Suzie numbers not feeling well again

Status
Not open for further replies.

traceyg

Member
We had a thread started on Suzie New to Diabetes and the board. It got a bit long so I was asked to start another one sounds good.

We got a number for her
this morning. It wasn't easy thought and it can't keep being a battle. I took it right before I gave her the insulin. I was concerned still am a little because she threw up a little this morning before the insulin. It was the thick liquid stuff. That usually is a sign of start of renal failure. I have been through a few cats with that.

I gave her 1/4 of the pepcid that Ventia left here. She seemed better. Then gave her the insulin and have been keeping on eye on her. It is 4 Am so that was about an hour ago. Before I gave her the Insulin her numbers were 323. Later on today I will try to test her again. >>

This was an early post. Took her to the vet for them to test her. Her numbers were still at 323. She isn't eating a lot and isn't feeling well. She sniffs the food takes a lick or two and walks about. I have spent 70.oo that I don't have on foods to get her to eat.

If I had the money I would take her back to the vet but I don't. I am still without a vehicle for now also until tomorrow. Suzie has High blood pressure and the Hyper Thyroid. Now the diabetes etc. . .

Ventia thought she looked pretty good she was doing better when she was up. This seems a little like torcher on booth me and Suzie. I have 4 other cats that aren't getting attention. I love Suzie dearly. She loves spring but hoe do you, guys afford it. There are bills I can't pay this month because all my money is going into Suzie and we are getting only small steps. It doesn't seem like she is getting much better. I am trying my hardest.

The only thing I can get her to eat or the fancy feast appetizers. She is NOT getting the stuff she needs from cat food. She already has problems to add her not getting the things she needs but I can't get her to eat much regular cat food. Anyway suggestions. Yes I have tried cooking for her she doesn't want it. She needs the stuff in cat food Fancy Feast appetizers have just chicken none of the stuff cats need.



That she won't eat concerns me. . .

As hard as we are trying it seems that this journey is only heading down one path . . . a path that I was ready to take when she was first diagonsed but not so sure now . . .
 
Tracey, I'm sorry to read that things aren't going well this morning.

It is impossible for us to tell you that it will get better, that it is worth spending money you don't have. We can tell you that there is a chance that she will turn around quite soon and the short term cash crunch will be worth it. But you have to be responsible to yourself and your other cats as far as your finances and we won't judge you on that whatsoever.

Have you tried syringe feeding her? It MIGHT be simply that she doesn't feel great and that is what is keeping from eating, and if she gets food into her then she may perk up. That is what happened with my Squeak, I had to syringe feed him for a few days and keep up with his insulin. But that was relatively simple...with Suzie's other issues plus whatever else might be going on, I cannot guarantee that it will be as simple for you.

Could you try syringe feeding her some watered down canned food? You'd need a syringe bigger than the insulin ones. Also keep up with the pepcid ac for a few days as that might do the trick.

Sending hugs and understanding

Jen
 
Dearest Tracey, and, of course, you too, sweet Suzie,

When Giz came home from spending 3 days in ICU for DKA at the ER hospital, she was on 3 units of N (after having been on 2 units of N at the hospital for about 36 hours...). DKA can take a lot out of cats and Giz was no exception.

I struggled to get her to eat -- anything -- for the first few weeks. There was one night I put out 11 plates, bowls, saucers of 11 different foods. Of course, Giz being a cat, decided on the 11th offering... I was in tears and called my friend, Joanie, who's kind of like my unofficial adopted mom and was Gizzie's unofficial grandmom. Her response (after calming me down...)? Why don't you just print up a menu and let her put her paw on her choice?

A week or two later, I broke out the George Foreman grill my sister had given me for Christmas the year before. Had never used it for myself; but, had this idea about grilling for Giz. Grilled a chicken breast, a bit of which was greeted and eaten quite enthusiastically! Thought we were finally on our way. But, after a few days, chicken was not so successful...

Decided to try a pork chop next... Cut some of it up into little pieces and presented it to her on a saucer. She looked at me, Like you're kidding me right? I took that little saucer back into the kitchen and remember leaning against the counter and sliding to the floor, crying... Somehow, maintained a steady hold on that saucer and grabbed a fork and started eating tiny pieces of pork in between sobbing and thinking I can't do this anymore. I mean, there I was sitting on the kitchen floor crying and eating cat-size pieces of pork chop from a saucer no less, despairing about what the hell I was going to get her to eat that night...

Then something strange (certainly at the time...) happened. I started liking that pork chop, a lot! Found myself mmmmmmm-ing... Here's the strange part. Giz did her little walk a bit, rest a bit, walk a bit more, and came into the kitchen for the first time since she'd come home. She came up to me and seemed interested in what seemed so tasty to me. So I gave her a piece, and another, and another... Seems she didn't want to dine alone... Or, perhaps just wanted it from my hand instead of a saucer...

The following weekend I added steak to the grilling for Giz meat/poultry rotation. And, yes, Tracey, she ate better than I did... Ironically, the only cat food that she'd eat at the time was DM canned and dried. She's wasn't eating enough though because of being on N, thus grilling for Giz...

It probably took about three weeks and a little change before I finally established about the most normal food routine I was ever going to get with the little darling. There were always glitches here and there; but, overall it worked... My goal was always just to make sure she ate. And, I hoped and prayed she was getting enough of the cat stuff she needed from the DM... Did try some supplement (that I can't remember the name of), but she wouldn't even go near the food with it on. So, we went back to what worked for us... Perhaps some supplements will work for Suzie, either now or after things settle down...



