Struggling to cope today

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tom & Monty

Member Since 2020
I realise mine and Monty's position is not unique and not even the worst around here - but I'm struggling to cope and I'm hoping writing this out will help.

I adopted Monty and his sister (Molly) in November last year. Monty was annoying, but cute. He's the friendliest cat I've ever known and even when he's seriously being made uncomfortable he never tries to hurt anyone. He's not the smartest cat but I love his eyes when he stares blankly at me.

In February he was diagnosed with diabetes. I was complacent in getting them both insured so I'm paying out of pocket for anything related to his diabetes.

His diabetes was discovered when I woke up one morning to discover he'd peed blood around my flat. I took him to the vet and it was revealed he had a bladder infection and also diabetes. I thought nothing of his excessive water consumption the preceding week.

I remember crying for hours that night and researching feline diabetes through the tears. I felt a bunch of emotions: fear of losing him, regret for adopting him, guilt for feeling regret, sorrow that he is suffering. Over the next few weeks I came close several times to asking the cat charity to take him back, they were willing but asked me to give it time to settle in before deciding for sure.

During that time I discovered this forum, I was amazed at the wealth of information but also skeptical that I didn't get this information from my vet directly.

Initially Monty was prescribed anti-biotics for the infection and 2U of caninsulin twice daily (he's a big cat, 5.6kg). I was hesitant to test for the first 8 weeks because I was afraid of hurting him and also a bit lazy, and my vet didn't impress on me the importance of home testing. Monty isn't a lap cat, he hates being tested and wouldn't sit on me even when I'm not testing him.

The clinical signs didn't improve, he had a second round of urinary infections a week later, his dose was increased to 2.5 and more anti-biotics. Over the following weeks his dose increased to 3.5 and then 4U.

Around this time I started to feel like I knew more about taking care of diabetic cats than my vet does and started to have serious trust problems with my vet. I convinced my vet to switch him to Lantus and scheduled an in clinic curved for his first lantus day. They started him on 2.5U.

Ten days before he was to start on Lantus he stopped eating, vomited, had diarrhea and had low energy. He ended up being hospitalised on IV for 3 days and released to me. I remember being very frustrated at my vet's reluctance to test him for pancreatitis as I believed all of the symptoms matched. I had to essentially bully the guy into doing an fpli test. I consulted with a video-vet for a second opinion and she immediately said "that sounds like pancreatitis". My vet did the test and it was positive.

He recovered quickly after being hospitalised. On Lantus i started to take testing seriously and observed over the first 3 days that his BG pre shoot was getting rapidly lower every day. 4 days later he started symptoms again, but no vomit this time. My vet prescribed appetite stimulants and pro biotics. He said a new fpli test would still show a positive from the previous flare up so there was no point.

Two days later without much improvement, he almost had a hypo, I caught him on 45 on a spot test and immediately fed him high carb food and rushed him to the emergency vet. I got him back up to around 160 within 2 hours ago with help from forum members here. The emergency vet gave me vetergesic and told me she's fairly confident it's pancreatitis given his symptoms. He did not have a high temperature at the time.

Here I am two days after that having just got back from the vet again because he isn't eating. He ate some food yesterday and looked to be getting better but today he's worse again. Not eating, not engaging with me during the day (he did wake me up at 3am by climbing into bed and laying against me for an hour <3). I called the vet to update them and they asked me to bring him in right away. He injected more vetergesic, gave me 2 hits to take him in case he needs it and told me his temperature is very high right now and he likely has an infection or necrosis of the pancreas, either way anti biotics should help and we can reassess tomorrow. I'm to call them tomorrow morning to update on his condition. I'm also giving him cerenia for nausia and mirtapazine for appetite.

That's my story so far. I'm feeling incredibly stressed. The amount of responsibility I'm shouldering is unexpected and hard for me to cope with. If I weren't working from home right now because of the pandemic then I don't know what I'd do.

