Sybil’s first blue PMPS

Okay so tonight Sybil’s first blue PMPS happened. She was at 197 and I was happy but nervous and then I retest 15 minutes later and it was 217 so I gave her a full dose. I’m hoping to spot check with a test around +4. What a roller coaster ride this is. I have to get up for work at 4:30 am so mornings are a tight squeeze with time and I cannot monitor. Should I stick with over 200 give the normal 2 units of PZI and 199 don’t or something else? I’m wondering if at some point I need to lower the dosage. This is quite the journey. Thank you!

@Suzanne & Darcy - any insight since you know my journey best so far. Thanks a million times!
 
You did great by waiting and retesting. Can you put both numbers in the PMPS cell? It would have 197 / +.25 217. In the cell. You would have to color code the cell though. It will be important to get a test tonight to see how she does. It will not be good to reduce her dose. She is having blue nadirs and we do not want to mess that up. Tell me again what time you leave for work (how long after her shot.)
 
I would not skip her shot if she’s around 200, tonight is a good chance to get a little data. If she’s below 200 by just a small amount and you are going to work, then consider a reduced dose. If we still don’t have any data for that preshot number probably just shoot 1 unit until we can get more information on how she will do. What do you think?
 
Thank you for the response. I did a +4 recheck after the PM shot and the glucose number is 115. Four hours after shots so far has been her lowest glucose numbers (is that the nadir)?

There is no extra minute in the morning. I’m already up as early as I can be and I’m exhausted and falling asleep during the day and it’s not good. Hopefully she will be in a comfortable number (for me) tomorrow morning. That around 200 number you suggest sounds good. This is all very scary but I am having a super difficult time with everything. I have no more to give. I truly appreciate your help but I need some sleep.
 
Thank you for the response. I did a +4 recheck after the PM shot and the glucose number is 115. Four hours after shots so far has been her lowest glucose numbers (is that the nadir)?

There is no extra minute in the morning. I’m already up as early as I can be and I’m exhausted and falling asleep during the day and it’s not good. Hopefully she will be in a comfortable number (for me) tomorrow morning. That around 200 number you suggest sounds good. This is all very scary but I am having a super difficult time with everything. I have no more to give. I truly appreciate your help but I need some sleep.
Yes. Please do sleep right away. Hang in there. What time and time zone do you shoot?
 
Which days of the week are you typically off work. You are doing amazing and Sybil is making great progress. She’s got to be feeling so much better now!
Typically off work Saturdays and Sundays but I’m a caregiver too full time on top of my full time job. So I’m never “off”.
 
We were in the path of hurricane Helene. Power is out but we are safe and sound. Unfortunately we have no water. Not fun taking care of cats with no water. I hope you and your family are all right.
 
We were in the path of hurricane Helene. Power is out but we are safe and sound. Unfortunately we have no water. Not fun taking care of cats with no water. I hope you and your family are all right.
We are ok. I hope everything turns back to normal for you soon. I’ll be sending positive thoughts and vibes. Here you are in that and still helped me. You’re really an Angel. I’ll also be donating to the page but if I can do anything for you, please reach out. ((Hugs))
 
@Suzanne & Darcy Hi…I feel like a pest, sorry still learning. So tonight Sybil’s preshot was 180 and I tested again 15 minutes later and it was 167. I can’t adjust any time in the morning so I let her eat and am skipping tonight’s shot.
Then in the morning if she is close to 200 preshot I will give full dose. Does that sound reasonable?

I can do a curve again this weekend.

ugh thank you!
 
Last edited:
‘Personal’ so not today. Only AMPS and what would have been PMPS and 15 minutes later.

i have been weaning them off the other dry food and now mostly just wet Fancy Feast naturals after testing before shot time and they graze on Dr Elsy’s. I was mixing the Dr Elseys but donated the bulk of the previous and RX dry food to a rescue.

Maybe that’s a factor. I’ll test her again before I go to bed though. I’m so afraid of hypo since my schedule is so hectic and I cannot monitor all day.
 
Last edited:
I was hoping you were going to get some tests in today while you were off work, but of course I have no idea what happened in your day today.

So we don’t even have a +6 to try and determine if she was in green (which I suspect). We also know she’s going to bounce. How about shooting.5 units if you can get a test at +2 and +4?
 