I understand both your frustrations and fears, dearest Tracey, especially because Suzie has multiple issues. My humble suggestion is to give her some more time before making any life-changing decisions. Venita and you have an appointment with Dr. Fry coming up in a week and change -- one which will put Suzie on a much more cat-friendly insulin. Giz was miserable on N; but, responded much better to U (sadly no longer available). Hopefully Suzie will respond much better to Lantus...



As for your other four cats, how about some catnip and a bit of toy time? Who knows? Suzie might just want to play or watch... Might also do you some good...

One of the things Giz's ER vet said to me the Monday afternoon I picked her up has always stayed with me. When I asked her, what am I supposed to do tomorrow? She replied, "Go to work. Giz needs her rest. She doesn't need you hovering."

Food for thought...


Much love and our countless hopeful, healing, hungry hugs and prayers continue for you both,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz, forever dancing in my heart...
 
Also keep up with the pepcid ac for a few days as that might do the trick.>>

That is a good idea. How much can a cat have in one day?

I have just been through a similar dance with Missy. It hasn't been that long since I put her down. She had cancer. She came to me about 7 years ago. She was a rescue someone broke her legs and didn't fix them so she could never walk right etc. The other cats would go after her so I kept her in the bedroom which goes out to the enclosed porch. I think she was very happy. I miss her a lot. I still haven't come back from that financial and emotionally draining dance.

Suzie has started eating again. When I gave her the shot tonight I took notice that I may not be getting it all the way in. I changed to the shorter needles when Ventia came up I like them but with Suzie's long hair I am not sure it is working. Ventia showed me another place aside the scruff of the neck to give Suzie her shot but I can't do it there. She doesn't like it. So I went back up to the back of the neck the scruff. I am not sure the needle is long enough for the long hair so I will chance back for now.

She has so many issues. High blood pressure, Enlarged heart, the Hyperthyroid now the Diabetes. it is a lot for a little cat to handle. Me also.

I do thank you for your encouragement. If it wouldn't be for this board we couldn't do it.
 
I believe the dose is 1/4 tablet twice a day but you should confirm with your vet.>>

Thanks. My vet is pretty useless to me right now she would never get back to me. She didn't like that I challanged her on the Insulin using Humlin and few other things like using the prescription dry food. Perhaps someone that knows here for sure will post it. Until then i will use this as a guide. I tried to find it on the interent bnut all I got were Ads.

I wish there was someone here that new about Hyper Thyriod and Diabetes that could guide us through both of them together. I think they need to be worked on together,.

Things should look better tomorrow. I have been without a vehicle for about 2 weeks. Mine died. However I did get a truck and I should be able to pick it up tomorrow. I will feel more at ease when I can get back to work and have wheels in case I need to go get something for Suzie.

Does anyone here know how to take the blood pressure of a cat? My vet charges 35 to do it. I would love to know where Suzies blood pressure is at right now. Her heart seems to beating very fast the last few days.
 
I believe Pepcid A/C only comes now in 20mg tabs so you would need to give 1/8 b.i.d. or you can buy Famotadine, same thing really, just more generic, and I can get that in 10 mg. tabs so I use 1/4 tab b.i.d.

Also, thyroid needs to be taken care of with usually Tapazole and monitored to get thyroid level back to as normal as we can. Vet should work with you on that. My civie has Hyper-T and heart trouble and is on Atenolol, Tapazole, and Amlodipine.

My one diabetic, in remission for some unknown reason after 4 1/2 yrs. of insulin, has been dealing with Restrictive Cardiomyopathy for over 4 years now and is on heart meds for that.

It can all be worked out and work well IF you have a vet that works with you. Has Suzie been seen by a cardiologist to find out exactly what may be wrong with her heart? Hyper-T can speed the heart up but there are meds for that. Please don't get discouraged, it can work well and Suzie can improve but it means a vet that has knowledge and works towards improving Suzie's life.
 
I got up this morning and gave Suzie some Pepcid Ac 1 hour before meal time. It seems to help. Thanks to who ever suggested keeping her on it for a few days. I think that is a good idea. I am also syringe feeding her water again. She seems to pick up when I do that. Makes me think along with everything else she may be starting with Renal Failure. She is only 9 years old to have so many issues.

I also tried to get another reading on her. I keep getting era messages but I am not getting a lot of blood. Not really enough to do that test. I heated the rice sock. I got up close to the top of the ear. Any other suggestions? I am going to practice on myself tonight. Any one have any suggestions on how else I can practice without using Suzie. I do have 4 other cats. hmm I wonder. Boy wouldn't they love me LOL : )

She is on the tapazole. We are going in for another test on her Thyroid next week. My vet really isn't working with me right now. She didn't like that I challenged her on the Insulin and the dry food. I have been with her for a long time. She is a respectable vet just more of a dog vet and a little out of modern times I think. I really like her but she isn't helping Suzie out on this one. I am taking her to another vet that I believe is more up to date and has more knoweledge when Ventia comes back. I also know with the other vet even if we disagree that we will always come out in the side of what is best for the cat. That is not happening right now with the vet I have.

I am afraid to try to drive Suzie there myself to the new vet because she has problems traveling. her heart rate goes up she pants gets of breath and it is a 40 minute drive. I want to try it though at least once and see how she does with the ride. I believe this is the better vet for her.

