Sweet Tango Amps 80 - help!

Sweet Tango

Member Since 2019
Good morning. Just tested my kitty for his amps and he was 80 on the dot. Super nervous to shoot this low but yesterday when he tested 130, I skipped his and was sorry I did, as his pmps was 518. He gets .75 units of Lantus every 12 hours. I’m assuming I should wait 20 minutes, don’t feed, and then test again but what if I see the same number or similar number? I do have to work today so I can’t be home go check him. Help!
 
Last edited:
Since you have to work today, you may want to skip the shot. You don't have the data to know what he'll do if you shoot a green number. You'll get another chance to shoot green. It's better to be safe. You may still need to leave some extra food out if you can.
 
Thanks. Yesterday I was so upset because I thought I completely messed up by skipping his shot in the a.m. when he was 130 (I know now that I could have completely shot at the number) I promised I would never get nervous and skip again but then this morning after seeing 80....scared what will happen.
 
First, that 80 at AMPS is a dose reduction. You can shoot the lower dose.

The 80 is also a dropping number. Do. you have the flexibility to stall? Have you re-tested?
 
I know. I wish I wasn’t so darn nervous. I re-tested him 20 minutes later and he was 86 but I was nervous because I had to leave for work and this is my first time seeing green numbers for any pre-shot. I went ahead and skipped. I’m a chicken. I am only working 4 hours today. When I get home I can check him again and if I see it rising, can I shoot then? It will obviously interfere with my 12 hour cycle, but I’ll just have to adjust. Isn’t that better then waiting until tonight and risking his numbers spiking?
 
Sienna, I am trying to switch to TR. I have been reading the sticky’s for TR :) I thought that in TR you have to stay with one dose for at least 3 days? Gosh I’m so confused.
 
Sorry. I saw the SLGS on your spreadsheet. I would suggest getting the SLGS out of your signature and spreadsheet. You don't reduce the dose unless the numbers drop below 50. Even if it's cycle #2 of a new dose, if Tango drops into dose reduction range (below 50), you reduce the dose.
 
Thank you Sienna. I will update it in my signature to reflect TR. :) So you keep the dose the same for 3 days even if there is a drop, correct?
 
Back
Top