Switching from Toujeo to Lantus (I'm not sure... looking for advices and experiences)

CHIARA

Member
Hi everyone, sorry for my English (hopefully understandable). I am writing to ask for advice. Nala was diagnosed in December. We took Prozinc until March 14th (she bounced and dropped on Prozinc and her BG was not stable. I can't thank Suzanne enough for her help during that time). I changed several Vets during those months, the last one switched us to Toujeo (from March 14th). I tried to ask the vet about the dosing method (because Toujeo is very concentrated and it is impossible to dose it in half/0,25 units), trying to suggest Lantus, but the Vet told me that Toujeo is different because of its concentration (slower absorption)and stabler. We have had good results with Toujeo, indeed. But there was a big problem from the beginning: Nala's blood sugar was often dropping (we had bad moments with very low values, we reached 31 on the human glucometer and I quickly started to reduce the dose against Vet’s opinion). I reduced the dose to 1 u.i. every 12 hours, tried to skip it (but the blood sugar went above 400)... the problem is that sometimes with this dose the BG drops below 40. So I discussed it with the Vet again and got a prescription for Lantus. I apologize for this long message, but I would like to explain our situation well (or at least try). Now I am alone again with Nala's diabetes and I am trying to make the best decision for her. Looking at her spreadsheet, what would you do? Should I switch insulin and start with Lantus even though Nala's BG is good now? Has anyone been in the same situation? What should I expect in the switch, being 2 glargine insulins? Thank you very much for your attention.
 
Hi everyone, sorry for my English (hopefully understandable). I am writing to ask for advice. Nala was diagnosed in December. We took Prozinc until March 14th (she bounced and dropped on Prozinc and her BG was not stable. I can't thank Suzanne enough for her help during that time). I changed several Vets during those months, the last one switched us to Toujeo (from March 14th). I tried to ask the vet about the dosing method (because Toujeo is very concentrated and it is impossible to dose it in half/0,25 units), trying to suggest Lantus, but the Vet told me that Toujeo is different because of its concentration (slower absorption)and stabler. We have had good results with Toujeo, indeed. But there was a big problem from the beginning: Nala's blood sugar was often dropping (we had bad moments with very low values, we reached 31 on the human glucometer and I quickly started to reduce the dose against Vet’s opinion). I reduced the dose to 1 u.i. every 12 hours, tried to skip it (but the blood sugar went above 400)... the problem is that sometimes with this dose the BG drops below 40. So I discussed it with the Vet again and got a prescription for Lantus. I apologize for this long message, but I would like to explain our situation well (or at least try). Now I am alone again with Nala's diabetes and I am trying to make the best decision for her. Looking at her spreadsheet, what would you do? Should I switch insulin and start with Lantus even though Nala's BG is good now? Has anyone been in the same situation? What should I expect in the switch, being 2 glargine insulins? Thank you very much for your attention.
@Suzanne & Darcy
 
You might want to fix your signature. I see that first Nala was on Prozinc, then you switched to Toujeo
Can you please put on your signature after you have Prozinc/ Toujeo and the date you switched to Toujeo
I assume it was 3/14/25?
You need to add what glucose meter you are using right now, only because I see on your spreadsheet you Libre 3
On your spreadsheet you have Contour XT
Which one are you using now
To fix your signature tap on your name up top then tap on signature and correct it.
Then tap save

I don't know anything about Toujeo

The only thing I can tell you that if you switch to Lantus you will need U-100 syringes with the half unit markings
 
Last edited:
And tagging a member who has heally good ifo about buying the kind of syringes that will make shooting Lantus a breeze!

