Super Low Reading After A Lot of High Ones, Dosage Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jeremy & Henry the Cat

Member Since 2012
Henry has been really up and down lately. His 10:30pm (injection time) reading was only 50! I am thinking of just going back to one unit instead of three for this injection. Any thoughts? Henry's spreadsheet is in my signature, if you have any question about recent readings.
 
Re: Super Low Reading After A Lot of High Ones, Dosage Quest

You don't shoot at 50. He's been giving you very low numbers, non-diabetic numbers, and if he is down from your previous test number, there is no way you should give him any insulin. Please don't give him a shot......I don't care if it is just 1 unit. You don't shoot at 50.
 
Re: Super Low Reading After A Lot of High Ones, Dosage Quest

If you've given him some food earlier and he went up a little and then came back down, that dose of 3 units was too much and he may be getting some long duration out of it. Yes, he may be back up in the morning but if you give him any insulin on a 50 you will either be up all night trying to stop a hypo from happening or you'll be going to an ER for them to help. That previous shot apparently is still working in his system OR for some reason unknown he is going OTJ.
 
Re: Super Low Reading After A Lot of High Ones, Dosage Quest

I gave him a shot with 1 unit before I got your reply... now I'm scared! He's down to 45 an hour after his shot.
 
Re: Super Low Reading After A Lot of High Ones, Dosage Quest

Jeremy. Are you still on here? Do you have honey?

I'm still really new so I'm going to go find someone far more experienced to help you.
 
Re: Super Low Reading After A Lot of High Ones, Dosage Quest

Jeremy

A lantus dose can affect up to six subsequent cycles so even though you shot 1u tonight instead of 3u, it's going to act similar to 13u. I saw your +1 is 45. Typically, a +1 should be higher due to a food spike.

I'd like you to abort this cycle as quickly as possible. Do you have high carb canned food there? If so, please give him a couple tsps of the GRAVY on the food with honey or karo and retest in 20 minutes, ok? If the numbers are not going UP, do it again. You want to
continue to do this until he's up. However, HC and karo wear off so then we want to be sure you get some LC food in him to keep him up.

We need to give gravy and karo now in order to not get him too full. Please let me know what you've fed him so far.
 
Re: Super Low Reading After A Lot of High Ones, Dosage Quest

I gave him some gravy about half an hour ago, and some honey between then and now. I just tested him again and it's at 96. So it's going up. BTW he's on Prozinc, not Lantus. Gah! I'm almost out of test strips though. :sad:
 
Re: Super Low Reading After A Lot of High Ones, Dosage Quest

Jeremy

Thanks for letting me know he's on ProZinc. You might want to put that on your spreadsheet :-D

I'm going to PM Carl because he's our ProZinc guru. I'm glad Henry is up but it's important that you stay very vigilant as the high carb will wear off. It looks to me like he was clearing a bounce today which is going to cause the numbers to run a little lower.

I'd keep checking him every half hour if he will let you. I don't know anything about nadirs for ProZinc but you just want to be sure he is up and is not going to turn back around on you, ok? Gravy and karo will get him up but it's the LC that will help him stay up.

Great job!
 
Re: Super Low Reading After A Lot of High Ones, Dosage Quest

He's got LC food in his bowl, he's just not very interested in eating right now! He's actually acting completely normal. I'll check him again in about 20. He should cooperate enough.
 
Re: Super Low Reading After A Lot of High Ones, Dosage Quest

yes...just be sure you stay on top of it for when the gravy/karo poops out....it can take 1-2 hours and numbers can come back down.

I hope you can get him safely up high enough that you can rest but I'd test him at least every half hour until he's way up or he's past nadir. If he'll let you.
 
Re: Super Low Reading After A Lot of High Ones, Dosage Quest

I'll stay up with him and check him as often as I need to. I'm about to test again now. Thanks for all the help.
 
Re: Super Low Reading After A Lot of High Ones, Dosage Quest

Sorry I was asleep last night, Jeremy. I hope he made it in higher numbers overnight and you both got some sleep. I hope you read this before you shoot this morning.

Remember, no shot if he is below 200. Likely he will be high because of the high carb last night. He may also bounce higher - a reaction of his liver throwing additional glucose at those low numbers.But you still want to shoot that one unit, if he is over 200. The three units was way too high, giving him low numbers longer than the 12 hours.
 
Re: Super Low Reading After A Lot of High Ones, Dosage Quest

Morning Jeremy,

Just stopping by to see how you and Henry are today. Hope all went well last night. I know you had to be pretty scared. I've been there LOTS the last week.

Hope you have a good uneventful day today. :-D
 
Re: Super Low Reading After A Lot of High Ones, Dosage Quest

He tested at 398 this morning, and got a dosage of 1.5 units. So I hope that low reading nonsense is over for awhile!
 
Re: Super Low Reading After A Lot of High Ones, Dosage Quest

AWESOME! Sounds like you did GREAT last night.

I hope it goes well for you today and that the sucky low numbers are over. But I can't speak on what to really expect since I don't have that much knowledge on FD.
 
Re: Super Low Reading After A Lot of High Ones, Dosage Quest

Glad you and he are doing alright. Your dose should be okay, but if you can, check around that 6 hour point.

Here's some info for your tool kit.

No shot if under 200 at shot time. Retest, without feeding, to make sure the number is rising and over 200. Then, if you can shoot, shoot a reduced dose.

If you get a long cycle with ProZinc with a late nadir, it generally is a signal the dose is too high.

If you intervene for low numbers with high carb food or syrup, you can expect the next preshot number to be high. The glucose raises the level for that cycle and usually the next one. If you get a low number (in the 40-60 range, the next cycle(s) can be a bounce so the next preshot number can be high. That's when the liver releases extra glucose because it is not used to the lower numbers. In both of these cases, you want to give a lower dose than the cycle before - regardless of the number.

We consider a cat well regulated if they test in the 200s at preshot and double digits at nadir (but above 40 ) on insulin.
We consider a cat in remission if they range from the 40s -120s with the majority of the time in double digits, off insulin.

When you go to your thread, choose "first unread post' - that will give you all the responses since you read your thread last.

Have I given you the ProZinc document? It has lots of good information and links.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=32799
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top