I'm making frequent vet visits, spending hours a day caring for him, racking up thousands of pounds of costs. I'm fortunate in my financial situation but it's adding up. This is having a serious impact on my mental health and I can't see the end of the tunnel. I'm willing to sacrifice my own well-being for another living creature but there are limits.

My partner is helping with his care. She always helps me to test him, to prepare his things for vet visits (I usually am the one to go). She feels different emotions to me about this situation. She has repeatedly directly and indirectly brought up the idea of euthanasia because she believes his quality of life is low. I'm at the opposite end of the spectrum and want to get him stable and then assess his quality of life after that. Her attitude is compounding the impact on me, it's getting hard to remain enthusiastic about his care when my co carer is essentially defeated. I don't blame her, she is stressed too. Everything is harder now, visiting friends after work, going on holiday, waking up late.

I don't even know that I'm asking for anything here, I just wanted to write it down while I sit next to my sick cat stroking his chin, and worrying immensely about how he's feeling.
 
(((((Tom and Monty)))))

I understand how you are feeling and thank you for sharing your story.

I am not able to provide advice on your situation, but am sorry to hear of the whirlwind of vet visits, stress and that Monty is not feeling well.

I hope tomorrow is a better day
 
Hi Tom, I'm sorry you and Monty have had such a terrible time these last few weeks.

Ask the vet for ondanestron (Zofran).
Cerenia works on the vomiting. Zofran works on the nausea. They can be taken together.

Are you pushing fluids? That can help. Is he dehydrated? If so, add some water to his food to make it soupy.

The other thing you have to watch out for is diabetic ketoacidosis. DKA = not enough insulin + not enough food + an infection or something else going on somewhere. You can test either his urine or his blood at home with a proper meter. You can read about DKA here.
Ketones, Diabetic Ketoacidosis (DKA), and Blood Ketone Meters

Also, if you have not read these already:

Give Monty a pet from me (an albeit human pancreatitis comrade in arms).
 
You're right. You're not alone. I bet half the people here have been in or felt the same way. You've been here since March. Not exactly new but with all of Monty's issues it kinda keep you in the newbie range. You're not only treating diabetes but his pancreatitis as well. Its a heavy responsibility not to mention a drain. When we are faced with such decisions we ask each other. If we did re home or euthanize how are we going to feel hours later, days later, weeks later. There are only 2 times that we made that decision.

First was my Waldo (my avatar) he was a one of a kind cat. Literally a Houdini. He had so much character and love of just being...It was the hardest decision Ive ever made. But when I went to dose him his heart meds...? the way he looked at me...? I just couldnt do it. It was then I knew. We loved on him for two more days, then took him for that final ride. My mind KNEW it was the right thing to do. He was in pain. My heart? Not so much. (I'm sobbing through tears writing this.)

The second time was for "Tux Kitty", a true feral in ever sense of the word. I had been feeding him for over 8 years. He was trap savvy so never could T&R him. One day after not seeing him, for a couple of years, he returns to my patio! It gave me great joy to see him but when I put his food down, he took a bite spit it out and ran off. The next morning, he did the same. I knew something was wrong and I somehow tricked him into a carrier and off to the Vet we went. Tux was in HORRIBLE condition and was quickly diagnosed with stomatitus (sp?) His teeth were so bad he couldnt eat. Well no way could we afford to treat him, much lees afford to have his teeth removed. But he had been a part of out lives for so long... sigh... The vet gave me metacam. He said its not good for cats but since hes feral and without very costly attention, he would suffer and die in pain. So for a week we gave him the metacam and he ate. But it was evident hes was still going down hill. I actually held him in my arms when we took him for his final vet visit. He was that weak. (btw that metacam stuff turned him into a different cat. He came right up to me and crawled up my legs for it) he was hooked!

I'm telling you this because if you should decide to rehome or...the alternative, stop and ask yourself is this the best you can do? Or can you dig down and find a good reason to keep going. To keep going takes inner strength and yes love. The question is, will giving up benefit yourself or Monty? No judging here! Hopefully others will come and share advice or their own stories.

