The importance of being a helicopter cat mom

Status
Not open for further replies.

SpotsMom

Member Since 2018
One of my good friend’s parents have a sugar kitty, and despite doing everything their vet had recommended, she walked in on kitty today mid-seizure. She gave him Karo, rushed him to the vet and found out he was hypo with BG in the 20s.

I don’t think it ever occurs to most people that the vet they know and love doesn’t know everything about everything... until put in a situation where you find out the hard way that they don’t. If there is one thing I have learned from this diabetes journey it’s trust but verify. I trust my vet to give me the best advice she knows of.. but I’m definitely gonna come home and learn everything I can about any new diagnosis to make sure it continues to be the best advice!

I have spent most of the day feeling all kinds of things about this (mostly worry). I truly hope her parents take this as an opportunity to learn and take control of their kitty’s care. I offered through her to give advice to get them started (including pointing them towards this forum) so I guess that’s all I can do unless/until they take me up on it. It’s all I can do not to rush over, swoop him up and take him under my wing!

:facepalm::nailbiting:
 
Poor kitty. I hope it is okay. Please send your friend to this website.

It is important for all of us to learn as much as we can about any disease that strikes our pets. I have been a member of this site for years, even though I have not had a diabetic cat for a long time. However I have had four diabetic cats. still often learn something new from here.

You learn to trust your instincts when something is not right. However, you also need to learn two step back and let your cat and yourself have a life. I know this is difficult for newbies to understand, but you also need to take time for yourself. The reason I am saying this is because of your title of being a helicopter parent.

You need to learn do not be afraid to leave your cat alone so you can work and also have fun. You can still go out and have a good time, travel, and spend time for yourself. If you do not, you wear yourself down. I know this is hard for some new people to understand, but it is possible.
 
However, you also need to learn two step back and let your cat and yourself have a life. I know this is difficult for newbies to understand, but you also need to take time for yourself. The reason I am saying this is because of your title of being a helicopter parent
I used the title a little bit tongue in cheek, but you are so right. I’m still learning this part....
 
How right you are. Sadly some attempts at education go in one ear and out the other. For the past two days another member and myself have urged a new member not to double shoot on a suspected fur shot. Something else caused a hypo episode and kitty pulled through, I had to restrain myself.
A friend of mine had an old school vet who had her dog pee on a test strip instead of using a meter and no matter what I did she could not be convinced there was a better way. When the dog passed from other causes her vet acted like they had never met.
My vet is great, her dad was a vet. In Nigel's first two weeks she was on the phone with us twice a day advising on his dosage, all I could for her was bake cookies. Sometimes it's the staff that have no education, super annoying. They refill Noah's BUPE scripts but haven't seen him in over a year. I don't know what's going on there.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top