SunnyBear AMPS 390| +4 230| +8 74| +10.5 102| +12 137 +12.5 137 +13 167

Holly and Sunny Bear

Member Since 2021
Earlier post in the main forum:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...osing-and-syringe-advice.252521/#post-2849001

Hello there Lantus Forum! Sunny and I are new to Lantus - just switched last night from PZ.

I started him on a reduced dose. He had been on PZ 2.5U and I started his Lantus at +2U
Last night he rode steady in the pinks and blues but today as you can see, he got down to 74 at +8. I fed him a lc snack at that time and he's coming up. About to do his PMPS test.

I did not expect to see his numbers in the greens yet since he hasn't had time to build up his depot, and I'm wondering if this means he's likely to go lower over the next few cycles since he's still building his depot. Do I just keep him on this dose of 2U until I see a drop below 50? I know that's the guideline for the TR protocol - but wasn't sure if that applies to his very first week on lantus while stocking his first depot. ?

We may need some help with his PMPS number also --- momentarily..... (10 mins away).

thank you!
Holly and SunnyBear
 
Welcome to the ISG (Insulin Support Group)

I hope you like the switch to Lantus. A couple of basics since Lantus is very different than PZ.
  • I'm assuming you are using U100 syringes vs the U40 syringes for PZ. We do not recommend using the pens for dosing.
  • You will want to hold your dose for 5 - 7 days in order for the depot to form and stabilize. We may need to revisit this if SunnyBear decides to drop lower. (Some cats have a marked initial response to a change in insulin so it's not clear what will happen in the nest day or so.)
  • You will want to take a look at the dosing methods sticky. We have 2 approaches to dosing -- Tight Regulation and Start Low Go Slow. TR is the more aggressive method and involves shooting lower numbers, dose reductions at a BG of 50, and holding the doses for 3 - 5 days. It has published research to support its effectiveness. SLGS was developed here and is less demanding. Reductions occur if number fall below 90 and doses are held for a week.
  • Once you decide on which dosing method you prefer, please add that information to your signature.
  • Lantus dosing is based on the nadir, not on pre-shot values. You do not use sliding scale dosing. This will be redundant given the frequency with which you test but you need at minimum. your pre-shot tests and at least one additional test each cycle.
The sticky notes at the top of the board have a great deal of reference information. They probably have an overwhelming amount of information so please ask questions. A switch from a non-depot to a depot insulin takes a bit of getting used to so please let us know how we can help.

I just saw your PMPS. With Lantus, if you opt for TR, you will initially use 150 as your post and ask for input pre-shot number. We use 200 for SLGS. Remember to include the 137 as your +12 (include it as 137 @ +12 in the PMPS entry) on your spreadsheet. You'll then include the +12.5 reading in the same place. You'll need to manually fill in the color coding.
 
Yes I am using u100 syringes ( don't have the ones with the 1/2U marks yet - those are coming in the mail
I have been using TR for my prozinc dosing -- and still am for the lantus - that's in my signature
I haven't shot his PM dose yet. He's still 137 at +12.5 - still stalling
 
I see this in the Lantus stickies: When following the Tight Regulation Protocol, you'll want to become data ready and learn to safely shoot preshot numbers between 50mg/dL - 150mg/dL.
But no I do not consider myself data ready since we just switched to lantus yesterday. Don't know what to do:nailbiting:
 
Thanks @Hshray! Yes we're seeing great numbers already! :) I'm excited
I'm just perplexed now with what to do with this low preshot #. My insinct tells me not to give a full dose -- but my insinct is still based off of PZ so I don't know what the h I'm doing now. LOL
Thank you for tagging the others! ;)
 
Thanks @Hshray! Yes we're seeing great numbers already! :) I'm excited
I'm just perplexed now with what to do with this low preshot #. My insinct tells me not to give a full dose -- but my insinct is still based off of PZ so I don't know what the h I'm doing now. LOL
Thank you for tagging the others! ;)
Yeah I know what you mean. Generally with Lantus you shoot low to stay low, but definitely harder to decide since it’s his very first cycle. It’s good that you’re already familiar with testing so much though. Maybe you’ll start earning reductions really quickly! You may want to change your thread title to start with the ? icon so people scrolling can quickly see that you have an unanswered question.
 
Thank you @Hshray! I went ahead and gave him the full dose since he's coming up. I'll keep a close eye on him tonight.
Thanks for the tip about the question mark too - not used to this forum yet.
 
If you go to WalMart to get syringes, these are the ones you want. They come in different packages, but as long as they're the 3/10ml, 30 or 31 gauge insulin syringes, they have the half unit marks. The package will have a purple stripe
upload_2021-9-5_23-18-9.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-9-5_23-18-9.jpeg
    upload_2021-9-5_23-18-9.jpeg
    60.9 KB · Views: 8,610
Back
Top