My heart goes out to you and your partner... and to Monty too
jeanne
 
Fortunately he's not dehydrated, he is still willing to drink water for now and the skin on his neck is nice and elastic.

My main issue is getting him to eat. Ill get some ondesatron tomorrow from my vet. Currently he's taking: cerenia which I might stop because he isn't vomiting, mirtapazine for appetite, anti-biotics, Lantus 1.25IU twice daily.

Remarkably he's doing well on BG checks during all of this except this morning because I skipped a shot last night.

My two greatest concerns are him not eating and his weight loss of 300g over the last week. If he doesn't eat tonight or tomorrow morning he's going on IV tomorrow.
 
I realise mine and Monty's position is not unique and not even the worst around here - but I'm struggling to cope and I'm hoping writing this out will help.

I adopted Monty and his sister (Molly) in November last year. Monty was annoying, but cute. He's the friendliest cat I've ever known and even when he's seriously being made uncomfortable he never tries to hurt anyone. He's not the smartest cat but I love his eyes when he stares blankly at me.

In February he was diagnosed with diabetes. I was complacent in getting them both insured so I'm paying out of pocket for anything related to his diabetes.

His diabetes was discovered when I woke up one morning to discover he'd peed blood around my flat. I took him to the vet and it was revealed he had a bladder infection and also diabetes. I thought nothing of his excessive water consumption the preceding week.

I remember crying for hours that night and researching feline diabetes through the tears. I felt a bunch of emotions: fear of losing him, regret for adopting him, guilt for feeling regret, sorrow that he is suffering. Over the next few weeks I came close several times to asking the cat charity to take him back, they were willing but asked me to give it time to settle in before deciding for sure.

During that time I discovered this forum, I was amazed at the wealth of information but also skeptical that I didn't get this information from my vet directly.

Initially Monty was prescribed anti-biotics for the infection and 2U of caninsulin twice daily (he's a big cat, 5.6kg). I was hesitant to test for the first 8 weeks because I was afraid of hurting him and also a bit lazy, and my vet didn't impress on me the importance of home testing. Monty isn't a lap cat, he hates being tested and wouldn't sit on me even when I'm not testing him.

The clinical signs didn't improve, he had a second round of urinary infections a week later, his dose was increased to 2.5 and more anti-biotics. Over the following weeks his dose increased to 3.5 and then 4U.

Around this time I started to feel like I knew more about taking care of diabetic cats than my vet does and started to have serious trust problems with my vet. I convinced my vet to switch him to Lantus and scheduled an in clinic curved for his first lantus day. They started him on 2.5U.

Ten days before he was to start on Lantus he stopped eating, vomited, had diarrhea and had low energy. He ended up being hospitalised on IV for 3 days and released to me. I remember being very frustrated at my vet's reluctance to test him for pancreatitis as I believed all of the symptoms matched. I had to essentially bully the guy into doing an fpli test. I consulted with a video-vet for a second opinion and she immediately said "that sounds like pancreatitis". My vet did the test and it was positive.

He recovered quickly after being hospitalised. On Lantus i started to take testing seriously and observed over the first 3 days that his BG pre shoot was getting rapidly lower every day. 4 days later he started symptoms again, but no vomit this time. My vet prescribed appetite stimulants and pro biotics. He said a new fpli test would still show a positive from the previous flare up so there was no point.

Two days later without much improvement, he almost had a hypo, I caught him on 45 on a spot test and immediately fed him high carb food and rushed him to the emergency vet. I got him back up to around 160 within 2 hours ago with help from forum members here. The emergency vet gave me vetergesic and told me she's fairly confident it's pancreatitis given his symptoms. He did not have a high temperature at the time.

