? Summer is high today. Whats going on??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Summers Mom

Member Since 2017
Summers amps was 243 and she has been rising since. She has done pretty good the last few days showing some blues but now this. What is happening? I make sure i dont give fur shots because she is shaved so i know she got her shot. Whats up with her today ya think?
 
Summers amps was 243 and she has been rising since. She has done pretty good the last few days showing some blues but now this. What is happening? I make sure i dont give fur shots because she is shaved so i know she got her shot. Whats up with her today ya think?
I think you're seeing a mild level of bouncing in reaction to the blues she's had. Bouncing is very common and it can generally take up to 6 cycles for it to stop so you can see the true effect of a dose - ie., the nadir that dose is capable of producing.
 
She got some low blues in the pm cycle, it looks like a bounce to me. When Asia bounces, sometimes it looks like I didn't give her insulin, the numbers just keep going up until it clears.
 
I think you're seeing a mild level of bouncing in reaction to the blues she's had. Bouncing is very common and it can generally take up to 6 cycles for it to stop so you can see the true effect of a dose - ie., the nadir that dose is capable of producing.


So if this bounce takes up to 6 cycles, what do i do if she is still bouncing and she has been on a certain dose for several days and maybe needs to be increased? What do i do? Did that make sense? lol I hope so.
 
And i have read about bouncing but don't fully understand it. What makes them go low like summer then stay high all of a sudden? I know i have read their body is trying to adjust to the lower numbers?? But what makes them do all these high numbers in a row? I'm sorry its just confusing to me.
 
So if this bounce takes up to 6 cycles, what do i do if she is still bouncing and she has been on a certain dose for several days and maybe needs to be increased? What do i do? Did that make sense? lol I hope so.
The lowest she's given you at her current dose is high enough for you to ignore the bouncing and continue with the 0.25 u increases as per the TR protocol. If/when she starts giving you dark green and then goes into a bounce phase you'll have to proceed more cautiously by waiting out the bounce to see if dark green reappears.
 
And i have read about bouncing but don't fully understand it. What makes them go low like summer then stay high all of a sudden? I know i have read their body is trying to adjust to the lower numbers?? But what makes them do all these high numbers in a row?
Here's something I wrote a long time ago about bouncing. Maybe it'll help:

Here's how it works:
  1. BG goes low OR lower than usual OR drops too quickly.
  2. Kitty's body panics and thinks there's danger (OMG! My BG is too low!).
  3. Complex physiologic processes take glycogen stored in the liver (I think of it as "bounce fuel"), convert it to glucose and dump it into the bloodstream to counteract the perceived dangerously low BG.
  4. These processes go into overdrive in kitties who are bounce prone and keep the BG propped up varying lengths of time (AKA bouncing).
  5. Bounce prone kitty repeats this until his body learns that healthy low numbers are safe. Some kitties are slow learners.
  6. Too high a dose of insulin can keep them bouncing over and over until the " bounce fuel" runs out and they crash - ie., have a hypo episode. That's why we worry so much about kitties that have had too high a starting dose prescribed by the vet and the owner isn't home testing.
 
The lowest she's given you at her current dose is high enough for you to ignore the bouncing and continue with the 0.25 u increases as per the TR protocol. If/when she starts giving you dark green and then goes into a bounce phase you'll have to proceed more cautiously by waiting out the bounce to see if dark green reappears.
Thank you!
 
Here's something I wrote a long time ago about bouncing. Maybe it'll help:

Here's how it works:
  1. BG goes low OR lower than usual OR drops too quickly.
  2. Kitty's body panics and thinks there's danger (OMG! My BG is too low!).
  3. Complex physiologic processes take glycogen stored in the liver (I think of it as "bounce fuel"), convert it to glucose and dump it into the bloodstream to counteract the perceived dangerously low BG.
  4. These processes go into overdrive in kitties who are bounce prone and keep the BG propped up varying lengths of time (AKA bouncing).
  5. Bounce prone kitty repeats this until his body learns that healthy low numbers are safe. Some kitties are slow learners.
  6. Too high a dose of insulin can keep them bouncing over and over until the " bounce fuel" runs out and they crash - ie., have a hypo episode. That's why we worry so much about kitties that have had too high a starting dose prescribed by the vet and the owner isn't home testing.

Yes! Thank You Again!!
 
Just continue to follow the protocol. It's probably too early to see the results of the increase but you do enough tests to catch the drop of the BG numbers. You'll see better numbers sooner or later.
 
Another Question. Can they just plunge low all of a sudden when bouncing?
When they are clearing a bounce, if it happens to be at the end of a cycle, if you shoot they can gather quite a bit of momentum, it doesn't mean that you shouldn't shoot, rather that you need to be aware of it so that you can monitor and feed if you need to keep the numbers up.

In this particular instance on cycle 2 of this 3unit dose Summer got down to 117, and that's triggered a bounce. At cycle 2 we wouldn't expect the depot to be full yet, so it's likely that you are not seeing the full effect of the 3unit dose yet. So when she starts to clear this we might hope that she could make it into dark green.
It looks like she took 5 cycles to clear the last bounce that was induced by the nice blues she saw on 11/22. It will be interesting to see if she takes as long to clear this one or if she clears it quicker.
 
Another Question. Can they just plunge low all of a sudden when bouncing?
Yes they can! Look at Asia's SS, she was on a bounce last pm cycle and this morning and see what she did today? :joyful: I think really they can do whatever they feel like! You can try to predict and think you know what's coming and they can do that, but they can also do something different entirely.

If I had to guess by your SS, I don't think Summer is likely to pull something right now like Asia did to me today, but the more low numbers in blues and greens, she will probably fight it a bit with bouncing because she's so used to the Summery yellows.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top