Thanks to this Board and its Members, Elvis is doing great!

Status
Not open for further replies.

SammyM

Member Since 2014
I cannot express enough how much this Board and its members have helped me and my little boy, Elvis, get through the worst ordeal certainly of his little life. I wish I could recall each and every one of you by name, but I have to give a HUGE thank you to dirtybirdsoaps (Samantha) for her extreme generosity in sending me some food samples to try. If it wasn't for that sample of Young Again Zero Carbs, I might still be frantic about what to feed him as he just wasn't eating canned food. That was a big help toward his healing process. Thanks again, Sam!

Elvis has been insulin free since April 20, initially due to the change to YA, but as soon as I finally got the vet to look at his teeth [which I long suspected was the initial culprit to his discomfort and elevated numbers; that, and the fact that he freaks out terribly when he's taken away from his home and has been on the hi-carb Hill's Prescription C/D for over 10 years], and the Covenia antibiotic was administered, is when the real drop in #s on a sustained and consistent basis occurred. He has been between 81 and 129 for over a week since the antibiotic shot based on a vet's meter (between 51 and 81 on my ReliOn Prime); this morning 107 (67). He is eating beautifully....free feeding on the Young Again Zero Carbs and their treats on occasion. He's playing again chasing the laser light, watching the birds, ducks and squirrels outside the back door, opening up the drawers under my waterbed and pulling all the clothing out, lying on top of me and touching my face with his paw (do die for!), and grunting when he runs again (all signs he's baaacckkkk); he wasn't doing any of this just two weeks ago.

Samantha is so right.....we must be very proactive in our cat's medical issues, not reactive to just what the vet says. That's why this Board is so invaluable. You KNOW your animal! Don't be afraid to ask your vet questions or provide information about your cat's behavior, no matter how benign or stupid you might think they are. Had I gone along with the vet's initial protocol and not demanded an exam of his mouth, Elvis might very well be either dead or still in the awful shape he was in. Don't misunderstand what I'm saying, he may very well BE hyper prone to diabetes, which is why I will continue to monitor his BGs from time to time, but I remain fairly sure that the vet's initial diagnosis, treatment, and protocol was too knee-jerk and aggressive based primarily on the fact that he never bothered to check his mouth or teeth on initial exam which I feel was a critical oversight on his part. That's why Elvis wasn't eating. That's why his numbers were sky high from the pain and infection and that he was in their offices which he hates. Transient diabetes, which most cats at some point have had or will have in their lifetimes I understand, wasn't even considered. The initial dosage of 3 units b.i.d., and then a week later (because the #s were high on the curve they did in THEIR office because according to them I shouldn't do it at home), were raised to 4!

Elvis NEVER responded favorably at any time during the two weeks they had him on such high doses....he was still lethargic, still not eating, still a very unhappy cat. It wasn't until I decided to do the BGs at home and dropped his dosage to 1.5 b.i.d. at first, did he show any signs of trying to fight back, but he still had the gum infection and wasn't eating properly. After the shot is when they really dropped and remained consistent. PLEASE UNDERSTAND, I do not mean to suggest that every cat that is diagnosed diabetic isn't; 9 out of 10 might be. But you might have that one cat who has another issue(s) that is driving the BG readings; make sure your vet has checked EVERYTHING, especially his mouth and teeth. Had mine done that first, a lot could have been avoided. And for goodness sake, DO NOT let them push that damn Hill's Prescription crap on you!

I brought Elvis in yesterday to do a follow up exam on his mouth to see if the inflammation and infection had gone down. I knew this would be my last visit to THIS vet, but not before I expressed how I felt about everything, and provided them with a 4-page timeline complete with BG readings, food, notes of my conversations with both doctors there, and the dosages and protocols throughout the last 52 days. I didn't speak with the primary vet who did Elvis' initial exam because I was too angry at him and felt it best to speak with the second vet and give him the report to discuss with the primary. He didn't have much to say and was pretty surprised, not only that I had taken such an active role in Elvis' care and treatment, but also when he saw that Elvis' mouth had never been checked on initial exam, and the chart in Elvis' file corroborated it. The fact that he gave me a dental kit and didn't charge me for this visit I think supported my concerns and allegations about the initial care and diagnosis Elvis received.

I wasn't the only one who left a lasting impression on the vet....Elvis pooped all over the place expressing his displeasure no doubt. All over the exam table, the scale, the floor, and the vet. Ahhh, justice!!!!! angry(2)_cat

Thank you one and all again. I plan to remain active here and hope some day I will be able to help someone else in some small way. God bless you all!