Here I am two days after that having just got back from the vet again because he isn't eating. He ate some food yesterday and looked to be getting better but today he's worse again. Not eating, not engaging with me during the day (he did wake me up at 3am by climbing into bed and laying against me for an hour <3). I called the vet to update them and they asked me to bring him in right away. He injected more vetergesic, gave me 2 hits to take him in case he needs it and told me his temperature is very high right now and he likely has an infection or necrosis of the pancreas, either way anti biotics should help and we can reassess tomorrow. I'm to call them tomorrow morning to update on his condition. I'm also giving him cerenia for nausia and mirtapazine for appetite.

That's my story so far. I'm feeling incredibly stressed. The amount of responsibility I'm shouldering is unexpected and hard for me to cope with. If I weren't working from home right now because of the pandemic then I don't know what I'd do.

I'm making frequent vet visits, spending hours a day caring for him, racking up thousands of pounds of costs. I'm fortunate in my financial situation but it's adding up. This is having a serious impact on my mental health and I can't see the end of the tunnel. I'm willing to sacrifice my own well-being for another living creature but there are limits.

My partner is helping with his care. She always helps me to test him, to prepare his things for vet visits (I usually am the one to go). She feels different emotions to me about this situation. She has repeatedly directly and indirectly brought up the idea of euthanasia because she believes his quality of life is low. I'm at the opposite end of the spectrum and want to get him stable and then assess his quality of life after that. Her attitude is compounding the impact on me, it's getting hard to remain enthusiastic about his care when my co carer is essentially defeated. I don't blame her, she is stressed too. Everything is harder now, visiting friends after work, going on holiday, waking up late.

I don't even know that I'm asking for anything here, I just wanted to write it down while I sit next to my sick cat stroking his chin, and worrying immensely about how he's feeling.

I absolutely feel your pain here. This situation is already so very hard and a partner that is not in the same page makes it 10 times worse :( I’ve had my Ducote for 11 yrs (since he was 5 weeks old) and we are very close. He never liked my hubby though so in turn my hubby never got close to him. I’m doing all the tests, doses, data, vet visits, and worrying alone. He has mentioned putting him down as well but I would never think of such a thing if there is something I can do to help him get better. My hubby gets upset about me being on a dose schedule and having to be home for a certain time. I get overwhelmed at the dosing schedule as well but I can’t vent to him about it bc his advice is not helpful. I get very depressed thinking about the future (vacations, out late in town, visiting family, etc.) so I try to just think of one day at a time. It’s a lot to take on and not having support makes it so much harder :( This is another reason that I love this group!
 
Glad Monty has eaten something.
Here is a list of ideas that people here have put together:
Try raising the food dish 4-6". A nauseous cat, or human for that matter, does not want to put its head lower than its body. Put it on a couple of books you don't care about (they may get covered in cat food) or an upside down cookie tin (the rim on the underside of the tin helps prevent the food dish from sliding off. Also, try feeding from your hand at head level. And yes, it's gross holding wet cat food in your hand but it's worth a try.

Good luck with the vet tomorrow.
 
Thanks everyone - I've read through the UK pancreatitis guide. I understand that I need to control pain and nausia as a priority before attempting to stimulate appetite with mirtapazine.

I've been given 2 rounds of vetergesic (buprenorphine) but don't have any ondansetron for the nausia (I have cerenia but as I understand cerenia will help with vomiting and not nausia - he isn't vomiting). I will specifically ask for this from my vet tomorrow. My vet instructed me that I'm to use vetergesic at my own judgement by observing his behaviour to determine if pain is present - he has made reception aware that they are to dispense more vetergesic to me without needing to go through him if I need it.

The guide also mentioned ranitidine can be helpful for ileus. He was prescribed ranitidine in his last flare up and he recovered VERY quickly, but that is perhaps coincidence.