@Diane Tyler's Mom GA
U-100 syringes with half unit markings

Using syringes with a pen, cartridge, or vial:
  • U-100 3/10cc syringes with half unit markings are the best to use for drawing Lantus, Levemir, or the Biosimilars from vials, cartridges, and pens.
  • BD Ultra-Fine, CarePoint Vet, Monoject, GNP, UltiCare Vet Rx, Sure Comfort, and ReliOn are just some of the brands available with half unit markings.
  • Syringes come in 5/64 inch (6mm), ½ inch (8mm) or 5/16 inch (12.7mm) needle lengths. Needle gauges are 29, 30 or 31 (31 being the thinnest)
  • Full and half-unit syringe scales: see below
 
upload_2025-4-24_11-34-59.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-4-24_11-34-59.jpeg
    upload_2025-4-24_11-34-59.jpeg
    27.4 KB · Views: 153
If you live by a Walmart
Walmart, you can get U100 insulin syringes with half unit marks for $12.58/100.
You need to go into the store to get them

Either of these 2 boxes are the ones you want (with a purple stripe). You have to go into the store , can't buy them on line
upload_2024-4-22_23-37-23-jpeg.69946





This was posted by a member and copied it for you
If you're going to Walmart, ask for Relion 3/10ml, 31 or 30 gauge insulin syringes. (Don't mention half unit marks because this tends to confuse them and they think you don't know what you want and will try to convince you that you need 1/2ml syringes---you DON'T)

ALL of the 3/10ml Relion syringes at Walmart have half unit marks. Trust me on this. You will want one of these boxes of syringes (the difference is the needle length...blue box are shorter needles than white box but both work fine). As long as the box has the purple stripe, they are the correct syringes.
 
Can you also note in your signature which country you're in? Otherwise, people will assume you're in the US and make suggestions that you won't be able to follow through on. It's important to indicate which insulin you're using in your signature.

Nala was doing well on Toujeo. Just so you're aware, cats can drop into lower than desirable numbers despite our best efforts. It's why we consider home testing to be so important. I tested a lot and that was before meters like the Libre were available and Gabby did drop into low numbers on occasion. The advantage of your cat being on Lantus is that we have considerably more experience with it than with Toujeo. It is not used much for cats in the US. I would start on 1.0u of Lantus and if we need to "fast track" the dose we will make that suggestion once we see how she responds.

Also, I want to direct you to Lisa Pierson, DVM's instructions for a home made diet. From what's on Nala's spreadsheet, I can't tell if you're feeding her a nutritionally complete diet. It looks like there may be supplements that aren't included in what you're feeding.
 
Can you also note in your signature which country you're in? Otherwise, people will assume you're in the US and make suggestions that you won't be able to follow through on. It's important to indicate which insulin you're using in your signature.

Nala was doing well on Toujeo. Just so you're aware, cats can drop into lower than desirable numbers despite our best efforts. It's why we consider home testing to be so important. I tested a lot and that was before meters like the Libre were available and Gabby did drop into low numbers on occasion. The advantage of your cat being on Lantus is that we have considerably more experience with it than with Toujeo. It is not used much for cats in the US. I would start on 1.0u of Lantus and if we need to "fast track" the dose we will make that suggestion once we see how she responds.

Also, I want to direct you to Lisa Pierson, DVM's instructions for a home made diet. From what's on Nala's spreadsheet, I can't tell if you're feeding her a nutritionally complete diet. It looks like there may be supplements that aren't included in what you're feeding.


Thank you very much for your reply. Yes, I test a lot Nala: with or without libre, during the first 4 months after diagnosis we were unable to apply the libre and Nala got used to being tested by ear. She dropped, so I have always tested her frequently.
The current veterinarian claims that Toujeo reduces the risk of hypoglycemia compared to Lantus, the problem is that it is not possible to make reductions: i could just skip alternate doses.
Thank you for the suggestion about the home made diet. Our Vet nutritionist gave us a diet, we are introducing slowly different kind of protein (because Nala had some intestinal troubles, that seem to be solved), I specified raw and cooked, because I prefer give her cooked chicken because of avian influenza and pork (I introduced it today). I only use row beef deep frozen. Like supplements we are using bones meal, fish oil, a multivitaminic, green tripe, buthyrate and an homeopathic cure for pancreas. Muscle, heart, innards and vegetables. I surely read and I thank you again for your suggestion.

I put Italy in my signature
 
The supplement that is absolutely necessary for cats is taurine. Please check with the nutritionist to be sure that it's a part of what you're feeding. Insuffient taurine in a a cat's diet can lead to cardiac problems and blindness.
 
Back
Top