Thank You!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sarah & O'Malley(GA)

Member Since 2012
I would just like to thank Charlie and Phoebe for all the help they have given me. Charlie, thank you for coming to my home today, answering my questions, and showing me how to do everything. I am so much more comfortable caring for my sugarcat, now!!! Thank you for your generosity in giving us the meter, strips, food, treats, and syringes. :-D I will post updates on O'Malley's status!!!
 
Welcome Sarah! I, too, was the recipient of hands-on assistance. ..it makes FD much more manageable. Looking forward to getting to know you n O'Malley.
Lu-Ann
 
This morning when we took O'Malley's BG he was at 330, and we gave him his shot, an hour later he was at 310, an hour later, he was at 230, and just now he was at 74. Does that sound normal??
 
Hi and welcome, Sarah.

To answer your question about "normal" numbers, we really need to know when "now" is in terms of shot time - meaning, how many hours post shot was it?

For instance the rest of what you posted would look like this:

330, Shot given (include dose - like 1u)
310, +1
230, +2

If that 74 was at +12 (evening shot time) then that is not really "normal". What it really means is that you probably need to reduce the dose. I hope you either did not give insulin or reduced the dose and/or are testing him overnight. If you have a low number (50-80), feed him. If it is 30-50 feed higher carb food (like something with gravy - or add a tsp of karo syrup to it) and keep testing. Post on Health using the 911 icon to get help.

PS - yes, people on this board are wonderful. Charlie helped to transport my Jeddie from somewhere near you across MI to Grand Rapids where they handed him off to me.
 
Well, it was about +8 after shot, but when it came time to give him his shot, I greatly reduced the amout. He was fine over night, and at like a piggy this morning. Unfortunately, I'm out of test strips, but have some on order. Until they come in, his shots will be GREATLY reduced. I'm just going to watch him closely. nailbite_smile
 
I hear you about the strips.
It got to where I have mine on auto-ship from ADW so i don't have to worry about it :lol: Every 45 days they send me another 250 :lol:
 
hmjohnston said:
I hear you about the strips.
It got to where I have mine on auto-ship from ADW so i don't have to worry about it :lol: Every 45 days they send me another 250 :lol:

Me too! I can always run out to WalMart - but they're half the price at ADW. And very reliable!
 
Welcome Sarah and O'Malley!
How awesome to get that kind of help! It will surely make your journey easier. Good luck with O'Malley. Sounds like he is already getting in to nice numbers. I can't say what is normal, because Miss and I just started on Lev, but she has had days like those. Of course, nothing about Missy is 'normal'. :?
 
FYI, your spreadsheet link does not work.

Dropping to 74 from 330 is a bit fast of a drop if it was in less than 8 hours. The early progression of the BG going down was about right. Considering lowering the dose very slightly, maybe the bottom of the line rather than the top of the line if you can manage that.

Also, are you using Levemir? Sorry, I have been out of the loop here for a bit.
 
Sarah is using Levemir and is dosing 0.5u. I haven't seen her posting here, but she has occasionally texted a question to my hubby, who gave the hands-on demo. She has changed to low carb canned food, and O'Malley looks to have a good chance of going OTJ since he is doing pretty well on a small dose, and acting like his old self again.
 
Grayson & Lu said:
hmjohnston said:
I hear you about the strips.
It got to where I have mine on auto-ship from ADW so i don't have to worry about it :lol: Every 45 days they send me another 250 :lol:

Me too! I can always run out to WalMart - but they're half the price at ADW. And very reliable!

what's ADW, please. I just ordered some from somewhere....wonder if it's the same place??
 
Thank you all so much for your help!!! O'Malley is doing just swimmingly, and his back to his normal spoiled (and he'll have it no other way, thank you very much) self!!

I try to keep up on his SS as best I can with classes having started again, sometimes it can be tough. O'Malley is so blessed to have all of you here watching over him!!! :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top