The limits of 'normal' BG?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vidya & Boo

Member Since 2012
If all goes well, Boo should be ready for an 'OTJ trial' in about a week's time.

I'm wondering what the consensus here is regarding the upper limit of 'normal' BG numbers for a cat not on insulin?

The spreadsheet suggests that 'normal' is 100/5.5 and below. But I have seen others post on the FDMB that 'normal' can range up to 120/6.6. And one of the tight-regulation protocol guides seems to suggest 80/4.4 should be the number below which BG values should generally fall for a well-regulated cat. (I'm sort of dismissing this last one, as I know tight regulation often aims for slightly below a non-diabetic range, to maximize pancreatic healing.)

I'm wondering, then, if we should encounter some values between 100/5.5 and 120/6.6 when Boo is OTJ, should these be treated as 'de facto' green-range numbers? In other worlds, would these still be considered "normal numbers" for evaluating the success of an OTJ trial?
 
Around here, normal BG is considered below 120. During a trial, we look to see as much green as possible. As long as numbers do not tend to trend upward and stay there, a few numbers below 120 are OK.

If you take a look at Orange's SS, you will see a cat that looked ready for OTJ but the trial didn't hold.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top