Switching to Lantus from PZI

Status
Not open for further replies.

mimi4neeyah and Loki

Member Since 2012
:YMHUG: \M/ Oh Boy, had conference with the vet today and after attending a lecture by Deborah Greco D.V.M., Ph.D. He feels Loki needs to try her protocol. I tend to agree after speaking with him. The changes would be only the insulin, he would go on Lantus 1 unit amps and 1 unit pmps, with of course continuing his low-carb diet, which he gave me 2 cases of Royal Canin diabetic cat food to be used along with the fancy feast I have been using with him. He also said absolutely no DRY food :smile: Also, will do a fructosamine in 2-4 depending how his numbers are. I will move and copy this to the Lantus section but wanted my friends at PZI also to see this. Will you guys (from PZI) still keep an eye on me and Loki? I wish you would otherwise with miss you all terribly. Ok, off to learn what I can about Lantus.
 
Key to Lantus
pre-shots for safety
mid-cycle tests to find lowest point for dose adjustment and safety
12 hours apart as closely as possible
doses overlap and it takes 5 days the first dose, then 3 at any dose changes, before you can make a dose adjustment, other than a reduction due to hypo.
 
Thanks BJM, if you do not mind have a question. I cannot get the lantus till Monday, so changing his insulin will have to wait till them. I will use the PZI till then but my concern is changing insulin quick scares me. Do I follow the same way testing at AMPS and the feeding and shooting if ok to shoot? then a nadir and see how he is, he usually gets a snack at that time, and then the same for PMPS as AMPS. Sorry if this seems dumb but my heart cannot afford to make a mistake with this.
Thanks :YMHUG:
 
Michelle,
When you post in the TR forum, the folks there will explain how to transition easily from PZI to Lantus. Going in the "other direction" would be a bit different, but I'm almost sure that because PZI is a "once it's done it's gone" insulin, I don't think there's anything to switching other than, one dose he's on PZI, the next dose he isn't.

The TR folks will explain the best way and times to test for the first day on Lantus.

And yes, I will certainly keep track of how you and Loki are doing no matter which forum or which insulin you use!
 
mimi4neeyah and Loki said:
Thanks BJM, if you do not mind have a question. I cannot get the lantus till Monday, so changing his insulin will have to wait till them. I will use the PZI till then but my concern is changing insulin quick scares me. Do I follow the same way testing at AMPS and the feeding and shooting if ok to shoot? then a nadir and see how he is, he usually gets a snack at that time, and then the same for PMPS as AMPS. Sorry if this seems dumb but my heart cannot afford to make a mistake with this.
Thanks :YMHUG:

The PZI is gone when it is gone, so no worries about stopping it the night before and starting Lantus in the morning.
You may test, feed, and shoot all within about 15 minutes. You might want to start with 0.5 units if you won't be home to monitor for the first 7 hours (between +5 to +7 is when the expected nadir occurs and when he'd be most likely to have a hypo if he were headed that way.

The starting dose = (lower of current or ideal weight in pounds / 2.2) * 0.25
(if you've already got his weight in kilos, there's no need to divide by the 2.2)

Lantus works in a more slow and steady manner - think of a Mona Lisa smile - subtle, but there.
 
On Dr. P's chart, there's a few of them too. The best one for adult cats seems to be "Ultra-Light" which is 10% carbs, but it is higher than most in protein, and lower than most in fats. 61/29/10 is the P/F/C breakdown...
 
Hi, guys
Have the Royal Canin in my hand so will post ingredients.
The can says Royal canin Diabetic feline, it has Pork, chicken liver,wheat gluten,gelatin by products,wheat flour, modified corn starch,natural flavors, calcium sulfate,fish oil,calcium carbonate,potassium chloride,taurine,sodium silcon aluminate,potassium phosphate,carrageean,vitamins(B-12),folic acid,B-6,D-3,trace minerals of zinc,ferrous sulfate,copper sulfate,mamganous oxide,sodium,calcium.
Guaranteed analysis: Crude Protein 9%, Crude fat 1.5%, crude fiber 2.0%,moisture 83.0%,
These are the morsels in gravy.I will look to see if they come in pate form also. Loki ate it tonight ok but I know he prefers pate style.
I cannot seem to find the carb listing.
Just update the SS tonight, at PMPS he was139 so I held the shot and retested 1 hr later and got 246 gave in 1 unit tonight because I figure with that 139 better be safe, will get another test before bed.
Thanks guys. :YMHUG:
 
Water sufficient for processing, pork by-products, chicken liver, chicken, wheat gluten, powdered cellulose, gelatin by-products, wheat flour, corn starch modified, natural flavors, calcium sulfate, guar gum, calcium carbonate, fish oil, potassium chloride, taurine, sodium silico aluminate, potassium phosphate, carrageenan, vitamins [DL-alpha-tocopherol acetate (source of vitamin E), L-ascorbyl-2- polyphosphate (source of vitamin C), thiamine mononitrate (vitamin B1), niacin supplement, biotin, D-calcium pantothenate, riboflavin supplement (vitamin B2), pyridoxine hydrochloride (Vitamin B6), vitamin B12 supplement, folic acid, vitamin D3 supplement], L-carnitine, marigold extract (Tagetes erecta L.), trace minerals (zinc proteinate, zinc oxide, ferrous sulfate, copper sulfate, manganous oxide, sodium selenite, calcium iodate).


Analysis:

Crude Protein (min) 9%
Crude Fat (min) 1.5%
Crude Fiber (max) 2%
Moisture (max) 83%
Just found this will delete the other one.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top