Monty is doing better later into this evening. Where he previously stayed in a dark corner at the side of my bed he is now tentatively moving from room to room. He's eaten half a portion of his regular meal that I liquiefied and heated, and he's begun to eat the second half but only a mouthful at a time - I'll leave this out for him over night to eat at his own pace. I'm thinking the likely cause of him feeling better is the vetergesic injection he got from the vet earlier. I'm going to wake up two hours before his feeding time tomorrow to determine if he's in pain and apply vetergesic to his gums if he is so that the pain is lessened come shoot / feeding time.

I. Will. Fix. This. Cat.
 
Hi Tom and Monty :bighug:
Pancreatitis is tough at times, especially when they won’t eat. Sheba used to get flares of it every so often. I understand.
I wouldn’t give up on Monty he’s going through a bad patch but he’ll come out the other side. I agree with @Red & Rover (GA). I would get some ondansetron. You can use it at the same time as cerenia. I wouldn’t stop the cerenia though. Ondansetron can be given three times a day.
you might like to get some Hills A/D recovery food from the vet. It’s higher in calories and is good for cats that have been ill.
I would also test for ketones as @Red & Rover (GA) suggested. You can get Ketostix from the pharmacy and test the urine.

You are doing a great job caring for Monty.
 
You are doing a great job, but your vet needs to supply you with the proper tools. If your kitty is in pain they will not eat and if you kitty has an upset stomach they will not eat. You need these in your hands when your kitty gets sick, if you need to run to the vet every time this happens it gets mighty expensive and tiresome.
 
Over night he finished a full portion of food :)

This morning his AMPS is 257, I've injected 1.25U Lantus. He was wide eyed when I woke up and didn't look happy, 30 minutes after bubrenorphine he's sleepy and purring. He won't eat much this morning, only flakes of tuna I give by hand. I called the vet and he suggested that since he hasn't eaten much over the last week that the full meal last night might mean he just isn't hungry yet and he otherwise is behaving close to normal.

I'm going to see if he eats anything himself over the next hour and if not I have some time between meetings to hand feed him. He needs to take his 3 anti-biotic pills this morning too and I'll pill him if he won't eat.
 
Your doing great. My bob just for diagnosed Thursday June 11 2020. I didnt feel it as a death sentence but it scared me and still scares me. you wonder if your doing the right thing or not. My partner and bob are closer then bob is with me. I have to do everything testing dose tracking all alone. I took my bob to his regular vet as with the pandemic it's hard to get in (Canada). The emergancy 24hr vet I went to was the one to dignose him. his regular vet explained to me that Lantus is very potent in cats. Bon was started out on 2u but he was very lethargic. so my regular vet told me to immediately take him down to 1u. I am controlling his food more now where. his wet food is am and PM now 6am and 6pm. if he does not eat it all after 3 to 4 hours I pick up the wet food. I do leave a little bit of dry on the floor for him just incase he gets a little hungry. I noticed after starting that lastnight he was actually hungry this morning made it easy for his shot. and he ate most of the wet food. Basic I am trying to keep him at 280kcal a day.

as for hurting him when testing. I was told by my vet cause we have to poke them so often that it does hurt a little after. to fix that they suggested after the test rub some polysporne with pain relief on his ear it will help(I did that today and he loved it.) the vet also said the opposite side of the ear that you are poke put something hard there so when you lance his eat it dont go all the way through.. given all this and the changes he starting to be more perkier and more active. it takes time for us to learn about the diabities. but one we get the hand of it. it becomes second nature to us. you got this. and from one pet owner to the next your doing amazing and everything you can.
 
He may not want to Eat if he’s in pain. I had a cat with pancreatitis. I noticed he was eating 1/3 of what he normally did, and was not laying comfortably. The treatment was daily sub q fluids (done at home) for several weeks, Cerenia for nausea, and bupe for pain. As soon as he got that first dose he ate and then took along nap. In about a week he was totally himself again.
 
I had to pill his anti-biotics earlier since he wouldn't take them with food.

Both good news and bad:

Bad is that he's still struggling to eat (he's eaten a token amount of tuna in spring water) and I'm going to collect ondansetron from the vet tomorrow morning. In the meantime I'm boiling some chicken breast to see if he will take some simple protein other than tuna.

