Lily's mom Ellen
Member Since 2019
Hi,
Lily is almost 14 and was diagnosed in March of 2019 while we were out of state and started on ProZinc. By December 2019 she was up to 8 units and still staying high. Now home in CA, our "regular" vet switched her to Lantus but started her at 1 unit (May 16) based on the recommendation of another vet specializing in Internal Medicine. (Our vet is lovely but does not have much expertise with FD and insulin resistance.) Lily is suspected of having Acromegaly but has not been formally tested. She's often ravenous, eats 2 cans LC FF morning and evening and gets hangry through the day. I have to give her .5 can 2+ times daily to keep her from getting hysterical, eating paper and squabbling with my civvie. She has PD, PU and is ketone negative to date. We switched to AlphaTrak but are going back to ReliOn as I can't spare an arm and leg to pay for test strips.
Lily is currently on 2u bid and has not had BG <300.
I'm thinking of going with the TR protocol but am concerned about the initial dose being way too low and how much I should bring her up to start the TR. My understanding is that while the nadir (hard to tell when that is) is >300 I should increase .5u every 2-3 days. She's *never* been low, but I know ECID.
I've tried reading everything but get overwhelmed.
Any help would be appreciated!
Lily is almost 14 and was diagnosed in March of 2019 while we were out of state and started on ProZinc. By December 2019 she was up to 8 units and still staying high. Now home in CA, our "regular" vet switched her to Lantus but started her at 1 unit (May 16) based on the recommendation of another vet specializing in Internal Medicine. (Our vet is lovely but does not have much expertise with FD and insulin resistance.) Lily is suspected of having Acromegaly but has not been formally tested. She's often ravenous, eats 2 cans LC FF morning and evening and gets hangry through the day. I have to give her .5 can 2+ times daily to keep her from getting hysterical, eating paper and squabbling with my civvie. She has PD, PU and is ketone negative to date. We switched to AlphaTrak but are going back to ReliOn as I can't spare an arm and leg to pay for test strips.
Lily is currently on 2u bid and has not had BG <300.
I'm thinking of going with the TR protocol but am concerned about the initial dose being way too low and how much I should bring her up to start the TR. My understanding is that while the nadir (hard to tell when that is) is >300 I should increase .5u every 2-3 days. She's *never* been low, but I know ECID.
I've tried reading everything but get overwhelmed.
Any help would be appreciated!