SUE AND RUBEN- LOW#s- SHOOT OR NOT?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sue and Ruben

Member Since 2010
hi...first, i know my spreadsheet is months out of date. in a nutshell, ruben has been doing much better with numbers on average in double digits. his nadir is often at +11 or 12 and can be anywhere from 70 to 150. if on the low side, i don't shoot...if above 100, i give a lower dose (his normal does is 2) and if 150 plus i give full dose. my question is...what do these numbers mean? when should you skip a dose or just reduce? i don't want to delay a dose because my whole shooting schedule is then thrown out of whack. thanks.
ps when i have a minute (or an hour free) i will update the numbers.
 
Sue --

I'd love to give you a hand but I need to see the spreadsheet otherwise, everything I say has to be taken with a very large grain of salt (or more likely a salt shaker). It's sounding like Ruben is doing well. From what you've noted, I think you need to get comfortable with shooting lower numbers rather than skipping shots. Please take a look at the sticky note on the protocol. It's quite possible that you're missing dose reductions (i.e., if less than a year since diagnosis, reduce if you have a test <50; if more than a year since diagnosis, reduce with a BG < 40).
 
Is it possible after you update the numbers for you to get a curve done maybe this weekend? That would really help too...if that is doable, it would really shed a lot of light on where Ruben is going during the mid cycles... :razz:
 
i am going to try to post later today...i know that would help fill in the blanks and provide me with more accurate advice. in the meantime, he is at 75 right now...at +12. shall i skip or reduce? it is rare i really skip shots..usually reduce dose or wait an hour or so to see if #s come up.
 
Can you retest without feeding? Will you be home to monitor him today?
Those are things you have to take into consideration while making your decision...I am sorry I can't help with dosing suggestions under the circumstances...you have to feel comfortable with whatever you decide to do this morning...
 
his amps was 75 at 9am so i didn't give him a dose.
at 11am he was 90
at 2pm 150
at 6pm 313

any suggestions moving forward would be helpful in terms of regulating dose. 75 feels low to me. in fact the other night at +12 he was 60...i gave him a smaller does but at +14, he was 50...so i had to go the karo route. i am getting a lot of numbers in double digits at +12...do i have lowered the dose 1/2 unit...maybe i should reduce more? i did skip a shot today but i rarely do that. any advice? i know i need to update the #s....i have months of data.
 
if you can add the last month of two to your spreadsheet, for now, that will help. We really can't tell you anything without seeing the patterns. Is Ruben a late nadir cat?
 
i tested again this morning and the # is 106--too low to shoot with comfort even though he has a late nadir. pmps was 160. i did give him a shot last night..but as i say, this morning feels too low. what do most people do in these situations?
any suggestions for now? hoping to get last month spreadsheet up today.
 
Hi Sue,
106 is your AMPS this morning?
have you fed?
can you stall and retest without feeding?
When you need to stall, it is best not to feed yet so your pre-shot number will not have a food influence.
Will you be home to monitor?

do you have any other numbers from this weekend?

You may also want to start a fresh thread for the day if you can stick around.
 
hi ronnie
yes, my 106 is the morning read. i fed already before i posted because he was hungry..now 1 hour later it is up to 175 so i gave him his usual shot....just an hour later. i think the overall issue is how to manage this. sometimes i can't wait an hour because i have to leave the house. i plan to post last months #s shortly and will advise with a post from today.
 
With a late nadir kitty, you are going to see low numbers at your pre-shot times. The numbers will be heading up, though. It's hard to wrap your head around what's going on, I know. It's almost like everything is shifted a few hours later than what you'd expect.

It would be helpful if you could shoot on a day that you have lower numbers and get a curve so you can see what is happening with the numbers so you can be more comfortable with how the late nadir effects Ruben's numbers.

It may not be if you have that much of a rise that Ruben is consistently late nadir. Also, please remember that your PM shot time is 12 hours from now.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top