Sunny's numbers are rising again despite increased dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

Holly and Sunny Bear

Member Since 2021
I can't understand why Sunny's BG numbers are rising again when they were looking very promising last week. I've raised his dose by .25 to 2U BID, but his numbers don't seem to be affected much. Just began his 3rd cycle on 2U for tonight's dose.

We're going out of town for 10 days beginning next Friday, and have a sitter coming to stay here, and I'm afraid I won't have any idea what dose to have him on while we're away so that he's safe but also not riding high. The sitter will test when she can but won't be here during his daytime nadir hours.

He does need a dental soon as he has a bad tooth being resorbed that looks pretty nasty and maybe that's what's giving the blood glucose so much grief. The vet advised waiting awhile for the dental since he was just diagnosed in April, but I'm now thinking we better get that done as soon as we're back from our trip.
 
Hi Holly
If you are following the SLGS method you need to hold each dose for 7 days unless the BG drops under 90.
You only gave the 1.75 U four cycles which is not enough.
As far as the vacation dose is concerned, post one or two days before you go away and we can have a look and tell you what dose would be safe to give. We usually recommend a reduced dose to what is being given.

I would also get the tooth problem fixed up when you return from vacation as bad teeth can certainly play havoc with the BGs.
 
Thanks @Bron and Sheba (GA)
Do you think I should stay at 2u this week or bump it back down to 1.75? I didn't realize I needed to hold the dose for a week.
Normally I would say stay at the dose you are giving now, but seeing you are going away next Friday for 10 days, I think I would go back to 1.75 U and see how that goes. You did get some blue Nadirs on 1.75 U dose and it would be good to see how it goes with 7 days at that dose.
 
That's right. He's not ever had an issue with ketones. I measure them with a glucometer that also measures ketones (with different strips) and he's always been between .3 and .7. I added a column to the spreadsheet for those.

Thank you for your advice! We'll go back to 1.75 for the pre vacation dose and we'll see how that goes.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top