Tawny pmps 341; +2/314 She ate a little on her own

Status
Not open for further replies.

DD & Tinkerbell

Member Since 2009
Yesterday

Well needless to say I shot this #. This was to be expected what with her BCS shot last night & no shot this morning and then me Karo'ing and HC'ing her up like crazy most of last night, & there's a food spike in here too b/c I syringe fed her at my friend's when I picked her up after work b4 bringing her home, so she ate about an hour and a half, about 10mls, b4 pmps. Taking her to my friend's today worked beautifully. I got to test her 4 times during the day (when I dropped her off, pre-lunch, post-lunch & at pick up time), and I got to feed her twice (@ lunch & right after work). She was perfectly happy in my friend's bathroom and made herself right at home. Yesterday after the mud puddle incident I actually did see Tawny drinking on her own out of both an upstairs and downstairs water bowl today, and she drank at Tracie's too.

Tawny is one of those cats that's rides well, she sits in the passenger bucket seat right next to me in my Jeep. I unzip her carrier (she has a Sherpa bag) and she just stays there, it's an automatic so I can cruise down the road and pet her or rest my hand on her head while driving. Tonight kept head butting my hand, then she would roll over onto her side and grab me around the wrist with her paws and just acted happy & playful. About halfway home she tired out and slept the rest of the way.

Oh, yeah, did you want the GOOD NEWS? SHE ATE as soon as we got home. The bad news: it was Kibble. I opened the door to the Kibble room when I got home (why I left it shut today when she wasn't here is beyond me---DUH) and there were a few pieces of Kibble on the floor and on some of the plates where the rest of the kitties eat. Tawny knows this room is off limits but she crept in there and I let her, she sniffed a little piece of Kibble so I put some in front of her and she commenced to eating. She did not eat a lot of it, and she kept going from plate to plate checking each one out (there's like 10 in there), eating a little from each. I let a couple of the other cats in there and she ate more when the others were around eating. You know she & Tinkerbell always ate together and now Tinkerbell's gone and maybe Tawny just didn't want to eat alone any more. The vet did ask me if there had been any stressors in her life recently. She got tired after a few bites of Kibble and plopped down, so I brought her upstairs and offered her her regular canned food. Which she turned her nose up at. Sunday I had gotten a chicken breast from the Popeye's in town (our version of KFC) but she wouldn't touch it. Part of it was still in the fridge (the other cats & Smokey dog had been getting treats off it) so I got it out & tore little pieces of it up for her and she ate some of that too, but I had to feed some to Angus (civvie) first & she had to see him eat it, then she ate some.

So SHE'S EATING, SHE'S EATING, SHE'S EATING!!!!!!

Now I have to get these #s of hers under control.

Sienne, thanks for the vote of confidence re the way I handled Tawny's #s & that drop overnight (in yesterday's condo), I had been beating myself over that BCS decision all night & most of the day.

Desi
 
Re: Tawny pmps 341 & There's good news & then there's...

:-D :-D

Maybe the other kitties would like to eat wet food?

So glad that Tawny is a good traveler and that you had a good day.

Hugs, scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: Tawny pmps 341 & There's good news & then there's...

Do you remember what I said when you were battling ketones? I don't care if your kitty wants a hot fudge sundae. If she does, give her the hot fudge sundae (well maybe not the fudge part). Unless you want to be dealing with other complications, food is essential. So, if Tawny stole some kibble -- it's food! And she ate!!!!!
 
Re: Tawny pmps 341 & There's good news & then there's...

So it's really "Good News and Kind of Bad (but really Good) News"! Glad she's eating. Maybe if you put her wet food down for her in the forbidden room when the other kitties are eating, too? Lots of people don't like to dine alone, so maybe some cats don't, either. :-D

You are very lucky to have a kitty that travels so well. I have one that howls the whole time, one that tries to chew his way out of the carrier (which is funny because he has almost no teeth), and one that throws up before we are a mile from the house!

Sending good appy vines.
 
Re: Tawny pmps 341 & There's good news & then there's...

Sienne and Gabby said:
Do you remember what I said when you were battling ketones? I don't care if your kitty wants a hot fudge sundae. If she does, give her the hot fudge sundae (well maybe not the fudge part). Unless you want to be dealing with other complications, food is essential. So, if Tawny stole some kibble -- it's food! And she ate!!!!!

I do indeed! Otherwise why do you think I would just stand there and let her eat that kibble ;-)
...the whole while wishing I had some ice cream & fixin's in the fridge! LOL! :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top