AS far as a cardiologist. No she hasn't seen one. I am almost 1500 into this with Suzie.
I put away some funds to take her to Dr Fry and I will go from there. I wish I was made out of money but I am not. Car just died had to get a new one. Cash. I don't do credit cards.

The cash funds are running low to be honest. I just had one cat that also went through cancer and died not to long ago. That was also very expensive. I miss her so much. it is still fresh.


A few months ago I lost my health insurance. I still have hospitalization on myself but nothing else and I have been having my own problems. I have to wait until July for my new health insurance to kick in but my own health as been a drain in finances also.


I am at the end of the slow season the start of the busy season. I know there are other people out there that are like me that can't afford to keep putting out thousands of dollars. I will say you almost feel guilty if you can't but I can't. I would love to take her to a cardiologist but having a cat that has heart disease Mr blue I know how pricey that is. I also don't think the cardiologist would be able to do much for Suzie. The other issues have to be controlled first. The enlarged heart is caused by the Hyper thyroid. She is not a candidate for the radiation treatment I checked into it before the diabetes and she had to many other health issues for them to believe it would be safe for her. The Tapazole helps but she is still a little high. Last reading was 5.5

I believe the reality with Suzie is that she hasn't got much longer. I hope a year or so but I think that may be pushing it. What I want for Suzie in quality. Quality of life matters. Her life is no good to her if it is longer but she is sick all the time. That is were you all are helping so much quality of life so please stick with us. The little suggestions like keeping up the Pepcid Ac are so helpful. it is a simple thing but perhaps one I would not have thought of.
 
With the ear testing, I found that doing it freehand at a slight angle worked better for me.

It sounds like you need to get blood work done on her kidney values to rule out or confirm renal failure.
Instead of the full blood work, just ask that those certain tests be run along with testing her electrolytes.

I just had one cat that had diabetes go into total renal failure and could not be saved, in October 2010.
Then her sibling just recently went into renal failure and was put on sub-q fluids. His values were extremely high and could not be saved either.

I still have one cat left........and yes, he also has the renal failure, but is doing well so far with the sub-q fluids.
 
I hear your fear and anguish. Only you can decide and you can only do what you can do. You have tried hard already, and if it is too much, it is too much. We tend to advocate for the kitty, but we know there are limits. There is no doubt you love sweet Suzie and you want to help her. You are the only one who can know when it is time and we absolutely understand. Quality of life is really all there is - if she isn't enjoying life, we are lucky that we can give our kitties that greatest gift, the release from pain.

The fluids seem to be helping. Glad the pepcid seems to making a difference. Don't worry, we aren't going anywhere. We are here to cheer you and Susie on and we will be here if you have to let her go.

Yes, practice on yourself. If you have an easy going cat, practice on him/her. Just don't forget the treats (in both cases)....Are you getting enough blood? Do you think that is the error message?

And don't forget that breathing thing. Breathe and breathe again. It really does help.
 
Are you getting enough blood? Do you think that is the error message?>>

No I am not getting enough blood I think that is the problem. I am not sure why. I get just a tiny drop. V did fine when she was up here. I have four other cats. One is feral so I can't practice on her. I have to be careful I don't look at her the wrong way but I love her. The other three I may be able to pratice on. I will pratice on myself using the meter but my ears are a little different then there. I am just a little below the tip of the ear. I do have trouble seeing her veins. Any tips.


I have an appoitment with Dr FRy on the 7 for me and Ventia to go up. Am I spelling her name correctly? Dr Fry and I have been e-mailing back and forth. I work with Dr fry with the
http://www.fairchildcat.org/index.html If suzie can hang until then I think we will get a better picture of what is going on.

Suzie does seem much better getting the regular Pecid AC twice a day. Thank you so much to who suggested keeping her on it. Keeping my fingers crossed. I also took someone advice and got back to work.


I do fear she is at the start of renal failure also. I feel for you with 2 that went into it and one still with it. I did that dance for 21 months with Ladyz She lived 21 years. She was my heart still is. Renal failure I think is rough but I am not sure if it is rought as diabetes. We caught ladys early.

Suzie is young but has been on the tapaziod for a while and that does tax the kidneys just as the Pepcid Ac does. I want quality for Suzie as we all do for our beloved cats.

okay guys how do I get more blood? what am I doing wrong? Dr Fry would prefer for me to do a mini curve her at home were I can get a true reading of the numbers before Ventia takes us up there but I need more blood. I feel like such a vampire.

well I am off to work. got wheels under my feet again so at least I can get back to being the provider. I think my cats should go out and find me a good husband LOL. Doubt they would like anyone. They don't like to share me. . .
 
The thing that really helped us was to heat the ear well with the rice sack. At first, it took a couple minutes to get it nice and warm. Luckily Oliver liked the warmth. You can also put a tiny smear of vaseline on the ear where you plan to poke. It will help the blood bead up.

You are going to poke your finger, not your ear. :-D It's the meter you are figuring out. For her ear, put a flashlight behind it. You are looking for the long vein that runs down the ear. You want to poke the little capillaries that run off that vein to the edge of the ear. Here's a picture: Where to poke
 
Dearest Tracey, and, of course, you too, sweet Suzie,

I'm glad she's feeling a bit better with the Pepcid AC and the syringed water.


traceyg said:
No I am not getting enough blood I think that is the problem. I am not sure why. I get just a tiny drop. Any tips.

