Taco 11/10 Amps 199,+6 285,+8 261,+10 212,+11 209,PMPS 218,+2 221,+4.30 258,+6.30 186,+9 278,+11 314

Cindy&Taco

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...188-pmps-183-2-225-6-232-8-212-11-236.206229/
Amps 199,+2 259,+4 270, +6 285,+8 261,+10 212,+11 209,PMPS 218,+2 221,
+4.30 258,+6.30 186,+9 278,+11 314
Day 2 on 3 units.


Looks like from going over his SS, that he likes to show himself around the 4th or 5th day on a dose.And show himself, he does, with a little exaggeration. Hopefully this wont be the case with this increase, But who knows?? Trying to be optimistic, 18 hours straight of wide eyes open monitoring IS exhausting, especially when he only gives you 2 days to recuperate until his next show :mad:
Taco, slow and easy, please :bighug: NO skipping over blue please, give us a heads up :joyful:
 
Last edited:
Looks like from going over his SS, that he likes to show himself around the 4th or 5th day on a dose.And show himself, he does, with a little exaggeration. Hopefully this wont be the case with this increase, But who knows?? Trying to be optimistic, 18 hours straight of wide eyes open monitoring IS exhausting, especially when he only gives you 2 days to recuperate until his next show :mad:
Taco, slow and easy, please :bighug: NO skipping over blue please, give us a heads up :joyful:
When Taco's numbers are high, take a break and get some rest. :)

That said, I was looking at Taco's ss last night. Glad you took the dose up to 3u yesterday. It took my Alex 5 cycles to see what a dose would do. Can't wait to see what Taco does with 3 units!
 
When Taco's numbers are high, take a break and get some rest. :)

That said, I was looking at Taco's ss last night. Glad you took the dose up to 3u yesterday. It took my Alex 5 cycles to see what a dose would do. Can't wait to see what Taco does with 3 units!
As long as he doesn't pull the same stunt as last time on 3U. The 5 day thing? could that be because they have a large depot, any explanation for that?. He seems to be like that for the last 2 years. And he's so dramatic about it. I think that's why were stuck where we are, as far as rest, I got it last night, Moriah and I are trying to take shifts. Taco is wreaking havoc in this house and doent even know it, besides the fact he gets all this attention :arghh:
 
The 5 day thing? could that be because they have a large depot, any explanation for that?.
Not really an explanation, but a bit of history...

Going back to when using Lantus/Levemir with cats was new... back to the time when we were trying to figure out how to best use the "new" long-acting insulins... holding doses for 5 - 7 days before seeing a response was pretty normal. Some caregivers held doses for up to two weeks! Even the German TR Protocol which was yet to be accepted on the FDMB said to hold the dose for a week back then. It simply seems to take that long for a cat to respond. I don't know why. What I'm trying to say is what you're seeing is not unusual.

However while holding doses that long was normal , that was then and this is now. As our knowledge and experience with the long-acting insulins expanded, it became obvious the doses could be held for shorter periods of time (6 cycles/3days) for those available/able/willing to monitor frequently. It also became obvious the faster one could bring kitty's BG into the range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL), the better chance for remission. If not remission (not all cats go into remission), when the goal is realized, tight regulation is better for the cat's body/organs overall.
 
Back
Top