Swapping to wet food what insulin amount

Status
Not open for further replies.

klunk

Member
Hi,

We are going to be swapping timmy from md tinned with dried md food to low carb supermarket tinned food, What do people suggest shoot him with the the morning before he starts on the new food? He has had two bouts of high ketones in the past ( as mentioned in my other posting) but we dont want him going hypo either as we known he is his BG is likley to drop when we drop the dried part of his meals
, He is on caninsuiln

If someone could take a look at his numbers and give us a idea he is normally on 6 units but if he is low for him on his test we give him 5 units

We will be testing him throughout the day to keep a eye on his numbers

Thanks
 
klunk said:
Hi,


If someone could take a look at his numbers and give us a idea he is normally on 6 units but if he is low for him on his test we give him 5 units

We will be testing him throughout the day to keep a eye on his numbers

Thanks


5 or 6 units of any insulin is a very high dose for a diabetic cat unless there are other health issues going on. I can't access your spreadsheet from where I am currently at, but how long have you been at this dose? What did you start with?

You may also be dealing with Somogyi rebound due to the high dose. In order to protect itself from becoming hypoglycemic with the insulin dose is to high, the body releases extra glucose in the system. If that is the case, right now, the dry food may be what is protecting your cat from becoming hypoglycemic.

If you are removing the dry, my suggestion is to also drop the insulin dose back to 1 unit and slowly work your way up (over a period of weeks) to find the optimal dose. I am concerned that if you do not make a significant drop in the insulin dose and remove the dry food, your cat my hypo.
 
Went back and looked at your post. Looks like you started at 3 and are getting a flat curve in the 200s at 6. And you are already feeding some wet, right?

No crystal ball here. Kimmee and I were thinking he might be a high dose kitty (see the last posts in Canninsulin/Vetsulin forum) I think I would do 4 or 5 and test bg and ketone levels often. It's that Every Cat is Different Thing. Oliver dropped 100 points overnight. Other cats take a week to get much of a reaction. You need to stay on your toes and be sure you know what is happening. The good news is once you see a reaction, that will probably be the one you get and you will be able to deal with the numbers and dose again without factoring in the food.

Lisa, this is a kitty with a history of ketones. I would be nervous about going back to 1 unit.....
 
Hi,

As a update we have been reducing his dried food very gradually since saturday morning, He seems fine at the moment no problems
 
Well, you are definitely seeing movement. Your pmps on 1/9 of 175 is a real change. I would reduce the dose. I wouldn't go down to 1 unit, but maybe reduce by half?

You need to have a no shoot number. A number that if you get it at preshot time, you wait to make sure it is rising and then shoot when it gets above that number. We usually tell new diabetics that 200 is a no shoot number until you have more data. If I got the 175, to me, that would be a signal that my dose is too high and rather than not being able to shoot, I would reduce the dose. You also want to be sure to get some nadirs regularly- around 4 -6 hours after the shot. That number will help you see how low he goes and that will also help you determine the dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top