Are you using the lancet pen or are you using the lancet free hand? Just like Lori, I've always done much better free hand. I need to get up close and personal...

Also, are you gently kneading Suzie's ear? With Nikki, I kind of warm her ear, then knead it a little, warm it some more, knead it some more, etc. Then put a bit of vaseline on it, poke (sometimes have to poke twice in roughly the same spot), knead it a bit more to sort of build up that precious bead of blood. Already have the test strip all the way in the meter (which is very close by), so when I see the blood, grab the meter and sip away. Then, while the meter's counting down, gently wipe her ear off with a tissue and tell her how great she is.


traceyg said:
well I am off to work. got wheels under my feet again so at least I can get back to being the provider. I think my cats should go out and find me a good husband LOL. Doubt they would like anyone. They don't like to share me. . .

LOL! A dear friend here used to dream of marrying a Vet who liked to fix cars on weekends! Right now, I'd be thrilled with a mechanic who likes cats...

You sound better too, dearest Tracey.

Much love and our countless hopeful, healing, hungry hugs and prayers continue for you both,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz, forever dancing in my heart...

PS: Venita
 
lancet pen or are you using the lancet free hand? >>
I am using the pen. Trying to. I have carpal tunnel and I think that may be part of the problem. I did get a good I hate to say it poke with Suzie and a good amount but I still got eras on the meter. I thought perhaps it was the strips but it tests okay with me so I think perhaps it is just the time. I am not sure.

Suzie does seem much better then she was. The Pepcid Ac and the additional water with the syringe is making the difference for now I think. I just wanted to check in and thank you guys. I have a long work day tomorrow but Monday I plan to spend the day here getting this thing right so I can get her numbers. Dr Fry wants me to do a mini curve before Ventia and I take Suzie up.

I would LOVE to see feathers in Suzie water bowl again. That is always how she tells me she had a good day she plays with her feathers and puts them in the bowl. She has been doing it for years. Suzie has a lot of health problems. I am not sure how long she has with all the issues but I sure would love to see her feathers in the bowl again.

Anyway thank you. Suzie and I are going to spend Monday trying to get this right. I feel like an idiot that I can't seem to get readings on her. We got it a few times but can't see to keep it up on a regular basis and I don't want to make a pin cushion out of the poor thing. I also plan to use a few of my other cats as "volunteers" There are ten cat ears in this house. 5 cats so that should help.

Thanks for helping Suzie and I get through this it has made it so much easier!
 
Forgive me if this has already been suggested but you can put the test strip part way into the meter (so as not to actually activate it) then when the blood comes, sip it with the whole meter in hand then just push the strip in. That way it wont time out on you.
hope this helps some.
jeanne
 
Dearest Tracey, and, of course, you too, sweet Suzie,

We're praying for feathers in her water bowl soon...

Much love and countless hopeful, healing hugs for you both,
Deb and Nikki -- and Giz, forever dancing in my heart...
 
I think the strips I was using was the problem. I tried another thing of strips and it seems to be working. We just had a successful test. It is at 127 now about 7:30 gave the Insulin about 3:30 a little after that it was at 328. Then I guess it goes back up. Isn't that hard on the body the yoyo affect. Not sure. that is the lowest reading we got on Suzie. I guess that is good but she sure doesn't look good again tonight. Had her head over the water bowl for a while. Drinking a lot of water. Could be her thyroid. I believe she spit the pill out tonight but I am not sure so I can't give her another one. She is usually good about it but I think she is getting a little tired of being poked give pils etc. . .

Thanks guys for all the advice Suzie and I do apperciate it.
 
Dearest Tracey, and, of course, you too, sweet Suzie,

I'm so glad you figured out the problem!

traceyg said:
We just had a successful test. It is at 127 now about 7:30 gave the Insulin about 3:30 a little after that it was at 328. Then I guess it goes back up. Isn't that hard on the body the yoyo affect. Not sure. that is the lowest reading we got on Suzie. I guess that is good but she sure doesn't look good again tonight.

So, her +4 (4 hours after shot) reading was 127. How much later was the 328? Were you able to get a PS (pre-shot) test before that 127 and what was that number? What dose are you shooting now?

You've described N pretty well, Tracey. (When Giz was on N, she used to peak (go the lowest) between +4 and +5.) For most cats, N just doesn't go the distance. It doesn't last long enough to provide a peak midway between shots. Meaning after they peak, they spend the rest of the 12-hour cycle before their next shot, rising (there could be some time spent hovering...). With Suzie peaking, it appears, around +4 today, it means she has 8 hours of potential rising before her next shot, which I'm guessing is going to be around 3:30 am...

I'll sure be glad when she gets that Lantus script. It has a much gentler curve and is much longer lasting than N. No more yoyos...

Hang in there, you two. You both have a lot of people rooting for you...

Much love and please keep us posted kind of countless hopeful, healing hugs,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz -- forever dancing in my heart...
 
The 300 number was right after I gave her the insulin. I know I am suppose to give it to her before but I couldn't. With the Humlin I am not to worried about her numbers going real low. I don't think it is likely. The insulin was about 3:30 so about 4 hours later was her 127 I think it was. This morning at insulin time she was at 321. The testing seems to be going much better. The other thing I am not doing is using the rice sock. it seems the quicker I do it and get it over with the better she likes it. I understand.