Donna
 
Re: Thanks to this Board and its Members, Elvis is doing gre

thats great news! And any support you can give to other members would be great!

Tips to stay OTJ

We say a cat is in remission if the cat can maintain BG levels for 14 days between 40-120 with most of that spent under 100. However, please keep in mind that once a diabetic always a diabetic.

1. Never feed dry - not even treats. If you change wet food types, be 100% sure the new food is also low carb and same low carb % as your current food. Some cats are very carb sensitive and an increase from 3-6% to 8-10% can spike the BG’s. Don’t feed if you aren’t sure!
2. Weigh every 2 weeks to 1 month to watch for weight changes. Too much of a weight gain can cause loss of remission.
3. Measure blood once a week, indefinitely. You want to catch a relapse quickly.
4. No steroids or oral meds with sugar - remind your vet whenever giving you any medication. Always double check.
5. Monitor food intake, peeing and drinking. If increasing, a sign of losing remission.
6. Regular vet checks for infection such as dental , ear or UTI. And get them treated quick!

If he does fall out of remission you need to be more aggressive and resolve issues/ back on insulin as soon as possible as the window for a second remission is tight if any.
 
Re: Thanks to this Board and its Members, Elvis is doing gre

Wendy&Tiggy said:
thats great news! And any support you can give to other members would be great!

Tips to stay OTJ

We say a cat is in remission if the cat can maintain BG levels for 14 days between 40-120 with most of that spent under 100. However, please keep in mind that once a diabetic always a diabetic.

1. Never feed dry - not even treats. If you change wet food types, be 100% sure the new food is also low carb and same low carb % as your current food. Some cats are very carb sensitive and an increase from 3-6% to 8-10% can spike the BG’s. Don’t feed if you aren’t sure!
2. Weigh every 2 weeks to 1 month to watch for weight changes. Too much of a weight gain can cause loss of remission.
3. Measure blood once a week, indefinitely. You want to catch a relapse quickly.
4. No steroids or oral meds with sugar - remind your vet whenever giving you any medication. Always double check.
5. Monitor food intake, peeing and drinking. If increasing, a sign of losing remission.
6. Regular vet checks for infection such as dental , ear or UTI. And get them treated quick!

If he does fall out of remission you need to be more aggressive and resolve issues/ back on insulin as soon as possible as the window for a second remission is tight if any.

Thank you so much, Wendy; I promise to stay very diligent, but I do have a question about #1. You say "never feed dry," but he has been on Young Again Zero Carbs dry and is doing wonderfully. He's drinking and urinating normally as well. Couldn't that be the exception to the dry foods? He just doesn't like canned at all.
 
Re: Thanks to this Board and its Members, Elvis is doing gre

Thats fine but keep an eye on him - especially for kidney issues later on.

Wendy
 
Re: Thanks to this Board and its Members, Elvis is doing gre

See my signature link Secondary Monitoring Tools for some other assessments you may want to make to help you see if/when changes are happening.
 
Re: Thanks to this Board and its Members, Elvis is doing gre

BJM said:
See my signature link Secondary Monitoring Tools for some other assessments you may want to make to help you see if/when changes are happening.

Oy, now this just stressed me out. First of all, there is absolutely NO WAY Elvis will let anyone near him when he's doing his business. As soon as anyone even approaches his private potty, he jumps out. The litter I use is super absorbable because I have two cats. But if the BG is consistently normal, does one also have to be concerned about ketones??????

The 5 P's is very doable and right now they are all great. He does still drink what I think is a lot of water (about a cup a day) and is peeing out about the same amount, but the people at Young Again say that is normal on their food and it has nothing to do with an excessive amount of salt. He has gained, and I can only estimate on the crude scale I have to use (weighing me first, then with him, then subtracting the difference), about .5 lb. since he started eating again after his mouth infection subsided, but he was eating virtually nothing for three weeks before and lost at least a pound.

I will stay diligent with your monitoring tools as best I can, without putting myself through unnecessary anxiety too. Thank you all again for your invaluable advice.

Donna & Elvis
 
Re: Thanks to this Board and its Members, Elvis is doing gre

Do the ones that make sense to you.
Regular weight checks, as your vet does.
Check the pee blobs in the litterbox - volume is a clue to health, as is presence of blood or mucus.
Look at the stool for its characteristics - that gives clues on GI tract function.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top