.5 units is just a really small token dose. She’s bound to go up really high from not enough insulin and her normal bounce. Will this stress you out too much?
 
I can test her again now and try to measure .5 on the syringe (1 unit measurement syringes but it would just be half of that), I can get a +2 but I’m barely awake so a +4 is not likely. I need to sleep tonight. My regular full time job is getting affected.
 
I hold the canned food until after I test. If I take the dry away they won’t eat for over 10 hours. I’m not doing that. And she already ate tonight.
 
I hold the canned food until after I test. If I take the dry away they won’t eat for over 10 hours. I’m not doing that. And she already ate tonight.
They’re not supposed to eat for two hours before the a.m. and p.m. tests. This is to make sure you can trust the test number and the BG isn’t artificially inflated by food. I would never want a diabetic cat to go that long without food. Eating small meals throughout the early portion of the cycle is best— then pulling all food after about +6 because if they eat much after nadir it can shorten the duration of the insulin, causing numbers to rise prematurely. A lot of people use timed automatic feeders to dispense LC food at +2, +4, +6.
 
I’ll have to look into all of that. I’m so new and did initially everything the vet tech said which she’d probably. It be here now if I listened. I’m trying. Should I do the .5 unit now then?
 
She’s at 166 even lower - so do .5 shot?
She’s stable. That’s good. No difference between a 167 and 166 (actually pretty amazing if you consider meter variance of plus or minus 20 percent that is allowed with these glucometers.). I really just think that this is going to put you under too much stress. Just take care of yourself tonight and promise me you’ll get some sleep. Skip the dose and tomorrow we will start fresh.
 
It sounds like you are not getting good advice from the vet/vet tech. There’s a lot of that going around this PZ forum lately.

Do your syringes have half unit markings.

Just for any other people reading along, normally I do not recommend skipping doses entirely, but Ami has some serious personal issues going on and we also have very little data on her spreadsheet for this lower preshot numbe — and Ami isn’t able to monitor this evening’s cycle.
 
I noted above the syringes do not have half unit markings. I’ll have to buy some. Thanks again. I’m doing the best I can. Thanks for not judging because I feel awful about all of this. I’m doing my best. I am not “off work” when I’m not at my full time job. I’m up at 4:30 am everyday trying to make this work. I’m exhausted and I’m trying.
 
No criticism here, Ami. I am here to help not to criticize. That would help nobody. You are doing great! Do not be hard on yourself! Look at that blue again tonight! She’s making progress. Take care! Good night!
 
And so sorry I missed what you said about the syringes.
Don’t be. You’re amazing in helping me. I didn’t mean it to come out as a slight. Tomorrow is a new day. I bought the half marking syringes but I’ll have to wait for payday to get a feeder. I’ve already wasted so much money I can’t afford to waste on apparently the wrong things I was told to get. Ugh.
Tomorrow I’ll start fresh. Thank you.
 
Don’t be. You’re amazing in helping me. I didn’t mean it to come out as a slight. Tomorrow is a new day. I bought the half marking syringes but I’ll have to wait for payday to get a feeder. I’ve already wasted so much money I can’t afford to waste on apparently the wrong things I was told to get. Ugh.
Tomorrow I’ll start fresh. Thank you.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I forgot that we haven’t had a chance to cover a lot of the basics yet! I am sure there’s more, but we can cross that bridge when we come to it. I usually try to not overwhelm new members at first with too much information because it is already overwhelming/frightening/confusing and discouraging when you first have a diabetes diagnosis for your cat, but in your case you have so much more going on in your life that is hard and exhausting — and then there’s your long commute to work, etc. I hope you got everything settled with your father today and the caregiver.
 
Well I was able to get a few extra readings late this afternoon and tonight. We had our first GREENS!! I think Sybil wants to get better ASAP! She is determined. I also received her syringes today with the half marks. Maybe I’ll need them soon.

She has been so playful tonight and chasing a ball around and having a good time. She’s definitely feeling improvement. I’m so happy for the guidance here. We shall see what the morning brings. I am nervous and hopeful. Tomorrow morning I am hoping to be able to get a +2 and +4 in the morning.

@Suzanne & Darcy thank you
 
Back
Top