I am concerned about two things with the Lantus. First if we can afford it. Sounds expensive. Right now Suzie's medical care without any extra which there always seems to be is costing me around 250-300 a month. Since I am doing the home testing I can knock off some of the testing at the vets office. IN fact if I switch to Dr Fry all the testing will be done at home. She doesn't believe in doing the test in the office because the cat is under stress and it doesn't give a good reading.

The other thing I am concerned about but would be happy if it happened is Suzie coming out of the diabetes. I have heard so much about low blood sugar and how it can kill. I am not home a lot. I work in the antique business and I have weird hours. I leave home anywhere between 4-5 in the morning work until about 1 then usually leave again in the evening from 2 on. Now with having to give Suzie the insulin I usually have to go to the auctions late after 3. So when her blood sugar would drop the lowest which I suppose would be half way in I wouldn't be home? would I?

My first vet the one I am with now believes in keeping them a little diabetic. At first that made sense to me now it doesn't but the low blood sugar thing scares me. The other thing that scars me is that Dr Fry is 40-50 minutes away. My vet that I have now is only five minutes away. If something happens my vet is much easier to get to. . . .

I guess I could use both but that could get confusing and expensive. . .
 
Dearest Tracey -- sorry, Suzie, mom talk...

traceyg said:
The other thing I am concerned about but would be happy if it happened is Suzie coming out of the diabetes. I have heard so much about low blood sugar and how it can kill. I am not home a lot. I work in the antique business and I have weird hours. I leave home anywhere between 4-5 in the morning work until about 1 then usually leave again in the evening from 2 on. Now with having to give Suzie the insulin I usually have to go to the auctions late after 3. So when her blood sugar would drop the lowest which I suppose would be half way in I wouldn't be home? would I?

Would it be possible for you to adjust her shot schedule to 2am and 2pm? It sounds to me that's about the time(s) you'd be home and might work better for you.

Lantus doesn't have the sharp V curve that N does. It has a much slower onset and much gentler curve. Although every cat is different, I never noticed any significant drop with Nikki when she was on it the first 18 months after she rescued me. And, from what I've read here, it seems, like Levemir, it might actually peak for some cats around 12 hours, or her next PS. In other words, you'd be home...

Yes, it can be expensive; but, if you go with the pens instead of the vials, you'll get more bang for your bucks, so to speak... There's been some good threads here lately on this subject. And, again, from my reading here, sometimes you can purchase just one pen from either a hospital or a vet. With both Lantus and Levemir, I use(d) the pens right till the end. Depending on the dose, that's at least a month... You can also keep your eye on The Supply Closet here for either Lantus deals/coupons, or might even be able to get some free via donation... You never know...

Hang in there, you two...

Much love and countless hopeful, healing hugs continue for you both,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz, forever dancing in my heart...
 
Would it be possible for you to adjust her shot schedule to 2am and 2pm? It sounds to me that's about the time(s) you'd be home and might work better for you.>>
No because of my booths at Reddingers. We have three booths there. They are only open Sundays but they are open until 4. So as it is I have been leaving early and losing money. I am think of doing the 3:30 0 3:30. I wish there was a 24 hour shot.

Dr Fry prefers Prozinc. Does any one here use that and what do you think. Anyway one know the costs?

PS Suzie was looking a little frazzled when I got home but some where on the evening she must have been feeling okay. There IS a feather in her water bowl : ) that means she was playing a little and that would be the first time in WEEKS.
 
PZi is more flexible in terms of dosing, but is about the same cost as Lantus. Here is some info on PZI:>>

Which one would you choose if you had a choice? Or anyone on this board? What do you mean by More flexible?

How should I take her off the Humilin? Slowly or is it a change that can happen over night? I know Dr Fry will advise me when we get Suzie there but I want to get other people's thoughts also.

Does anyone know here?

She had a rought day yesterday again but seems better again today. Such a yo-yo. I have been working a lot of hours trying to get the cash reserves up for her. There are two things I don't want. Not to have the cash to treat her and not to have the cash to leave her go when that time comes which I hope is a long time away.
 
No reason to ween of one insulin just to change to another. When I switch insulins I just started the Lantus (after PZI vet for one and Humulin U for others).
 
traceyg said:
Which one would you choose if you had a choice? Or anyone on this board? What do you mean by More flexible?

Bandit did great on Lantus (which was what my vet prescribed), and it's very popular because a lot of cats go into remission on it. PZI is also popular, and many people swear by that insulin, although I haven't used it.

PZI is more flexible in that Lantus requires a strict 12 hour shooting schedule. For example, if you're shooting at 7 am you need to shoot again at 7pm, and there isn't really any wiggle room. PZI shots don't have to be strictly 12 hours apart, just in somewhere the ballpark. Lantus is slower acting so it takes a few days to really see how it's working and you have take all of these numbers into account when adjusting the dose, where PZI is more where you shoot based on the numbers you have right then. There's no dosing protocol with PZI so you're going to be making dosing decisions with your vet rather than having a guideline to follow.

So it's really what you think is a better fit with your lifestyle. I liked Lantus because I'm one of those people that schedules every moment of my life (including sleep) and I liked having the protocol to refer to when dosing Bandit (I hate winging it).
 
Dearest Tracey, and, of course, you too, Lady Suzie of The Feather,

Did you get a chance to read the ProZinc link Sue gave you? Since you know you're going to be switching insulins, it might be good to read up on both Lantus and ProZinc. Or, just post on both the Lantus and PZI groups and ask...

