Ti-Mousse (GA) Pepe (GA)
Member Since 2018
My Ti-Mousse was RX on November 27 when going for dental treatment. Vet suggested Caninsulin 2units bid with DM Proplan kibbles, which I did not take, as I intended to go w/low carb wet food which I did. Vet did not mention any testing except for curb after 7 days which I did (hardly any part of ears showing veins, a real nightmare but results were: AMPS: 32; +2: 28; +4: 22 +6: 23; +8: 22; +10: 20; PMPS: 32; +14: 24). Vet wanted to increase dose, I suggested changing to Lantus instead and sent her Roomp&Rand study. She was skeptical but finally said OK and left this prescription for me at the front desk without seeing me…
Vet’s prescription
RX Lantus 3units bid (which I find maybe VERY HIGH to start, what do you think ?? )
He is off Caninsulin since 5 days to flush system before starting the new insulin as per vet’s instructions. Since he is off Caninsulin, he is more playful and alive. Even though I was getting a bit worried and took his BG; his numbers were in the mid-twenties all day (it’s high but lower than with Caninsulin at 32 !)
RX Syringes 1.00ml or 0.5ml U100
I bought the 0.3ml syringes with half units in case of smaller doses as it was suggested in the Forum.
DO YOU THINK I SHOULD START WITH A LOWER DOSE to be on the safe side, until I read about SLGS and TR and choose the one that suits us best ?
IF SO, WHAT SHOULD BE THE STARTING DOSAGE ?
Thanks so much for being there!
Vet’s prescription
RX Lantus 3units bid (which I find maybe VERY HIGH to start, what do you think ?? )
He is off Caninsulin since 5 days to flush system before starting the new insulin as per vet’s instructions. Since he is off Caninsulin, he is more playful and alive. Even though I was getting a bit worried and took his BG; his numbers were in the mid-twenties all day (it’s high but lower than with Caninsulin at 32 !)
RX Syringes 1.00ml or 0.5ml U100
I bought the 0.3ml syringes with half units in case of smaller doses as it was suggested in the Forum.
DO YOU THINK I SHOULD START WITH A LOWER DOSE to be on the safe side, until I read about SLGS and TR and choose the one that suits us best ?
IF SO, WHAT SHOULD BE THE STARTING DOSAGE ?
Thanks so much for being there!