Templeton 2/23 AMPS 325 pancreatitis- how many days of Cerenia?

smorgasbord

Member Since 2021
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/3041114/

I haven’t posted this month, though I was trying to get back into it. Seeing Molly pass just kinda was too much and I can’t handle crying every time I log on. If that resonates with anyone…

But now Templeton has pancreatitis. Though I know so much thanks to everyone here, I have been furiously researching tonight to fill in the gaps.

He got .5ml of Cerenia (so 5mg) subq. this afternoon after diagnosis.
My question is, how many days is it ok to continue Cerenia before the sides outweigh the benefit?
I’m sure I’ll have more questions in future, as I’m struggling to get food in him. He got a reduced dose tonight due to appetite.
 
Last edited:
With pancreatitis he could be nauseated for only a few days or quite a bit longer. ECID.
Sheba usually got a shot of Cerenia and of bupe on the first day and that always helped her a lot. Sometimes she needed more anti nausea meds. I found Ondansetron very good. It works well with nauseated cats.
She also usually got sub Q fluids at the vet until I started to do them myself.
Cerenia can be given once a day for as long as needed. But I would also ask the vet about Ondansetron as it can be given up to 3 times a day and can be given at the same time as the Cerenia as they work on different pathways in the body.

Can you put pancreatitis into the remarks column of the SS please so we are aware when looking at it…thanks.

We don’t want him to have less food and less insulin really (I know you can’t really control the food at the moment) so let him eat whatever he wants as long as he eats …as eating anything is more important that making sure it is low carb.
I sometimes had to let Sheba eat some dry food to get her to start eating again…I didn’t like doing it but it worked for her.
Have a look at the following link.
STIMULATING KITTY’s APPETITE

If he doesn’t start eating you might have to assist feed as we want him to eat. Hopefully it won’t come to that.
If he continues to be nauseated and you are having trouble getting him to eat I would recommend you test his urine for ketones as we don’t want them to appear.
 
Paws crossed this is a short bout of p'titis. Once Neko started Cerenia, it became a "rest of life" thing for her. She ended up needing it and ondansetron. Current kitty gets it when needed, for as long as she needs. Remove one or the other med and see how they do, before dropping both. It is better to stay ahead of nausea.

Pancreatitis/inflammation can raise the BG, so not really necessary to lower the insulin dose. Make sure you are testing for ketones regularly now.
 
Max was on ondansetron for months at a time. At the beginning his dose was too low and he needed an appetite stimulant too. When on tge right dose for him just ondansetron was needed. Some bouts it was only needed for a short time. Every bout was different. When cerenia first came out they thought it needed to be given 5 days with two days off. That’s no longer the case. I’m sorry Templeton has it and hope it’s a mild case.
 
I'll just put this here for future reference:



He went in for distended belly, blood in the urine and high leukocytes, so suspected UT issue.
Couldn't do a cysto since he peed in his box (very unlike him) so Dr suggested x-rays. X-rays revealed multiple hard poos, so enema was given. After enema he got the poo out, and also vomited right after.
Bloodwork done included SNAP fPL which resulted in "positive". DX of Pancreatitis and given Buprenorphine and Cerenia shots in office.
Sent home with Clavamox for suspected UTI and gingivitis (needs cleaning but putting that on the back burner).
 
Sorry about the pancreatitis DX. How bad are the flares? What symptoms?

Have you seen this primer on pancreatitis?
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/a-primer-on-pancreatitis.79693/

What does he get Cerenia for? Vomiting? There is a lot of info on Tanya's website on Cerenia.

Did the vet give you Ondansetron and pain meds? Does Temp need fluids?

Tagging @tiffmaxee and @Bron and Sheba (GA) who have a lot of experience with pancreatitis.

That primer is great, read it and noted so much.

Cerenia was given after DX and a vomit on the exam room floor. I ok'd it due to remembering from here that Cerenia was par for the course w Pancreatitis.



Did not get Ondansetron, did not know it existed at the time of the visit. Got .5mg of Buprenorphine subq. Dr felt he's sufficiently hydrated, and hopefully that won't change over the weekend!
 
With pancreatitis he could be nauseated for only a few days or quite a bit longer. ECID.
Sheba usually got a shot of Cerenia and of bupe on the first day and that always helped her a lot. Sometimes she needed more anti nausea meds. I found Ondansetron very good. It works well with nauseated cats.
She also usually got sub Q fluids at the vet until I started to do them myself.
Cerenia can be given once a day for as long as needed. But I would also ask the vet about Ondansetron as it can be given up to 3 times a day and can be given at the same time as the Cerenia as they work on different pathways in the body.

