Switching from vetsulin to prozinc: Part 13

Status
Not open for further replies.
Smoky didn't want to eat last night. He acted really hungry but only ate a few bites. I gave him 0.5 units but was worried since he ate so little. He would not even eat his HC wet food. I ended up giving him HC kibble which he gobbled right up. As a result of that his BG jumped to 183 this morning. He is eating better in am but should I still give the same dose of 0.5U for am shot? I figure the 183 was a bit food influenced.
 
I felt bad for my boy tonight. He was laying on the bed with me again and looked pretty comfy. I had to disturb him to test his BG and give him a pm shot.:(
After that he went back and hid in the closet again.:confused:
Aw, poor Smoky. His PSs are really good and his dose has come down a lot. I hope the vet is more helpful this week.
 
Smoky didn't want to eat last night. He acted really hungry but only ate a few bites. I gave him 0.5 units but was worried since he ate so little. He would not even eat his HC wet food. I ended up giving him HC kibble which he gobbled right up. As a result of that his BG jumped to 183 this morning. He is eating better in am but should I still give the same dose of 0.5U for am shot? I figure the 183 was a bit food influenced.
I'd give the 0.5. If that HC kibble is OK with his allergies, I'd just feed him that to see if it helps. Many people here have to feed differently or dose around other conditions.
 
I can get Smoky in today for exam and regular blood work. However, to have the test done that measures the digestive enzymes requires an 8 to 12 hour fast.
They wanted to keep him overnight for that but it would stress him out too much.
I asked the vet's office if I could just pick up his food the night before his test, it would still be the same time frame.
They have to check with vet and call me back.
 
I can get Smoky in today for exam and regular blood work. However, to have the test done that measures the digestive enzymes requires an 8 to 12 hour fast.
They wanted to keep him overnight for that but it would stress him out too much.
I asked the vet's office if I could just pick up his food the night before his test, it would still be the same time frame.
They have to check with vet and call me back.
I hope they'll agree to you keeping him at home.
 
I can fast him at home overnight. Of course there will be hell to pay tomorrow morning when I don't feed him.:eek:
Plus I might want to take a nap before bedtime. I suspect I will lose sleep when he can't eat from midnight until after they draw blood. I'm sneaking a little bit of food in my bag for him to eat in his carrier after the blood sample and exam are done:rolleyes:. He is out more today than usual. He was sleeping in his kitty bed and hanging out in my windows in bedroom.
 

Attachments

  • IMAG0343.jpg
    IMAG0343.jpg
    53.9 KB · Views: 193
Smoky was 127 for PMPS so another no shot for tonight. He has to do his fast tonight so he can't have a shot in the morning either. I hope that doesn't mess up his BG too much.
 
They are running multiple tests including an EPI, what they call a GI panel (Chem, CBC, B12, Folate, Spec fPl, and an FtLI test to check for digestive enzymes. Plus they are doing another ultrasound. Poor Smoky has to wait until 11 am to eat something.:oops: That would be 11 hours w/o food.:( it's $660 for all that. :nailbiting: I feel so bad for him, he just started growing his hair back from the last ultrasound they did in Oct.
 
They are running multiple tests including an EPI, what they call a GI panel (Chem, CBC, B12, Folate, Spec fPl, and an FtLI test to check for digestive enzymes. Plus they are doing another ultrasound. Poor Smoky has to wait until 11 am to eat something.:oops: That would be 11 hours w/o food.:( it's $660 for all that. :nailbiting: I feel so bad for him, he just started growing his hair back from the last ultrasound they did in Oct.
Ouch for your wallet! I hope this gives useful information, Lisa. Didn't you say you were taking some food with you to give as soon as you leave there?
 
I'm kind of worried actually. What if they say he needs a lot of expensive treatments? I just can't do that to him Kris. He has been through so much already.
 
I gave him his can of food and he jumped out of the carrier onto the floor to get it.
One of their clients who came in the door asked me if he was a rescue kitty. That made me realize just how skinny he is and I keep thinking could I have done more for him to help him.:confused:
 
Aw Lisa, I think you've done a GREAT job with him! I know it's worrying to wait for the results, but try not to let it worry you too much. The results will at least let you know more information that can maybe help you. And until you get them, it's useless to worry about it (which I know doesn't help...I'm the worst at that. I'm like, "no reason to worry until there is a reason" and then I proceed to worry...). :bighug:
 
Smoky was 176 for PMPS, 36 hours w/o insulin.:eek: I thought it might be a wonky strip so tested again and cane up with the same number. Should I give him 0.5 units as I've been doing the last few times?
 
Aw Lisa, I think you've done a GREAT job with him! I know it's worrying to wait for the results, but try not to let it worry you too much. The results will at least let you know more information that can maybe help you. And until you get them, it's useless to worry about it (which I know doesn't help...I'm the worst at that. I'm like, "no reason to worry until there is a reason" and then I proceed to worry...). :bighug:
Thanks for cheering me up Rachel. :)I'm trying not to worry as he picks up on that pretty quickly.
 
Now instead of hiding in the closet Smoky has decided to hide in his carrier. He does have a soft fluffy blanket in there. He likes it in there as long as the door is open on it.
 
Now instead of hiding in the closet Smoky has decided to hide in his carrier. He does have a soft fluffy blanket in there. He likes it in there as long as the door is open on it.
Not a bad thing. I have a carrier sitting out with door open in plain view all the time. It's just part of the furniture to my three so if one needs to go to the vet I pick up kitty and go to that "thing" that's always there. ;)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top