Tessie Lou AMPS+5 (98); +5.75 (86); PMPS 287

Status
Not open for further replies.

tessielou

Member Since 2010
Hi all,
I'm going to be speaking with the vet tomorrow regarding the tight regulation protocol. I gave her the Journal of Vet Medicine article that Sienne provided last Friday to review. My question is, do the experts here think I have enough data now to do a dose increase? She is still on Amoxicillin bid until Friday.

Edit: Just did her +5 and WOWEEE! A 98!! It's so exciting to see her finally get there!

I am supposed to go to an appointment in an hour--is it safe to leave her? I just fed her lunch of Cowboy Cookout, as well as she got 4 Halo Live a Little's after her spotcheck. Her daytime nadir is usually +5-+6...

Thanks!

Edit: She is still dropping. I will check again in 5 minutes...just gave her 4 more Halo's with test, but I think they're lc. Kathy, yes, I can give lc with gravy, but civvie cat might get it!
 
Re: 3/20/11 Tessie Lou AMPS +5 (98) - 1ST GREEN! Safe to lea

are you still around?

Can you leave food out? Will Tessie Lou feed her "lows"? Can you test again before you go?
 
Re: 3/20/11 Tessie Lou AMPS +5 (98) - 1ST GREEN! Safe to lea

Hi, I am not an advisor - so what I say needs to be taken into consideration - if someone else stops by & can provide better information - please follow them, or make your own decision if someone does not come along.

Based on it being a high green (congratulations :mrgreen: ) & nearing mid cycle, I suspect the insulin is going to begin to wear off & you are fine to meet your appoinment. With that being said, do you have LC you can leave out? How long will you be gone?
 
Re: 3/20/11 Tessie Lou AMPS +5 (98) - 1ST GREEN! Safe to lea

Hi Sandy - I agree with what has a;ready been said. I expect she will be OK - test before you go, and leave food out for her. Hopefully a dosing adviser will be along before you have to leave.
 
Re: 3/20/11 Tessie Lou AMPS +5 (98) - 1ST GREEN! Safe to lea

Yes, I'm here. I am going to retest in 5 minutes. She ate 2.0 oz of Cowboy Cookout, which is LC. I can leave out some Fancy Feast Classic or Merrick's Turdurken, but she's never had it before so I'm not sure she'll eat it. I can send my DH to this appt for me if necessary, but I really wanted to go (looking at a house with a realtor). We would be gone minimum of 2.5 hours... Of course, she's much more important than a house! :smile: nailbite_smile
 
Re: 3/20/11 Tessie Lou AMPS +5 (98) - 1ST GREEN! Safe to lea

Post your test, let's see where she is. And how long ago did she eat?

I also am not the most experienced, but if she isn't falling, or falling a lot, I think she'll be okay. I'd leave food out. You could drizzle a little gravy on it to make it slightly higher carb, but that probably isn't necessary. More necessary for the bean!
 
Re: 3/20/11 Tessie Lou AMPS +5 (98) - 1ST GREEN! Safe to lea

Yay for green! Is the +5 the only spot check so far today (just wondering)? I'm thinking it will be ok if you leave food out, but let's see what your next test is....that will help you.
 
Re: 3/20/11 Tessie Lou AMPS +5 (98) - 1ST GREEN! Safe to lea

Ok, +5.75 = (86). I can call postpone the appointment for 15 minutes and test again then? She ate 45 minutes ago, right after the +5, and yes, she will eat just about anytime I put food down. Normally. But this is new territory for her!
 
Re: 3/20/11 Tessie Lou AMPS +5 (98) - 1ST GREEN! Safe to lea

Sorry, Laurie, yes that was the first spot check today. She had the exact same AMPS yesterday (311), and yesterday her +4 was 221 and then we left and were gone most of the day. It was 246 at +12 last night. So, it's possible she went down to green yesterday, too, and we didn't even know it!
 
Re: 3/20/11 Tessie Lou AMPS +5 (98) - 1ST GREEN! Safe to lea

I am not an expert. This is what I would do: I would postpone 15 minutes and test again, for peace of mind.

I really think she would be fine, but she is still dropping 45 minutes after eating. I'd love to see that food kick in a little more.

You also could drizzle some HC gravy on her LC food.

Maybe others have other opinions.
 
Re: 3/20/11 Tessie Lou AMPS +5 (98) - 1ST GREEN! Safe to lea

Cats! They just love to pull this when they know we have to leave! I like Kathy's idea, put down some lc with a little gravy on it, or leave some MC for her. If you are worried, leave HC...it's your comfort level, you don't want to worry about her!
 
Re: Tessie Lou AMPS+5 (98); +5.75 (86) Can I leave?

Aaarrrgh! Think I will postpone appt and test again at 2:10...
Thanks, guys, I'll post new number in 15...don't think I can leave her! :?
 
Re: Tessie Lou AMPS+5 (98); +5.75 (86) Can I leave?

I'll bet one more test will do it. You're just being super-careful, because this is new territory! It's a GOOD thing. :lol:
 
Re: Tessie Lou AMPS+5 (98); +5.75 (86) Can I leave?

woo-hoo!! looks like you got permission!

congrats on the green numbers!
 
Re: Tessie Lou AMPS+5 (98); +5.75 (86) Can I leave?

Bye!! Just leave some LC.

Congrats on green, and on navigating the low. Looking good!
 
Re: Tessie Lou AMPS+5 (98); +5.75 (86) Can I leave?

Ok, we got back about +9.5 and she was sleeping, and hadn't touched the MC I left out for her! Very out of the ordinary for her...
I was going to test her at +10, but I fell asleep, so just did PMPS and it was 287. Hope she isn't going to bounce, but we'll just have to take it as it comes.
Whew, that was pretty intense, and I know it's nowhere near what others go through with 40s and 50s. I just can't imagine how hair raising that is going to be...feels like this was a "dress rehearsal" for what's to come...

Thank you again, Kathy, Laurie, Julie, Nicole, Michelle and Celi! Such a relief to have you guys there for me & Tessie. You're the best!
 
The first time is hard. I remember my first 70s vividly! I can laugh NOW but.. :roll: :oops: :lol:

You're exactly right, it's a dress rehearsal, and it gets easier.
 
Thanks again, Kathy. I read Kitty's profile--that's so cool that he made it OTJ after what he went through the first 5 months. Tessie Lou had just one month wasted by a bad vet who had her on ProZinc and dry Royal Canin High Fiber. Then I found FDMB, found a good vet, and here we are four months later. Kitty's story is an inspiration!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top