CHIARA
Member Since 2025
Hi everyone, sorry for my English (hopefully understandable). I am writing to ask for advice. Nala was diagnosed in December. We took Prozinc until March 14th (she bounced and dropped on Prozinc and her BG was not stable. I can't thank Suzanne enough for her help during that time). I changed several Vets during those months, the last one switched us to Toujeo (from March 14th). I tried to ask the vet about the dosing method (because Toujeo is very concentrated and it is impossible to dose it in half/0,25 units), trying to suggest Lantus, but the Vet told me that Toujeo is different because of its concentration (slower absorption)and stabler. We have had good results with Toujeo, indeed. But there was a big problem from the beginning: Nala's blood sugar was often dropping (we had bad moments with very low values, we reached 31 on the human glucometer and I quickly started to reduce the dose against Vet’s opinion). I reduced the dose to 1 u.i. every 12 hours, tried to skip it (but the blood sugar went above 400)... the problem is that sometimes with this dose the BG drops below 40. So I discussed it with the Vet again and got a prescription for Lantus. I apologize for this long message, but I would like to explain our situation well (or at least try). Now I am alone again with Nala's diabetes and I am trying to make the best decision for her. Looking at her spreadsheet, what would you do? Should I switch insulin and start with Lantus even though Nala's BG is good now? Has anyone been in the same situation? What should I expect in the switch, being 2 glargine insulins? Thank you very much for your attention.

