Sweet Max at 33. Spacey, but otherwise OK

Status
Not open for further replies.

cat and sweet max

Member Since 2009
Discovered this 50 minutes ago. Gave Karo, dry food, wet food. He is now up to 45, but hiding in his house. I tried calling the vet, and was put on hold for way to long. Was treating him.

Any suggestions?

Ironically, just got computer fixed this afternoon.

Thanks!

Cat and Sweet Max
 
Hi, please test Sweet Max again & post the #, continue to bump up numbers with some Karo & HC gravy - not too much so he doesn't fill up. Great job so far. At what point int the cycle is this? How many hours ago did you give the injection?
 
Thank you for your reply.

5 hours after slightly reduced injection of Lantus. He had been getting a skinny 2.5. I reduced it to a fat 2 units.
I was told to shoot when his numbers are low at PS.
It was 71 at +13 PS. I waited till it was up to 83 at +13.5PS.

At 75 minutes after the Karo, dry food, & wet food, his BG was 62. Testing again.

Hugs, Cat and Sweet Max
 
Hiding, but up to 76.

Don't recall ever going as low as a 33. Tested with 2 meters. And don't recall such a slow response to the carbs.

Thank you for your support. We are Oldies, but haven't been around.

Hugs, Headbutts, and Healing,

Cat and Sweet Max
 
Sweet Max is doing very well & so are you... Dry food takes time to kick in, so we don't advise to give dry food to bump up #s, just the Karo, Honey or HC & then we give it 15mins to see how much the #s have bumped up. Do you have a spreadsheet?
 
No spreadsheet. I write everything on his calendar. Every Preshot, dose, spot checks, etc., including when he sneaks some high carb dry food (usually from the dog). I'm glad I caught this one. Can't imagine my world without him in it.

Hugs and Headbutts,

Cat, Sweet Max, and gang
 
What +time was the 33 and what was your test prior to the 33 (time and BG#).

Sorry if you know this already.....

I'd also suggest taking a look at this post on low numbers. If it's been a while since you've been hanging out in LL, it's a new post. My concern is how long Sweet Max spent in low numbers. From what it sounds like, it was harder than you expected to get his numbers up. It will really help if you keep testing every 30 min. to make sure his numbers are stable or rising. Some cats can sit in lower numbers for quite some time (e.g., we've seen asymptomatic hypos last for 16+ hours). It's important to not be complacent and think everything is good and then the HC wears off and he's back in the basement again.

How far out are you from his PMPS? If Max has been sitting in low numbers, he may be very sensitive to insulin by his PM shot.
 
This morning, his Preshot BG test was 71. I waited until it was 83 before giving Lantus (at 13.5 hrs PS).
Thankfully, I tested him at +5, and it was 33. Couldn't believe it, so tested again with a different meter and got the same 33. Gave him lots of Karo, dry food, and wet food with gravy.
It took 20 minutes from that time for his BG to budge to 36.
And 1 1/4 hrs to get up to 62. And a total of 100 minutes to get to 76 (+6 hrs, 40 minutes after his morning insulin).
At +8, his BG was 141.
His PS tonight is 300.
Quite frankly, I don't know how much insulin to shoot tonight. Sweet Max and I had much more experience (distant past), when the Ketone Monster was regularly visiting.
I will appreciate any and all advice.
He was getting a skinny 2 1/2 units until this morning, when I gave him a chubby 2 units. Shooting at and 83 was not something I'd normally do, but was recently told that is how Lantus works.
Any advice how much to shoot tonight? And in the morning?

Thank you for all your help!

Hugs and Headbutts,

Cat, Sweet Max, and gang

edited to add: His Preshot BG last night (Sunday) was 163. I gave him a skinny 2.5 of Lantus.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top