? Stuggling w/ Lantus SLGS - increased dose after 7 days, but numbers are going up

leeza

Member Since 2026
After experiencing scary low numbers and a visit to the vet in late January, I decided to follow SLGL. Struggled with the execution the first week and didn't stay at the original 1.5 start dose for the full 7 days. Posted online and followed the suggestion to restart at 1.5 units of Lantus and complete the full 7 days. Wasn't able to do a full curve at the end of the week, but enough of one that showed the lowest reading was 180. So I increased Kuro's dose to 1.75 and have been here for 3 days now. I'm concerned because his numbers seem to be creeping up instead of going down. I just went home and did a +4 check, and he's still at 400. In this situation, is it correct to stay the course? Any thoughts/suggestions would be greatly appreciated!
 
I keep being told that it is a marathon not a race. We don't want to increase doses too quickly and miss the correct dose. Since you are using an alphatrack, I don't know what the numbers are supposed to be.

Put a question mark in your heading, so admin/moderators will be alerted that you have a question.

@Wendy&Neko might be able to help. <3 Her and others have helped tremendously. <3
 
In case you don't know how - to add the "?" prefix, edit your post, then select the dropdown menu to the left of the post title field. The blue "?" prefix stands out to mods who will scan for them.
 
Doing SLGS w/ Lantus. After increasing to 1.75 units, his number started going up, so a posted a thread earlier today. Just did his pre shot test at 8:15pm and he was suddenly down to 184. Stalled & retested 30 min later - now 265. This is still below his recent preshot levels. Should I continue to stall until he gets closer to 300?
 
I see he got down to 194 tonight and you didn't shoot. 194 is what is in the spreadsheet. Though you did shoot lower on Feb 3 and 15th. No need to stall until he gets up to 300, you can shoot easily anything over 200. The only consideration is that tomorrow you'll have to shoot roughly 12 hours after you shoot tonight and you have to ask if your schedule can accommodate it.

More in the next post.
 
What you are likely seeing is bouncing. Here is the definition:
Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
He's not used to seeing blues so bouncing.

The other thing you might be seeing is a result of not shooting 12 hours apart. Shooting late can act like a dose reduction and shooting early can act like an increase. You'll get best results if you can shoot as close as possible to 12 hours apart.

I see on Feb 15 you saw a 309 at +11, then 180 an hour later. One of those values is likely wrong. Cat's don't drop that much in an hour at the end of the cycle when the insulin effect is wearing off. If you see that big a swing, retest. Sometimes if you are short on blood, or too much, the meter can read a wonky number.

Finally, I combined your two posts of the day into one. We ask that people just post one per day, so you don't get people responding to both posts - which can get confusing. If you have a new question or concern, just change the subject heading to reflect the new issue. You go to the first post and edit it to access the title to change it.
 
Back
Top