Sugar levels went down too fast - what should I do?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tininha & Juno

Member Since 2014
I just got a reading of 103 6 hours after the evening shot. This is a too low value for him at this time of the cycle. He usually has lower values around 10 or 11 hours after the shot and I'm too worried his glucose values go too low. He has been on 1.25u on Levemir, but in the past days I have decreased the dose to 1u, but it seems it's too high. What should I do right now? Any advise to avoid the values to go too low?

Thank you.
 
1) What meter type - human or pet-specific? Looked at your older posts and saw you are using a human glucometer.
2) Do you have any Karo or high carb, gravied food?

I see he is down to 88 mg/dL. I might start steering the numbers as described below.

You may want to steer the numbers by giving 1-2 teaspoons of high carb food OR low carb food with a few drops of Karo/other syrup on it.
Then wait 20-30 minutes and re-test.
If still dropping or flat, repeat.

High carb wears off fast, so you'll need to monitor until past nadir and 3 steadily rising numbers
 
My Neko is also on Levemir, and she often isn't consistent about when her nadir lands. Sometimes it's earlier, sometimes it's later. I wouldn't consider 88 a dangerously low number. I would observe by testing hourly, but not intervene with high carb food until Juno gets closer to 50, unless you need to get to sleep. You could try feeding some low or medium carb food now to try to encourage him to surf in the 80's. Those are nice healing numbers.

The one thing that's difficult about using Levemir is that often you will be faced with a lower number at preshot. Neko often nadirs at or near preshot, but I know I've got over 4 hours until onset and I'll be feeding so I know she'll keep on rising. I noticed you've missed a number of shots when the preshot is lowish. If you are going to be home and you see a low preshot, have high carb food and plenty of strips, it's an opportunity to see how Juno will do. Neko has had a few cycles where she started in the 80's and varied by no more than 10 points the entire cycle.
 
I needed to get some sleep and I was too worried his numbers would go too low, so I decided to give him a bit of food with gravy. It seems he did well so far, but his AMPS now is 97. What dose do you recommend?

Thank you once again.
 
Nice stretch of green last night for Juno. :mrgreen: I would have shot 1.0, but then, I shot a 99 yesterday morning. If you are uncomfortable doing that, you should find a dose where you can keep shooting the same dose twice a day. You could try a .75U dose.
 
I had to go back to sleep, so I didn't give him the morning shot. His values at AMPS +4 are 132. Not bad given that I leave him the bowl of food throughout the day. In the evening, I will give him 0.75u. Otherwise, I keep skipping shots if he keeps having values like these. I'm also not comfortable giving him a too high dose, since tomorrow I'll go back to work and I cannot monitor him during the day.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top