Sumo's new numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mary and Sumo

Member Since 2011
Hi, I need advice on what to do. It has been 2 weeks today since Sumo was diagnosed. I have gotten another high pmps tonight (436) I have held steady with his 1 u of Pro Zinc (except for the one day that I overshot a 1.5u bid) Anyway, is 2 wks enough time for his body to adjust to the 1 unit of Pro Zinc ? I am getting frustrated with his high readings. One thing I wanted to mention is that I have been trying new wet foods almost everyday.(no dry) They all are high protein, low carbs from Binky's list. I thought perhaps the varied diet everyday was possibly creating havoc in his system, therefore high bg readings?? Because of my work schedule, I cannot get a +6 or even a +8 until the weekend. I did do a curve last weekend that was flat. I set my alarm to get a late reading last night, and I will be able to get some +4,+6 and +8's this weekend. I thought that I would switch him to an all FF wet diet for several days and see if that effects the numbers. I would very much like to increase his insulin if you think it is time. I have my patience hat on, so I am willing to try what ever you guys would recommend. Any information is always appreciated.
Thanks, Mary
 
Hi Mary, I'm not comfortable giving dosing advice but hopefully someone else will be along shortly to help.
 
As long as all the new foods you've been trying are low carb, they should all be having a positive impact. Even if some are 3% and some are 8% carbs, they'd all be "lowering" and shouldn't be causing havoc or wonky numbers.
I think a dose increase is appropriate. I would do so in nothing bigger than a .25 unit increment. But probably the best thing to do is not increase until the weekend when you are able to get mid-cycle tests in. That way you'll see what the dose is doing over 12 hours, and have a better picture if it is too high, or not enough.

Other's will advise soon, I'm sure!

And yes to your first question.... 2 weeks is sufficient time for him to adjust to the same dose. We usually suggest a week or so at the same dose. You've been doing a wonderful job showing patience, by the way.

Carl
 
Two weeks is enough time for the dose to settle in but without mid cycle tests it's hard to know which way to go.

I can only do curves on the wekends too so I understand how frustrating that can be. Hang in there, it might take a little longer but you will get there, I did.

Low carb is low carb, the flavors shouldn't effect his bg's. Although for Harley any flavor of Friskies will raise his bg's so ECID.

I think for Sumo the best time to raise his dose would be on a Saturday morning when you can test the cycle and see how he does, that's what I do.
 
Hi Barbara, I checked out your ss and see that you are dosing at 1.40 and 1.60 etc. Are you using a u100 syringes? Also, when dosing you mention "fat" after the number. What does that mean?
Mary
 
Mary, don't follow my dosing. I'm on an "experiment" right now since Thumper has been so difficult. But, to answer your questions. Yes, I use the U100 syringes with the conversion chart. Do you have that? It's much easier to dose in smaller increments with the U100's. If you don't have them and would like to try them I can give you the UPC for the Relion ones from Wal Mart. The "fat" just means it's somewhere between the #'s ....really just a best guess since I think it's hard to see. The "fat" 1.4 I shot tonight was between the 3.5 & 4.0 mark on the U100 syringe.
 
Mary,
Just for some perspective...
A 1.4 would be right on the 3.5 line on a u100
A 1.5 would be exactly halfway in between the 3.5 and the 4.0 on a u100 (equates to 3.75).
So a fat 1.4 is just a smidge less. Other times you'll see a "skinny" dose. A F1.4 and a S1.5 are the same thing. People say "F" to communicate an agressive dose, and "S" to communicate a conservative dose.

Carl
 
Mary, are you using, or plan on using the u100's?
If so, it will give you a lot better control over what I call "micro-dose" adjustments. Earlier, I suggested .25 increments, mostly because I used u40 syringes, and that's the best I could "eyeball". I never tried skinnies and fats. The u100s would have been much easier to use, but I didn't know about them at the time.

Carl
 
Hi Carl, Currently I am using only the u40 syringes, but have been told about perfecting your dose amount by changing to u100's. I have a chart and someone on the board that is in my area can instruct me on those syringes. I am with you on the .25 increase using the u40's, I believe I can eyeball that dose, but anything smaller, I believe I would need to switch syringes. I think I will start the increased dose on Sat, and monitor readings through out the day.
Mary
 
Hi Barbara, yes I would like the UPC for the Relion syringes that you had mentioned. Do I need a prescription for these? I have a Walmart close by. Do you recommend their meter as well? Do you have an opinion of the Bayer Contour meter? I have a new one that I will start using in a few days, but recall reading something about these. Not sure if it was good or bad? Do you know ?

Mary
 
I use the Relion meter & have from the begining because the meter was less than 10.00 and the strips are only around 36.00 for 100, you can also get 50 for I think around 20.00. I don't know about any of the other meters but I'm sure it's fine if you can afford the strips. I know a lot of the meters are free but it's not worth it in the long run due to the cost on the strips, IMO. The syringes I use are the Relion 3/10 ml (doses up to 30 units) 31 gauge 8 mm (5/16") needles. I had no idea what I was doing when I went looking for these & I can tell you I think the Wal Mart people knew less than that so good luck! :lol: The needle on these syringes is shorter than the U40 syringes which have a 1/2 inch needle. That works better for me since Thumper started fussing about her shot. Some people don't like them though & some say there might be an problem with absorption, just like ECID I think EBID (every bean is different). :smile: These also have the 1/2 unit marking which is important. The UPC on the bag is: 6 81131 31179 3 make sure you ask to see the actual bag cause for some reason the one on the box is different. If they will sell you just one bag you can try them out to see if you like the short needle but the whole box is only around 13.00 (that's 100 syringes). These syringes do sometimes get air bubbles but you can usually work around that by just drawing out a little extra insulin & flicking the syringe to get the bubble to the top then shooting it out over the sink. Geez, I've written a book. Good luck finding them! Make sure you use that conversion chart with the U100's!!
 
Oh, it depends on your state or sometimes just the store you go to. I've also found some people ask for a prescription & some don't. :roll: The one time they asked when I told them it was for my cat they just called my vet's office.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top