Switching from AT3 to True Metric Air. Any guidance welcome!

leeza

Member Since 2026
Tired of shelling out $ for AT3 test strips so switching Kuro to my BG True Metric Air. Just did his +11 test w/ both (I know they say not to bother comparing), and AT3 was 152 and TMAir was 110. Usually w/ an AT3 BG of 152, I would retest in an hour to see if #'s are trending upward before giving shot. I still have 30 minute window for his usual shot (2.75 units). Any recommendations on how best to proceed?
 
The AT or any pet meter is calibrated differently than a human meter. It's typical that the human meter reads lower. Unfortunately, there isn't a way to convert the numbers between the two types of meters other than at where a dose reduction point is. With Lantus and if you're following TR, the dose is reduced if numbers drop below 50 whereas with an AT, the dose is reduced at 68. The numbers you tested last night are likely equivalent.
 
The AT or any pet meter is calibrated differently than a human meter. It's typical that the human meter reads lower. Unfortunately, there isn't a way to convert the numbers between the two types of meters other than at where a dose reduction point is. With Lantus and if you're following TR, the dose is reduced if numbers drop below 50 whereas with an AT, the dose is reduced at 68. The numbers you tested last night are likely equivalent.
Thank you! It was the low bg numbers I was wanting to confirm.
 
Back
Top