Hi Gator & H. Thank you for your kindness once again. No, I don't see any warts in this community - I've only gotten lots of help and encouragement here, and I'm grateful for that.
Kelly's post affected me because I'm very concerned about the lack of agreement between the vet medicine experts and I would like to see some consensus regarding simple things such as types of foods (I was sold a bag of dry DM by the vet and the next week told not to feed dry food by the same vet)! I was also given other bits of conflicting advice in the space of 1 week. And the advice to feed Buffy just twice a day was hard to follow, but I did that for a couple of days, and she was begging me to feed her 2 hours later. I think she was starving, as she had only eaten her usual small portion 30 minutes prior to shot time.
All that being said, I trust this community more than the experts. You've all been, or are currently, where I am -- and that goes a long way in convincing me to follow your advice.
The level of anxiety I was feeling our first couple months dealing with this was nearly crippling for me. It's gotten better.
I'm thankful to hear the roller-coaster ride gets better. I totally understand the anxiety and crippling describes it well for me too. I wish none of us had to face it. I never knew there were so many cats with diabetes - thought it was rare.
Don't worry about the two different type of diabetes yet. I think it is very likely your is the type that can be treated easily by getting the right diet going and helping out with insulin.
Thank you for saying that. I'm trying hard to work towards that end.
So get that profile made and link in your sig along with your SS!
I tackled the SS and am updating it as I test. Not sure how to do a profile but I'll see what I can do.
how long has your kitty been on the low carb wet only diet?
A week tomorrow, although I discovered some of her regular food was low carb all along.
It in fact looks like you may be getting some nice looking curves on 2u - another member here Joanna likes to say that the drop from PS to nadir should be about 50-60% and that's about what you are getting. And the curves actually look like curves without any apparent or unexplained spikes. You are getting some pretty fast and early drops and that could be an indication of a hair too much insulin or just your kitty getting used to getting the ProZinc.
Great news to hear!!!
hopefully you can get that profile going so I can read about your kitty and have a better idea of the whole picture.
I'll get that done as soon as I'm able. What info do I need to have there?
Also you may want to read about using the U100 syringes with the U40 insulin in the sticky at the top of this forum. Many here do that and it really helps.
I've read there's a way to use them to get more precise, especially when giving a reduced dose. I'll have to see to that too!