Re: Super Low Reading After A Lot of High Ones, Dosage Quest
Glad you and he are doing alright. Your dose should be okay, but if you can, check around that 6 hour point.
Here's some info for your tool kit.
No shot if under 200 at shot time. Retest, without feeding, to make sure the number is rising and over 200. Then, if you can shoot, shoot a reduced dose.
If you get a long cycle with ProZinc with a late nadir, it generally is a signal the dose is too high.
If you intervene for low numbers with high carb food or syrup, you can expect the next preshot number to be high. The glucose raises the level for that cycle and usually the next one. If you get a low number (in the 40-60 range, the next cycle(s) can be a bounce so the next preshot number can be high. That's when the liver releases extra glucose because it is not used to the lower numbers. In both of these cases, you want to give a lower dose than the cycle before - regardless of the number.
We consider a cat well regulated if they test in the 200s at preshot and double digits at nadir (but above 40 ) on insulin.
We consider a cat in remission if they range from the 40s -120s with the majority of the time in double digits, off insulin.
When you go to your thread, choose "first unread post' - that will give you all the responses since you read your thread last.
Have I given you the ProZinc document? It has lots of good information and links.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=32799