Lori C & Tango
Very Active Member
From 2/19 https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...mps-88-76-2-5-pmps-103-down-to-1-unit.286842/
AMPS 97
+3 96
Happy Friday to all kitties and kitty parents!!!
Sorry for the long post.
I would really appreciate any advice/recommendations you have on my situation. We finally found someone to give Tango injections. She, Heidi, was highly recommended by our vet and the vet tech at MarQueen Hospital. Heidi is good friends with the this tech. Heidi works part-time at a different vet hospital and has a pet sitting biz. She has several years experience. She came over for a meet and greet and it went well. We really like her. She was even able to get Tango to lick a treat off her fingers. He hung around (at a distance) while she was here, which was promising as he didn't run and hide. We all agreed that Heidi would be our pet sitter.
We discussed his BG #s and insulin dose. She knows I am on a cat forum and follow the guidelines. I exlained we're following TR and how increases and reeductions work. Although she didn't necessarily agree, she did not suggest we change. We did let her know that BG has dropped into the 50s and 60s - this did concern her. She would come by 2x a day and stay for 30 minutes. She will not test. We discussed not testing and decided that we would lower the dose while we're gone.
Here's what happened...
I sent Heidi a text to confirm a trial run and dates we'd be gone. In turn, she texted back and said she is concerned that Tango is being regulated so low and that for her comfort level she would feel better with a cat being managed 120 - 150. I don't know what dose she thinks is the right dose for Tango. She has other clients whose cats are diabetic - don't know their situations. I think she was freaked when we said he dipped so low. I also think those in the vet field will adjust dose according to what the pre-shot test #, or even only give insulin once a day if BG is that low.
I understand what she's saying. Just not sure how to proceed. Wanted to post here before getting back to Heidi. We were planning on lowering dose to .5 while we're gone. Maybe one of his daily feedings could be hc?
We are so bummed. Thought we'd finally found someone. Would really appreciate your thoughts. Do you lower dose and/or add hc food while your gone?
Thank you so much!!!
AMPS 97
+3 96
Happy Friday to all kitties and kitty parents!!!
Sorry for the long post.
I would really appreciate any advice/recommendations you have on my situation. We finally found someone to give Tango injections. She, Heidi, was highly recommended by our vet and the vet tech at MarQueen Hospital. Heidi is good friends with the this tech. Heidi works part-time at a different vet hospital and has a pet sitting biz. She has several years experience. She came over for a meet and greet and it went well. We really like her. She was even able to get Tango to lick a treat off her fingers. He hung around (at a distance) while she was here, which was promising as he didn't run and hide. We all agreed that Heidi would be our pet sitter.
We discussed his BG #s and insulin dose. She knows I am on a cat forum and follow the guidelines. I exlained we're following TR and how increases and reeductions work. Although she didn't necessarily agree, she did not suggest we change. We did let her know that BG has dropped into the 50s and 60s - this did concern her. She would come by 2x a day and stay for 30 minutes. She will not test. We discussed not testing and decided that we would lower the dose while we're gone.
Here's what happened...
I sent Heidi a text to confirm a trial run and dates we'd be gone. In turn, she texted back and said she is concerned that Tango is being regulated so low and that for her comfort level she would feel better with a cat being managed 120 - 150. I don't know what dose she thinks is the right dose for Tango. She has other clients whose cats are diabetic - don't know their situations. I think she was freaked when we said he dipped so low. I also think those in the vet field will adjust dose according to what the pre-shot test #, or even only give insulin once a day if BG is that low.
I understand what she's saying. Just not sure how to proceed. Wanted to post here before getting back to Heidi. We were planning on lowering dose to .5 while we're gone. Maybe one of his daily feedings could be hc?
We are so bummed. Thought we'd finally found someone. Would really appreciate your thoughts. Do you lower dose and/or add hc food while your gone?
Thank you so much!!!