because his number is higher then (at least it has been most of the past 4 days) and +13 in the pm because he has been lower in the pm. Gives you longer in the pm for the number to rise and you can shoot earlier in the am when he might be a little lower?

Something to think about - may not work with Teasel's mindset....
 
Actually I was thinking +11 in the am because his number is higher then (at least it has been most of the past 4 days) and +13 in the pm because he has been lower in the pm. Gives you longer in the pm for the number to rise and you can shoot earlier in the am when he might be a little lower?

Something to think about - may not work with Teasel's mindset....
Ah, I see. The way I was thinking about it was by shooting at +13 in the PM the number would be higher and then the following AM dose (at my regular clock time) would be a +11 AM dose, thus catching his BG an hour earlier wrt when he was last dosed. Works out to the same, doesn't it? Mind you I might be looking at it incorrectly ...
 
Actually I was thinking +11 in the am because his number is higher then (at least it has been most of the past 4 days) and +13 in the pm because he has been lower in the pm. Gives you longer in the pm for the number to rise and you can shoot earlier in the am when he might be a little lower?

Something to think about - may not work with Teasel's mindset....
Just reread this and I think we're saying the same thing: 11 hours between overnight doses and 13 hours between daytime doses. This way I catch AM BG before it goes higher and I allow PM BG to get a little higher.
 
PMPS at +12.5 was 18.6. PM dose was 2.8 u but he might have received a little less - he moved half way through the injection. No wet fur but some insulin smell.
 
Last edited:
AMPS was 24.4, maybe a bounce, maybe because I lost a little insulin when he moved during last night's shot. I gave him 2.8 u again at +11.
 
BG at +5.5 was 18.7. Looks like too low a dose but I'll wait and see. Going ahead with 13/11 schedule - began yesterday.
 
AMPS was 7.7. Stalled for 30+ minutes and it was up to 9.2. I gave 2.8 u. I'm speculating that this unexpected low is a reaction to going from the less than full dose on 12/6 PM (lost a tiny bit because he moved) to his regular 2.8 u in the cycles since. He might have reacted as though I'd increased the dose and this fits his crazy patterns.
 
So glad you can weave your way through the maze that is Teasel, Kris. Just between you and me, I am so grateful I just get to cheerlead your decisions, and not have to advise you on daily doses. He makes my head spin. :confused:
 
So glad you can weave your way through the maze that is Teasel, Kris. Just between you and me, I am so grateful I just get to cheerlead your decisions, and not have to advise you on daily doses. He makes my head spin. :confused:
He gets my head spinning too, Sue, but I just stay calm and put one foot in front of the other. I've certainly learned to expect the unexpected! :)

Your cheerleading - and advice - is always welcome.
 
BG at +6 was 11.7. I've made a note on my SS that I'll use 13/11 dosing as needed. I can't commit to it regularly because he trips me up too much. :)
 
Well, here we are stalling again like this AM. BG just now was 8.5. I'll retest in 1o minutes or so and will decrease very slightly to 2.7 u. I could stay at 2.8 u but we're hovering near my no shot (or reduce dose significantly) number which is currently around 8. I don't like to be too daring overnight.
 
BG at +6.5 last night was 17.8 and AMPS was 20.1. Probably some bouncing after yesterday's blues. I had to think long and hard (again!) about what dose to give and decided to go with 2.8 u because:
  • that dose made him have a low AM and PMPS yesterday but that was likely his reaction to events earlier. He had only a partial flubbed shot (most but not all his insulin) for PM on 12/06 and then a full 2.8 u for AM on 12/07;
  • that was the probable cause of the bouncing on 12/07 and the low AMPS on 12/08 (OMG - she changed my dose!):
  • on 12/08 that dose of 2.8 u kept him down and gave him a PMPS that required a stall;
  • in the midst of all this his shot times were moving around because I tried a 13/11 beginning PM on 12/06 and continuing on 12/07 and had to stall both AM and PM yesterday.
  • I need to get things calmed the heck down at a dose that is usually fairly effective rather than reduce and have to raise it again.
Maybe this sounds overly daring but I think I can manage it with snacks, etc. if need be. I still get confused when he bounces but they do seem to clear a bit faster now. I also think that my approach of reducing the variables as much as I can is the way to go with this boy! :confused:
 
To all my fans (!): no, I'm not frustrated/upset - just venting some of the brain steam from having to figure this out. :)
 
I have faith that you'll get him back to nicer numbers!

Teasel is SO lucky you have such a thoughtful, analytical mind! And we're lucky you post your thought processes here so we can learn from them :bighug:
 
I have faith that you'll get him back to nicer numbers!

Teasel is SO lucky you have such a thoughtful, analytical mind! And we're lucky you post your thought processes here so we can learn from them :bighug:
Thanks, Kimi. They might not always be correct thought processes but I hope they can be useful to others occasionally. :)
 
AMPS was 20.7. I'll gave 2.8 u again just because I'm wondering whether he has any BG surprises in store for me. Those two low PSs on 12/08 might have caused bouncing yesterday so I need to see what the same dose will do today.
 
BG at +6 was 13.6. Might have been bread influenced a tiny bit. Came home with bags of groceries, phone rang, looked back at bags - three kitties had opened my package of cheese buns and were chewing away on the corner of a bun. Not much consumed but Teasel was in the middle of it. He's not particularly carb sensitive but bread is bread.
 
AMPS was a lovely blue 9.5. I'm going to give him 2.8 u again. He seems to have cleared the bounce. I've given this dose and higher on this range of BG before. There might be more bouncing but I've learned I can't back off too much (or at all if BG is around 9 or 10) or
I'll lose momentum.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top