Super confusing PMPS, is my meter working?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Heyzeus

Member Since 2021
Hey again,
Probably getting tired of seeing my face lol...
Anyways, at Lionheart's AMPS he read 177 and after a 30 minute stall he was at 200 so I went ahead and gave him his dose of vetsulin - he didn't dip below 90 that I caught but I did end up being busier than I wanted and couldn't get as many readings in.
Now tonight, at his typical PMPS time it read 147 (technically +11 for this dose). I took it an hour later to align better with his delayed dosage from earlier, but he went down to 134 somehow.
He's acting completely normal... well, back to his old fussy independent attitude before he started showing signs of diabetes 2 months ago. He's eating fine, drinking a bit of water outside of the wet food, peeing, pooping, negative ketones, etc.
We do have a vet appointment in the morning so I'll be sure to mention this turn of events, but I was wondering if you guys had any thoughts considering this place has gotten Lion feeling much better than he was after a week with the vet.
 
Check your test strips with control solution. I’ve seen bad strips cause all sorts of whacky readings. Control solution is basically fake blood with a very specific BG value. It should match the reference range printed in the strip vial. If it’s outside of that range the strips are most likely bad.
 
Check your test strips with control solution. I’ve seen bad strips cause all sorts of whacky readings. Control solution is basically fake blood with a very specific BG value. It should match the reference range printed in the strip vial. If it’s outside of that range the strips are most likely bad.
Ok, thanks! I'll make sure to look for the control sol'n when I go out today.
Got checked at the vet this morning and he was at 191 with their instruments plus the stress of enduring the drive, so at least it doesn't seem wildly off for now.

All BG meters have an allowable 20% variance. 147 and 134 are essentially the same, given meter variance.
That would make sense haha. Good info to know on that, thanks :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top