Remember, this isn't just about sweet Suzie. It's also about you. So, you need to figure out what works for you, okay? Meaning, if ProZinc gives you and your schedule a bit more wiggle room, as Julia mentioned, that may be the way to go. If switching Suzie's shots to 3:30/3:30 works for you, Lantus may be the way to go.

It sounds like Suzie is making progress -- one feather at a time...

Much love and our countless hopeful, healing, encouraging hugs continue for you both,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz -- forever dancing in my heart...
 
one feather at a time...>>
Well it was TWO feathers today. Not sure what got into her but she must of felt pretty good today. Makes me almost want to stay with the Humlin but I know it is only a reprive with that wacky insulin.

There is no way I can do exactly 12 and 12 hours. Not with my wacky business so if I can manage to afford it I guess I will be switching Suzie to the Prozinc. I need the wiggle room in order to afford to care for her. I am already losing a few shows were a make a signifcant amount of my income. I have to leave about 2 in the morning and wouldn't get back until 8 or 9 in the evening and there is no one else her to do it.


This really is hard. I am sure it is for most people. The costs are quite expensive and to lose so much income but hey there were TWO feathers in the bowl today so that is worth all the hard work. Well it is 9 Pm I have to get up at 3 so I best get off line here.

Thanks for hanging in there with us!

I have read about the prozinc but will do more reading on it.
 
FYI. You won't have to be on your own or relying only on your vet if you decide on PZI. We have a PZI support group here with people who will be glad to give you support and dosing advice.
 
FYI. You won't have to be on your own or relying only on your vet if you decide on PZI. We have a PZI support group here with people who will be glad to give you support and dosing advice.>>

Good I am glad to hear that. She seems to be doing pretty good although her number seem high yet. When I give her the Pecid Ac she is okay. When I forget it she gets that look in her eyes. Dr Fry also asked me to skip it a day and see what happens. We talked about Suzie the night we got together to talk about the feral child foundation. She also gets the spikes. Spiky hair. These two things I know are a sign of renal failure but I am hoping it is just the hyperthyroid and the diabetes. I will find out Thursday when Venita and I take her to dr fry.

She again today had two feathers in her water bowl. Cutest thing and I am glad to see it.

Suzie ears are getting soar from testing her just a little. I am not very good at it yet. Is there anything I can put on them to help? Thanks,
 
look in the store for Neosporin Cream with Pain Relief. I put it on both ears every night, fairly good coating and punkin's ears have improved a lot. some people put it on 20 minutes before poking the ear - i just found it was a little goopy and could clog the test strip sip tab, so watch for that if you're trying to do it in advance.

also, make sure you apply pressure for a few seconds after testing so they don't bruise.
 
Thanks I apperciate the tip. So does Suzie. Ventia did tell me to put pressure no the ears I forgot. Her sugar was pretty high this afternoon. I don't like this Humlin the sugar is all over the place. . .
 
Dearest Tracey, and, of course, you too, Lady Suzie of The Feathers,

traceyg said:
She again today had two feathers in her water bowl. Cutest thing and I am glad to see it.

Two feathers? Twice? Oh, be still my heart...



Thursday will be here before you know it, Tracey. And then those N swings will be a thing of the past...

Hang in there, you two.

Much love and our countless hopeful, healing hugs continue for you both,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz, forever dancing in my heart...
 
Took me 5 tries tonight Suzie's poor ears. I have been cleaning out a house and my carpal tunnel is so bad I think that is part of the reason. Actually I got suzie ear and my finger. He ear didn't bleed in that poke but my finger sure did LOL>

I am glad Thursday is coming so soon. She was doing a lot better but I got home from working this afternoon and the poor thing was just laying in the kitchen. I thought she was dead I was afraid to go in. She just looked up at me. I gave her some pepcid Ac did her numbers which were 306. Kind of low for her at that time a day but still high. Then fed her gave her the Insulin. Fed her some more. the only thing she would eat today are the fancy feast appetizers. Not the best food and costly but at least she will eat it. She seemed to be feeling better then. She went out on her porch for a bit which is good.

Her gate or walk is getting worse. Does that go away if the levels get regular? It almost looks like it hurts to for her to walk. She is such a sweet little girl. To me she is young at 9 years old. She was a 9/11 baby. In fact she and four other kittens I rescued got me through those awful days of 9/11 It is hard to believe it will soon be ten years. . .

Well I better scoop the well you know : ) and get ready for work tomorrow.

I am so glad Thursday is coming soon. I am also a little nervous about switching her to another insulin but I know it will be okay. I just have to get the testing down better. Checking in here makes me less nervous about this whole thing. You guys are old pros but I still is a lot for me to digest.

I am glad thought that Suzie was around to have a two feather day : )
 
Dearest Tracey -- sorry, Lady Suzie of The Feathers, but this is mom talk...

Can you try to do two quick pokes, one right after the other? I know that works free hand; but, don't know if that's do-able with a lancet device... Also, if it takes more than two pokes, I humbly suggest you use a new lancet. A fresh lancet will be kinder to Suzie's ear...

Every time you get nervous about switching Suzie's insulin, please remember three things, okay?
1. Remember how she's been on N.
2. Remember you'll have tons of support with either the PZI or Lantus Support Groups, depending on whichever insulin you go with.
3. Remember that you and Suzie are not alone.

I think you should get Suzie a feather boa for her 10th Birthday... I really do.

Much love and our countless hopeful, healing hugs continue for you both,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz, forever dancing in my heart...
 
