I wrote last week about a fur shot and got an answer immediately. Thanks to all you guys out there!
I have just started doing in home monitoring of my cat Zazu and her numbers have really come around to the good. She started out on Lantus 12 days ago at 2.5 u bid (her BG was in the mid 300's) and now she is 2.0 u sid and holding below 200 (138 pre-shot on the 26th and and 152 pre-shot tonight) for the past two days. I am hoping this is a trend for the better. I took the advice to put her on wet food immediately after her diagnosis. I also put her Mom and sisters on it as well. I am hoping they won't become diabetic as well. The mom is Siamese and the girls are two Torties and one blue point mostly Siamese-ish. Kinda mixed up parentage...they were born under my house 5 years ago...someone had dumped the Mom...but she came to the right house for sure.
For all the newbies out there...hang in there! I have learned SO much at this website. My vet is really great and she is most impressed that I am so willing to do all this monitoring at home...most of her diabetic cat clients seem to be too busy to bother. I know it's going to help Zazu and I beat this insidious disorder. Keep up the encouragement!
Fern727 and Zazu, the Wise and Wonderful
I have just started doing in home monitoring of my cat Zazu and her numbers have really come around to the good. She started out on Lantus 12 days ago at 2.5 u bid (her BG was in the mid 300's) and now she is 2.0 u sid and holding below 200 (138 pre-shot on the 26th and and 152 pre-shot tonight) for the past two days. I am hoping this is a trend for the better. I took the advice to put her on wet food immediately after her diagnosis. I also put her Mom and sisters on it as well. I am hoping they won't become diabetic as well. The mom is Siamese and the girls are two Torties and one blue point mostly Siamese-ish. Kinda mixed up parentage...they were born under my house 5 years ago...someone had dumped the Mom...but she came to the right house for sure.
For all the newbies out there...hang in there! I have learned SO much at this website. My vet is really great and she is most impressed that I am so willing to do all this monitoring at home...most of her diabetic cat clients seem to be too busy to bother. I know it's going to help Zazu and I beat this insidious disorder. Keep up the encouragement!
Fern727 and Zazu, the Wise and Wonderful