Can you put pancreatitis into the remarks column of the SS please so we are aware when looking at it…thanks.

We don’t want him to have less food and less insulin really (I know you can’t really control the food at the moment) so let him eat whatever he wants as long as he eats …as eating anything is more important that making sure it is low carb.
I sometimes had to let Sheba eat some dry food to get her to start eating again…I didn’t like doing it but it worked for her.
Have a look at the following link.
STIMULATING KITTY’s APPETITE

If he doesn’t start eating you might have to assist feed as we want him to eat. Hopefully it won’t come to that.
If he continues to be nauseated and you are having trouble getting him to eat I would recommend you test his urine for ketones as we don’t want them to appear.

Thank you, very thorough!
I'll try to get Ondansetron ASAP.
I think I JUST now realized I can give him some naughty food, as long as he's at least eating something.

Urine is being tested 2x a day thank goodness. He's going on plastic bags instead of litter, so I can monitor the output and hopefully stay on top of hydration.
 
I'll just put this here for future reference:



He went in for distended belly, blood in the urine and high leukocytes, so suspected UT issue.
Couldn't do a cysto since he peed in his box (very unlike him) so Dr suggested x-rays. X-rays revealed multiple hard poos, so enema was given. After enema he got the poo out, and also vomited right after.
Bloodwork done included SNAP fPL which resulted in "positive". DX of Pancreatitis and given Buprenorphine and Cerenia shots in office.
Sent home with Clavamox for suspected UTI and gingivitis (needs cleaning but putting that on the back burner).
Uggg, I always knew when Molly was constipated, straining to poop. Then she would vomit and meow. Molly was also on Cerenia when she was constipated, and when she was sick with her cancer. Prayers to you and Templeton. :bighug::bighug:
 
Max was on ondansetron for months at a time. At the beginning his dose was too low and he needed an appetite stimulant too. When on tge right dose for him just ondansetron was needed. Some bouts it was only needed for a short time. Every bout was different. When cerenia first came out they thought it needed to be given 5 days with two days off. That’s no longer the case. I’m sorry Templeton has it and hope it’s a mild case.

Poor Max. What a horrible illness grrr.
I have copied and saved many of your comments in my searches since DX, you're the pro! Good to know about the Cerenia, I'm reading things all over the place.
 
Uggg, I always knew when Molly was constipated, straining to poop. Then she would vomit and meow. Molly was also on Cerenia when she was constipated, and when she was sick with her cancer. Prayers to you and Templeton. :bighug::bighug:
The weird thing is he had a normal big ole poo that morning. I even went "ooh, good poo". Strange that he had 6-7 stuck ones in there, never would have guessed without the x-rays. So with constipation came vomiting for you guys? hmm...
 
Last edited:
The weird thing is he had a normal big ole poo that morning. I even went "ooh, good poo". Strange that he had 6-7 stuck ones in there, never would have guessed without the x-rays. So with constipation came vomiting for you guys? hmm...
Yes, She would let a big meow out of her, and vomit. I really didn't like to see her like that.
 
Poor Templeton!

Sounds like you're new to cerenia - just an FYI, the first time I tried to give it to Minnie she didn't swallow it and it made her drool terribly - almost foaming at the mouth! I learned my lesson and now give it in a gelcap (plus I'm a bit better at pilling now). Ondansetron is much easier for me - Suzanne suggested the "melts" which means I don't need to get her to swallow, just clamp her mouth shut until the pill dissolves. (though I have since read that there's sugar in those? they are strawberry flavored and she doesn't like it much...but it addresses my poor pilling skills)

Now, feel better Templeton.:bighug:
 
:bighug::bighug:
Poor Templeton!

Sounds like you're new to cerenia - just an FYI, the first time I tried to give it to Minnie she didn't swallow it and it made her drool terribly - almost foaming at the mouth! I learned my lesson and now give it in a gelcap (plus I'm a bit better at pilling now). Ondansetron is much easier for me - Suzanne suggested the "melts" which means I don't need to get her to swallow, just clamp her mouth shut until the pill dissolves. (though I have since read that there's sugar in those? they are strawberry flavored and she doesn't like it much...but it addresses my poor pilling skills)

Now, feel better Templeton.:bighug:
Thank you! I have a feeling this will help tremendously in the near future. Hope you’re doing well
 
Back
Top