Can you try to do two quick pokes, one right after the other? I know that works free hand; but, don't know if that's do-able with a lancet device>>

I will try that with the Lancet. this morning for the 3 Am testing I got her with one poke. I was so glad but I could feel my hand this morning so that helped. I have had this for a few years. I have insurance on myself but only very basic so I just have to put up with the Carpal tunnel for now. I feel bad that Suzie also has to put up with it also. However it is just the way it is. I don't wear the brace much anymore. Perhaps that will help with testing Suzie. Not sure if it will give me more control or not. the little things in life.

She does seem better this morning then last night.

You know I never thought about it but a new Lancet is a good idea. Thank goodness my little girl loves me and life so much she put up with me. Now that is a simple thing should have thought about it myself daaaa

I am glad to hear the gate may go away. It would be nice to see suzie do well again for at least a little while. She deserves it she been so through so much that last 6 to 8 weeks.

Thanks for all your help here. I think I am going to try to catch one more hour of sleep before I go off to work. . .
 
think you should get Suzie a feather boa for her 10th Birthday... I really do.
>>


Well her birthdays is in August she was about 8 weeks when 9/11 happened so I will keep my eye out for one. I actually have to get her some new feathers. She is picky about the ones she likes but one she finds one she likes it is like a miner finding gold. he eyes light up and her heart get happy!
 
Dearest Tracey, and, of course, you too, Lady Suzie of The Feathers,

I'm glad your precious Suzie seems better this morning. She really has a wondrous fighting spirit, doesn't she? Just like you, Tracey...

It's a new dance each day...


traceyg said:
I actually have to get her some new feathers. She is picky about the ones she likes but one she finds one she likes it is like a miner finding gold. he eyes light up and her heart get happy!

This just makes my heart smile...


Please remember to take care of you too, dearest Tracey...

Much love and our countless hopeful, healing hugs continue for you both,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz, forever dancing in my heart...
 
it is a new dance every day. Sometimes it seems like every hour. She really not feeling well tonight. The Pepcid Ac doesn't seem to be working anymore. She keeps licking her lips. I think her kidneys are also going south on her. I will find out Thursday when Venita and I take her to the vet.

I am anxious to get to the vet on Thursday and also nervous. what if she does tell me her kidneys are also bad. She has so many issues already and the budget is stretched beyond its limits now with all her care. Not that I mind but just to keep her going I am easy spending 300 a month. I wish I lived in a world were it doesn't matter but I have other cats to care for. my guy with the heart disease needs to get to the vet for a check up. For now I am putting it off and keeping my fingers crossed as he seems to be doing well. He is something else also. He followed me home one day. Been giving me trouble ever since LOL.

I guess I should wait until I know for sure but I sure do worry about it. Suzie and her kidneys. I want to know but yet I don't want to know. She is fighting so hard so much she wants to be here you can tell that. At first I just wanted to get her through the spring. She loves spring! Now I would like to get her through her 10th birthday which is around 9/11. Well she was about 8 weeks ago maybe seven then. However Suzie is not a big fan of summer. It gets awful hot up here on the 4th floor even with AC.

Most of the time she doesn't seem to feel well but when she is feeling well it makes us both so glad. She is a real tropper. I don't know how you all do it. Just trying to juggle the hyper thyroid, high blood pressure and diabetes seems to be a task. it is like living on the edge.


She is worth it though. I recall the first time I saw her hiding under a bush. She was so little I could fit in my hand and have room left. Had to bottle feed her and her bothers and sisters. He mom was an outside feral cat. A true feral cat. They were all very sick. I couldn't catch the mom to save her. She looked just like Suzie.

Actually it is funny how I started helping out ferals. I brought some cat nip for my old cat lady at the time. I also bought some mint tea. I planted the cat nip inside the mint tea outside so I thought . . . I watched them grow. Suzie's mom showed up and would lay in the mint tea all day. it was strange though because I would pick it to make mint tea and it really didn't taste like mint. Lady didn't bother with the catnip inside. Well to make a long story short I planted the cat nip outside. took me a while to realize it. Almost ten years later I am still doing what I can for the feral colony here in the neighbor. Didn't even know they existed until I planted the catnip outside by mistake and I had lived there for quite a few years. Ferals are good hiders.

I hope Suzie isn't starting with renal failure. I can't do subqs. I have tried it before with other cats. I hope my gut is wrong! Just blabbering getting myself and Suzie through until Thursday. At least I will now what I am dealing with then hopefully the entire picture. . . thanks for hold my hand and her paw. . .
 
aw, hugs. it's hard having your kitter struggling - hard for her and hard for you. i liked reading your stories about her and the feral cats, though. love her feather fetish! ;-) one of my friends did feral cat rescue for a while. they put the adoptable cats in the local Petco and my friend took care of them while in the store.

you're doing a great job taking care of Suzie. I hope you have some good news coming on Thursday.

btw, many, many people on her feed their cats Fancy Feast. I feed it to both of mine - the 2 year old's diarrhea problems are finally gone and my diabetic 13 year old seems pretty good on it. I'm not sure why you don't think it's ok, but it seems pretty good and they like it. especially with a picky eater, or a sick little one, sometimes it's just important that they eat something!

i'm thinking about you and wishing well to both you and your girl.
 
My dearest Tracey, and, of course, you too, Lady Suzie of The Feathers,

It's okay to blabber, honey. It can be cathartic voicing your worries and fears... And, we're all here to listen and boost you up when you're down, just as we're all here to celebrate your daily victories with your precious Suzie... And, there have been many! She is, indeed, a trooper! Just like her loving Mom...

