? Tango, 8/30, AMPS 95 , +4.5 74 , +8 85, PMPS 110, +2 61 . +3 61 ?????

Lori C & Tango

Member Since 2022
@Amy & Herman @Bandit's Mom @tiffmaxee @Chris & China (GA)

Last night's 2nd cycle 74, 63, 68 just now 67.

Last night he ate hc Fussie Cat Squeeze Treats with a little honey. This morning, he's not liking it. Did eat Friskies mc. He ate his regular food at 5:00am this morning which was in his auto feeder.

For this morning. Still shoot 2.25? With low numbers typically he earns a reduction. Since just had one, what do we do?

From 8/29
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-75-2-95-5-5-108-9-138-2-74-3-63-help.267729/
 
Here with you in spirit, Lori. I am sure one of the experts will be along shortly to advise you on the best course of action. Hopefully your schedule today allows you to wait for advice. Take a deep breath!
 
Just tested and BG up to 95. At this point, will test in 15 and if BG's same or above will shoot 2.00.

Not comfortable giving 2.25.
 
The depot is influencing the bg. Back to back reductions don’t often work. We usually feed higher carbs, mc, if needed for a few cycles. If not comfortable you could do a token dose and then continue with 2.25 tonight. If you prefer you can try the reduction knowing you might need to go back up.
 
Considering how much effort it took to keep him over 68 last night, he might just hold the reduction. Like Elise said, you can always go back up if it fails.
 
He was 67 at +11? Did he come up without food to 95? Or did he eat MC?

Gave him 1 teaspoon at 8:45am this morning

Tested again - 95 - gave him another teaspoon of Friskies.

Testing again now... On RELION BG is 80 - Did not get AT this time. Just to confirm all other readings are AT.

Fed him regular food.

Shoot at ????
 
The depot is influencing the bg. Back to back reductions don’t often work. We usually feed higher carbs, mc, if needed for a few cycles. If not comfortable you could do a token dose and then continue with 2.25 tonight. If you prefer you can try the reduction knowing you might need to go back up.

Please explain what token dose would be?
 
A token dose would be 1.0. You still could have a busy first half of the cycle but would drain the depot a little. So this bg is food influenced. When was he last fed, how long ago? Time doesn’t help as I don’t know where you live.
 
We don't usually do token doses for cats on smaller doses, unless for the caregiver. In other words, if you cannot monitor, need to sleep, etc.
 
A token dose would be 1.0. You still could have a busy first half of the cycle but would drain the depot a little. So this bg is food influenced. When was he last fed, how long ago? Time doesn’t help as I don’t know where you live.

I'm in Sacramento, CA.

Gave Friskies after twice this morning.
After last test of 80 on RELION gave regular food.
 
A little over 3 hours to dose time.

Test +8 87. Gave a teaspoon of mc Friskies Extra Gray Chunky with Turkey in Savory Gravy - 14 carbs

Also have Friskies hc Indoor Chicken and Turkey Casserold with Garden Greens in Gravy - 25 carbs

If he stays with like numbers, thinking dose should be 2U.

Who will be around if I need help?

Thanks so much!
 
He's been surfing lovely green numbers all day. This is what you want for pancreatic healing. :D I'd stick with low carb food, if any, at this point.
 
Both Elise and Bhooma suggested you can try it and see how it goes. Think of it as an experiment. If his numbers start to drift up, then you know that the reduction failed.
 
The numbers on his SS for today are all AT2, right? And looks like he's been eating higher carbs all day and still in green?
 
Both Elise and Bhooma suggested you can try it and see how it goes. Think of it as an experiment. If his numbers start to drift up, then you know that the reduction failed.
The numbers on his SS for today are all AT2, right? And looks like he's been eating higher carbs all day and still in green?

SS are all AT #s. 30 minutes after his AMPS of 95 he was 80 on RELION - couldn't get reading with AT strips.

Just did PMPS and he's at 110 AT.

After each test we have fed him 1 tsp of Friskies medium carb. He is also getting his regular food.

Going to shoot 2 in 15.
 
If you need help tonight, keep your subject line updated with the latest numbers. Quickest way for someone to see if you need a hand. Good luck!
 
On Relion he tested 52 @ +2 and 58 @ +3 which is in wanna be range. Maybe AT is not as accurate.

I mixed honey in his food. Tried to put it to his lips - didn't like it.
 
Bhooma, thanks for your help. I'm hoping Relion #s are accurate. I can't test for awhile.

If his #s stay under 70 what do you recommend for tomorrow morning's dose?
 
The normal range on a human meter is 50-100 mg/dl. On a pet meter it is a little higher 68-120 mg/dl. The difference you are seeing might be just meter variance.
Do you think you can switch to the ReliOn. Our dosing protocols are written for a human meter anyway.

His numbers tonight are still the effect of the higher 2.25U depot. You could stay with 2U. Let's see what tomorrow brings.
Does he have food out for the night after you go to bed? An autofeeder?

If you are up early, try and get a test at +10 or +11 and post so that we know what we can expect at AMPS.
 
Looks like a switch has flipped. On a human meter those are safe numbers but having to use hc to keep her there should stop in another two cycles. Let’s see the amps.
 
Back
Top