harleywulf
Member Since 2018
Hasn't seemed to be dropping much post injections +6 since raising his dose. Nothing else has changed. Maintaining weight, eating normal, no increase in drinking or urine output.
Ok thank youBy the way, the research that 1 in 4 diabetics has acromegaly is fairly new, so if your vet hasn't kept up to date with it, he/she may be part of the old school that thinks it's rare. I had to do some convincing of my vet to get the tests done. Finally asked her to humour me.
INCREASING THE DOSE:
- Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
- if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
- when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
- After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
- After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
Will do tonight for the PMthe protocol does say it's time for an increase.
you can increase to 6.75 or to 7.0 units Unless you aren't going to be around to monitor, I would go with the increase to 7.0.
sometimes you wind up chasing a good dose amount.
SLGS is not a formal protocol, but rather a dosing method based on years of experience here. TR is the only formal protocol.the protocol does say it's time for an increase.
you can increase to 6.75 or to 7.0 units
My eyesight is bad enough trying to see half and quarter ticks. Last time he was on 7 he had a good curve. ThanksSLGS is not a formal protocol, but rather a dosing method based on years of experience here. TR is the only formal protocol.
I would increase to 7.0 units. At 6.5 units, a 0.25 unit increase is a drop in the bucket. Plus you get to stay on the line for measuring the dose.![]()
So today Tank at 7 units was AMPS 282, +6 132 and just now PMPS was 202. Should I be safe with the 7 units again? I'm planning on cking +4 and hopefully +6 tonight stillthe protocol does say it's time for an increase.
you can increase to 6.75 or to 7.0 units Unless you aren't going to be around to monitor, I would go with the increase to 7.0.
sometimes you wind up chasing a good dose amount.
Ok will do.As long as you have plenty of test strips and some high carb food tonight, I would shoot and monitor like you have suggested.