There is an old expression, "Don't borrow trouble." I used to think it was kind of dumb. I mean, who would want to borrow trouble? It has a way of finding us, after all... But, now, I think it might not be so dumb. Why? Because now I think it's a reminder to live in the moment and not project...





Like Julie1220, I also like reading your stories about Suzie and your feral cats. You're right, they are good hiders! And I loved your unintended catnip/mint tea switch! Was wondering why a feral mom cat would be laying around all day in a bed of mint tea... Have to ask though, just what does catnip tea taste like? And, did you find yourself rolling around on the living room rug or going into crazy moods? ;o)

My all-time favorite catnip story came to us on the old Board, courtesy of Diane and Velvet PuffPaws... It seems that every Saturday afternoon (if memory serves me correctly...), Diane would put out catnip on the living room rug for Velvet and his two furry friends. She'd then turn on the stereo and play Led Zeppelin. The image of three cats rolling around in catnip to a Zep soundtrack is forever embedded in both my memory bank and heart! And, brings a smile to this day...





Hang in there, you two. And, Tracey, please know it is truly an honor holding your hand and Suzie's sweet paw...

Much love and our countless hopeful, healing hugs, thoughts, and prayers continue for you both,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz...
 
ah Tracey, there's so much to learn. Last night someone told me to try the ointment version of neosporin with pain relief and it wouldn't soak up the blood like the cream does. Try that to numb little Suzie's ears a few minutes before you poke her. it substitutes for the vaseline.

now i have to go and get some of that!

hope you're having a great day.
 
Well poor Suzie has a new thing now. Her one pupil is smaller then the other one for quite a while after she wakes up. I talked to Dr Fry today. The vet Venetia and I are going to on Thursday. She said it could be the kidneys but it could be some other things. It could also be a tumor. It would make sense. Just get us through until we get there on Thursday. At least Suzie and I will know what we are dealing with then.

I have no problem with Fancy feast food. I think it is pretty good quality. What I worry about with Suzie is she only wants to fancy feast appetizers. They are not meant to be eaten like a meal. They have no vitamins etc. . . I am worried she is not getting the nutrient she needs.



I also like reading your stories about Suzie and your feral cats. You're right, they are good hiders! >>
Yes I used to be able to catch them bare handed. I am older now not sure if I could do that. I recall the day I rescue Suzie and the other kittens. I caught them all by hand. That was a job with Feral kittens. Her brother was pretty easy. He decide to run over the a corner of a building he tucked himself in the corner and squeezed his eyes shut real tight like if he couldn't see me I couldn't see him. He never forgave me for taking him away from his mommy. However 9 years later he is a happy fat cat living with a friend of mine.

I found blue about 4 years ago. He was living in the projects and I was going to a flea market there. I was older then and I was run over by a bus about 6-7 years ago so I am not as fast. He is a south side kitty. I tell him that is why he is so bad. He saw me and started to come to me. he was also under a bush. I went to him he backed off. Then I talked to him. I told him I am told old to chase you. He looked at me and started to come forward. then back. then forward. He did this for a few minutes. I told him I am to old to chase you. I turned my back and started to walk away keeping an eye on him. He just kind of sat there. I walked for about 1/4 of a block. I guess he figure I was serious because he came running and jump in my arms. I asked around if he belonged to anyone they all said he was a stray. At the time I had my hands full really didn't want another one.

I thought I would adopt him out though. I had a really nice home for him but I never let them go until they have been to the vet and have shots fixed etc. Anyway I found out he had a hole in his heart. The family that was going to take him didn't want him. So I kept him. My vet Dr Jones said he would probably only live 6 months well 4 perhaps 5 years later he is still going strong. I gave him vitamins etc. The hole healed up. He still has cardiomypathy but he does well. Rescuing cats has been an expensive habit but one well worth it. I keep the ones with major health problems. Finds homes for the others. No one wants the ones that have health problems.

Sometime I will tell you about the cat that I had to hand 3 flight up with one hand from a fire-escape to rescue. Well why not now. He was a little kitten that was stuck in the window of a abandoned building. he was lucky I heard him and found him. The fire escape was to far away for him to get to it. I couldn't get to him any other way but to hand from the bottom of the fire escape and swing myself over and grab him with the other hand. I used my legs to get us back up to the top of the fire escape. He lives with a friend of mine now. That was about 7-8 years ago. Bernie named him lucky because the way he was rescued. Funny thing is about 4 years ago Bernie moved out the Los Vegas when he retired. He took lucky with him. A good name for a cat in Vegas. He also took another one with him I rescued. He named her FIFI.

So you see I am not used to being the one that needs help. I am used to being the rescuer.
 
ah, well, to everything in life there is a season. sometimes we are the rescuers, sometimes we need to be rescued and for others to be the rescuer. i was on bedrest during my pregnancy with my youngest child for 17 weeks - had to let others do everything, including helping my 2 year old in the bathroom and my 5 year old with everything else. it's a humbling experience to be the recipient, isn't it. sounds like you've done a wonderful thing with all of those cats. i hate that so many cats get abandoned and dumped - it's just plain wrong & there is no excuse for it. every cat i've ever had has been a rescue, and they've all been wonderful.

let us know what the vet says on Thursday. i'm going to be gone Thurs-Sun but will look for your post when i get back.

take care!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top