Sylvie

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sylviebelle

Member Since 2014
Hello everyone,

My name is Michelle and I have a newly diagnosed little diabetic darling. Her name is Sylvie Belle and she will be 15 in October. Mid June she was diagnosed with both hyperthyroid and diabetes.
She was prescribed lantus 2 units BID. I had insulin teaching and also glucometer teaching. I found after just a couple weeks that perhaps the dose was too much as she was having dangerously low levels. After calls to the vet and being told not to let her go under 4.0 and if she did to administer Karo syrup or honey. So after a couple of sleepless nights and endless pokes I decided to give 1 unit twice a day. Her numbers still are not IDEAL but we are getting there I hope.

She seems much happier now and is eating FF low carb wet food, I used to give wet food as a treat once and a while to her and my other kitty Chanel. Now it is her main diet. The vet had advised me on the initial visit not to change the food just yet and that was just too many changes for her to take at once. After MUCH research, on the subject I have learned so very much about how to handle the diagnosis. I joined here as well as 'Feline Diabetes' on FB and everyone is so wonderful and helpful.

I look forward to learning more and meeting kind and wonderful parents of other fur babies :smile:

Thank you,
Sylvie, Michelle (and Chanel too)
 
Welcome to FDMB.

You're reporting in mmol/L, so I'm guessing you may not be in the USA. Canada, perhaps?
(Multiply by 18 to get mg/dL)

You may find the following helpful:

[Glucose reference ranges are unsubstantiated and have been removed by Moderator]


* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *​
Examples of using the chart:

Ex. You are a new insulin user and you test your cat before giving insulin. The test is 300. It probably is safe to give insulin.

Ex. You are an established user of Lantus, following the Tight Regulation protocol. You've tested around +5 to +7 to spot the nadir. It is 200 mg/dL. You probably need to increase the dose, following the instructions for the protocol.

Ex. Your cat is acting funny. The eyes are a bit dilated. You are concerned and test the glucose. The number is 35 mg/dL. ACK! The cat may be in a hypoglycemic state. You quickly follow the HYPO protocol linked in the glucose reference values chart. (which we really, really, suggest you print out and post on your refrigerator.)
 
Thank you so much for information. To be honest I find it a bit confusing but perhaps because it is now almost 3 am and I am on break on a 12 hour night shift! confused_cat

I will go over it all again tomorrow. I just need to wrap my head around the 'nadir'.

Thanks again
Michelle and Sylvie
 
Welcome Michelle and Sylvie

Thank you - thank you - thank you for switching your sugar to low carb wet food. The diet change alone can bring her BG numbers down so it would be prudent for you to do pre-insulin shots to see if she is not too low.

We are so glad to have you both here.
 
Nadir = lowest glucose level between insulin shots. Varies with specific insulins and falls in a time range as it can shift around a bit.
Ex
Lantus nadir is often between +5 to +7 hours after the shot

Humulin/Novlin is about +3 to 4 hours after the shot. Wears off in about 6 to 8 hours, so not a recommended insulin for cats.
 
Welcome Michelle and Sylvie! My kitty Tiger was diagnosed in February with both FD and Hyperthyroid, same as Sylvie. There are wonderful advisors here that will help you in so many ways, you are not alone! It's quite a lot to swallow at once, I can empathize! You are doing a great job with the home testing and changing her diet to wet low carb food! Are you in Canada or abroad? In the US, most of us use Neosporin with Pain Relief to help kitty's ears after testing. If you are in Canada, you can get Polysporin with pain relief,it's almost the same thing. In addition to this site, which is the absolute best for Feline Diabetes, since Sylvie has Hypothyroid, there is a site for Feline Hyperthyroid, here is the link: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=122416
 
Ohh thank you sooooo verrry much everyone for the advice and the welcome... it means a great deal to me. I think I have finally been able to wrap my head around 'nadir' now. lol

It is a lot to take in at once, it's been a difficult month but it has certainly brought us closer. I am thankful for any and all advice and comments. I want to learn as much as possible so that I have a few years left with her feeling healthy and happy.

I am feeling a bit overwhelmed with the idea of being 'chained to the house' though. I have a 21 year old daughter who is deathly afraid to give insulin or do the glucs... reluctantly she said she will learn though, she wants to be helpful she is just scared. I am also going to check with the girls at my vet's office to see if they take in sugar kittys at a reasonable rate so I can go visit my parents in the states for a few days. I do live in Canada btw (someone asked me that earlier) ;-)

Anyway, I thank you all once again. xoxo
 
Start by having her practice glucose testing on an apple, and then on her forearm to literally get a feel for it. She'll be more confident when she does it on Sylvie.

Plus, she'll know her own glucose levels!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top