The good news is that he's more active and happy. He ran away when I tried to BG check him this morning (almost got away under the bed too! He makes such a big fuss when it's pokey time but afterwards he is so non-plussed by it) which is encouraging to see him running. He's also begging for strokes and I caught him laying on his back earlier.
 
Boiled chicken breast takes the prize :)
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20200616_155553.jpg
    IMG_20200616_155553.jpg
    51.4 KB · Views: 155
I just wanted to say a huge thanks to everyone who has helped me through his flare up both with emotional support and practical advice.

He's not fully well yet but over the last 2 days he's clearly improving. This morning he would still only eat plain chicken but I didn't need to use any nausia drugs, he woke me up for food! He's stopped sleeping in the corner as much and is sleeping on my bed again and started following me around this morning.
 
I just wanted to say a huge thanks to everyone who has helped me through his flare up both with emotional support and practical advice.

He's not fully well yet but over the last 2 days he's clearly improving. This morning he would still only eat plain chicken but I didn't need to use any nausia drugs, he woke me up for food! He's stopped sleeping in the corner as much and is sleeping on my bed again and started following me around this morning.
That’sa good improvement!
 
I just wanted to say a huge thanks to everyone who has helped me through his flare up both with emotional support and practical advice.

He's not fully well yet but over the last 2 days he's clearly improving. This morning he would still only eat plain chicken but I didn't need to use any nausia drugs, he woke me up for food! He's stopped sleeping in the corner as much and is sleeping on my bed again and started following me around this morning.
Awwwwwwwwwww music to my ears!
 
You're right. You're not alone. I bet half the people here have been in or felt the same way. You've been here since March. Not exactly new but with all of Monty's issues it kinda keep you in the newbie range. You're not only treating diabetes but his pancreatitis as well. Its a heavy responsibility not to mention a drain. When we are faced with such decisions we ask each other. If we did re home or euthanize how are we going to feel hours later, days later, weeks later. There are only 2 times that we made that decision.

First was my Waldo (my avatar) he was a one of a kind cat. Literally a Houdini. He had so much character and love of just being...It was the hardest decision Ive ever made. But when I went to dose him his heart meds...? the way he looked at me...? I just couldnt do it. It was then I knew. We loved on him for two more days, then took him for that final ride. My mind KNEW it was the right thing to do. He was in pain. My heart? Not so much. (I'm sobbing through tears writing this.)

The second time was for "Tux Kitty", a true feral in ever sense of the word. I had been feeding him for over 8 years. He was trap savvy so never could T&R him. One day after not seeing him, for a couple of years, he returns to my patio! It gave me great joy to see him but when I put his food down, he took a bite spit it out and ran off. The next morning, he did the same. I knew something was wrong and I somehow tricked him into a carrier and off to the Vet we went. Tux was in HORRIBLE condition and was quickly diagnosed with stomatitus (sp?) His teeth were so bad he couldnt eat. Well no way could we afford to treat him, much lees afford to have his teeth removed. But he had been a part of out lives for so long... sigh... The vet gave me metacam. He said its not good for cats but since hes feral and without very costly attention, he would suffer and die in pain. So for a week we gave him the metacam and he ate. But it was evident hes was still going down hill. I actually held him in my arms when we took him for his final vet visit. He was that weak. (btw that metacam stuff turned him into a different cat. He came right up to me and crawled up my legs for it) he was hooked!

I'm telling you this because if you should decide to rehome or...the alternative, stop and ask yourself is this the best you can do? Or can you dig down and find a good reason to keep going. To keep going takes inner strength and yes love. The question is, will giving up benefit yourself or Monty? No judging here! Hopefully others will come and share advice or their own stories.

My heart goes out to you and your partner... and to Monty too
jeanne
I'm in a puddle of tears reading these stories. It can all be so overwhelming :(
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top