The Ultramarathon Part 11

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kris & Teasel

Very Active Member
AMPS was 27.8. :eek: I gave him 3.20 u again.

My analysis:
  • he overreacted to the small dose increase given yesterday AM - not unusual for him
  • probably went low overnight and I hadn't made a plan to test at +7 or so
  • bounced up high because of this low.
I'm sticking with 3.2 u again today to see what happens. At least I'm no longer surprised by these reactions and don't get too upset by them. :)
 
I'm sticking with 3.2 u again today to see what happens. At least I'm no longer surprised by these reactions and don't get too upset by them. :)

Good for you - this can be the very hardest part of the sugar dance. Sometimes they do seem to get thrown off by a lower or higher than usual cycle (or even few numbers) and it takes a while to get them back on track
 
BG at +5 was 16.8. Shaping up to look like yesterday's numbers and, if so, will definitely do an overnight test.
 
Good thing I set my alarm for a +7 test last nighT - BG was (AT) 5.6! :eek: I gave him a snack of his regular food. AMPS today was (FS) 8.3 so I'm stalling for now. I have a family of unfed, unhappy kitties. No one eats until Teasel can eat.
 
AMPS was 12.7 after 30 min stall. I gave 3.2 u again and will monitor. I have to stay on the tightrope if I want to cross into better numbers. :nailbiting:
 
PMPS was 17.8. However, I'm experimenting with a slightly lower PM dose of 3.0 u after a low +7 last night and needing to stall this AM. I can always go back up tomorrow. Aiming to get a +7 tonight.
 
BG at +7 overnight was (AT) 12.6 after lowering his dose to 3.0 u last evening.

AMPS was 18.6 and I gave 3.2 u. If he follows his usual "pattern" this increase could make itself evident in the next cycle tonight. I might drop to 3.0 u for PM shot depending on what the daytime numbers show. I guess I'm flirting with a sliding scale a little. We'll see ... :bookworm:
 
PMPS was 20.0. I expected this. I'm lowering the PM dose again to 3.0 u to see what happens. I'd have left it at 3.2 u if I didn't have such a low nadir number today.
 
AMPS was 20.6. Looks like a mild bounce number but I didn't set my alarm to test last night. I gave him 3.0 u this AM.

Reasoning - maybe correct, maybe not:
  1. I'm letting yesterday's mid cycle low guide this decision - maybe 3.2 u is a bit high at this moment in time;
  2. I've been going up and down slightly in dose (3.2 u AM/3.0 u PM) the last few days and I don't think that works well with Teasel. He needs stability.
All I can do is try something to see what happens. That's the key to managing FD, isn't it? :confused:
 
Last edited:
Two pinks at +3.5 and +7 last night. AMPS was 18.6 and I decided to give 2.8 u again. I have no idea if the recent lows are from the dose being a bit high or something else. Knowing Teasel as I do I doubt very much that it's pancreas talking. Let's see what this dose does today. o_O
 
Whoa!! Teasel is giving me a run for my money! :eek: BG at +5 was 3.6! I've just given him his lunch and will test later. I expect a trampoline reaction for PMPS but it appears that we might have cracked (at least) the glass floor. Or it's just Teasel being Teasel ...
 
Well, a lower dose will help you see whether he has finally hit the magic spot. But I'd expect some mighty bounces first. And there's the rub - dose the bounces with your usual higher dose or lower a little to compensate for the bounce? As always you know Teasel best and you monitor carefully so it's your tightrope. :eek:
 
Well, a lower dose will help you see whether he has finally hit the magic spot. But I'd expect some mighty bounces first. And there's the rub - dose the bounces with your usual higher dose or lower a little to compensate for the bounce? As always you know Teasel best and you monitor carefully so it's your tightrope. :eek:
What I generally do, Sue, is to focus more on the middle third of the cycle and nadir with a nod to the AM/PMPSs. I know that the PSs are often "inflated" from his tendency to overreact. That's another reason why I don't do sliding scale with him. It's a tricky combination of judgment, past experience and intuition and I really am at the mercy of his extreme unpredictability. I feel more at ease with it than at the beginning though. :)
 
Teasel is very lucky you're so patient, analytical and persistent, Kris! You're really a great example for us all :cat:
Why thank you for that, Kimi! Sometimes I blather on but it's because I hope that my thought process could possibly help someone else. Not that I have all the answers ... far from it!! :)
 
Well, here we go again! PMPS was 7.3 so I'm stalling. Same scenario as last night but BG isn't as low because of his lower dose this AM compared to yesterday AM.
 
Last edited:
BG at +7 last night was 16.6 and AMPS today was 25.0 - surprise, surprise ... He reacted to the low yesterday the way I thought he would. I have him 2.6 u again based on yesterday's mid cycle and PMPS numbers. Let's see what adventures await ... :nailbiting:
 
PMPS was 20.7. Looks like a modest bounce number after the nice nadir value. At least he's not staying low too long at this dose and causing me to stall. I'm giving 2.6 u again tonight.
 
AMPS was 25.8. Still looks like a bounce number to me so I'll wait until I see today's mid day number and PMPS to decide about changing his dose. He's sure making me exercise my few remaining brain cells! :confused:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top