Struggling, badly.

Merfles

Member Since 2025
I am losing it over here.
My nearly 11 year old cat, Bee, was diagnosed diabetic last month, and I've been doing my best with everything, but things aren't going how I hoped.

He was diagnosed after I noticed he had suddenly lost an alarming amount of weight, which I had initially thought was due to my other cats auto feeder malfunctioning. I wasn't sure how long the other cat hadn't been getting his food (the feeder still appeared to be operating, changed the batteries, then noticed the next day it still wasn't working), and thought he was pushing Bee off his feeder. They got him into the vet pretty quickly, and his glucose level was at I think 374. They did a fructosamine test, the vet said he has diabetes, and gave me the weekend to think things over.
I did a lot of reading after the diagnosis, and tried to be as informed as I could.
We tried him on Bexacat first, but five days in his ketones were rising, so he was switched to insulin on 3/26. He's now on 1 unit of Lantus, every 12hrs. I had purchased a meter (CentriVet, mistake?) to watch his ketones on the Bexacat and had done the control solution, everything seemed to work fine. When he was switched to insulin I can't recall if I did the control or not. I had the bottle in the meter case like I had used it, but I cannot for the life of me recall if I actually did the test. Fast forward to this morning, and the meter is now giving an error code when I did a glucose control test.
I had to do his first curve myself 4/5, because of my work schedule/his injection schedule (3am and 3pm) the vet could not do it. I struggled to get blood out of him for a bit, but managed to do his curve. He started at 250 pre-shot, then when I got to the 4hr test he was at freaking 67! Two hours later he was at 70, then started climbing back up to 235 before his next shot. I did keep testing for six more hours after his afternoon shot, and he only dropped to 130 at 4hrs, and 127 at 6hrs. Yesterday he started at 240ish, then at 6hrs he was at 69 again. Of course now that I figured out there's an issue with the meter, I have no idea where his levels have actually been this whole time. I'm really concerned, I have to figure out the meter problem (emailed the company, waiting for response), and I guess go from there, but I'm sooooo stressed about everything, and so worried about my poor cats health.
He's been a dry food cat his whole life, always been a VERY good drinker, never had any issues with kidneys, etc, and his current bloodwork was good. I switched him to Dr. Elsey's kibble after starting Bexacat, and then started giving him some wet Fancy Feast before each shot when he started insulin. He seemed to not have issues with the Elsey's kibble, but today he vomited quite a bit, and had soft stool, don't know if it's the cause. He's not a wet food fan, it's a struggle to get him to eat 1/3 can before his shots, so I have to keep supplementing dry food. His feeder dispenses 1/2cup of kibble spread over four meals a day, and he often doesn't clean his bowl. I have an RFID chip feeder for him, because my other cat cannot be trusted. I've been having to keep him isolated in my room while I'm at work to monitor him better, which has undone any routine he had before all this. The vet hasn't been very helpful, everything she's suggested I have already read up on, and am already implementing. I live alone, I've just been dealing with everything on my own, and it's been SO hard.

So if you made it through my emotional rambling...

Should I get a different meter, has anyone here even used a CentriVet meter?? Should I try to find a different kibble again? Are the Fancy Feast pates still considered ok? I wish I knew what to do, I'm so worried about my baby boy. I can't really do much until I have a reliable meter, it's scary not knowing what's happening with him. Please help
 
Last edited:
I am losing it over here.
My nearly 11 year old cat, Bee, was diagnosed diabetic last month, and I've been doing my best with everything, but things aren't going how I hoped.

He was diagnosed after I noticed he had suddenly lost an alarming amount of weight, which I had initially thought was due to my other cats auto feeder malfunctioning. I wasn't sure how long the other cat hadn't been getting his food (the feeder still appeared to be operating, changed the batteries, then noticed the next day it still wasn't working), and thought he was pushing Bee off his feeder. They got him into the vet pretty quickly, and his glucose level was at I think 374. They did a fructosamine test, the vet said he has diabetes, and gave me the weekend to think things over.
I did a lot of reading after the diagnosis, and tried to be as informed as I could.
We tried him on Bexacat first, but five days in his ketones were rising, so he was switched to insulin on 3/26. He's now on 1 unit of Lantus, every 12hrs. I had purchased a meter (CentriVet, mistake?) to watch his ketones on the Bexacat and had done the control solution, everything seemed to work fine. When he was switched to insulin I can't recall if I did the control or not. I had the bottle in the meter case like I had used it, but I cannot for the life of me recall if I actually did the test. Fast forward to this morning, and the meter is now giving an error code when I did a glucose control test.
I had to do his first curve myself 4/5, because of my work schedule/his injection schedule (3am and 3pm) the vet could not do it. I struggled to get blood out of him for a bit, but managed to do his curve. He started at 250 pre-shot, then when I got to the 4hr test he was at freaking 67! Two hours later he was at 70, then started climbing back up to 235 before his next shot. I did keep testing for six more hours after his afternoon shot, and he only dropped to 130 at 4hrs, and 127 at 6hrs. Yesterday he started at 240ish, then at 6hrs he was at 69 again. Of course now that I figured out there's an issue with the meter, I have no idea where his levels have actually been this whole time. I'm really concerned, I have to figure out the meter problem (emailed the company, waiting for response), and I guess go from there, but I'm sooooo stressed about everything, and so worried about my poor cats health.
He's been a dry food cat his whole life, always been a VERY good drinker, never had any issues with kidneys, etc, and his current bloodwork was good. I switched him to Dr. Elsey's kibble after starting Bexacat, and then started giving him some wet Fancy Feast before each shot when he started insulin. He seemed to not have issues with the Elsey's kibble, but today he vomited quite a bit, and had soft stool, don't know if it's the cause. He's not a wet food fan, it's a struggle to get him to eat 1/3 can before his shots, so I have to keep supplementing dry food. His feeder dispenses 1/2cup of kibble spread over four meals a day, and he often doesn't clean his bowl. I have an RFID chip feeder for him, because my other cat cannot be trusted. I've been having to keep him isolated in my room while I'm at work to monitor him better, which has undone any routine he had before all this. The vet hasn't been very helpful, everything she's suggested I have already read up on, and am already implementing. I live alone, I've just been dealing with everything on my own, and it's been SO hard.

So if you made it through my emotional rambling...

Should I get a different meter, has anyone here even used a CentriVet meter?? Should I try to find a different kibble again? Are the Fancy Feast pates still considered ok? I wish I knew what to do, I'm so worried about my baby boy. I can't really do much until I have a reliable meter, it's scary not knowing what's happening with him. Please help

Welcome to FDF, we have rambled almost lost our minds, and thought what did we do wrong, was it my fault? You are not alone, Lantus is a great insulin, I brought up my cats on free feeding with Dri Food MeowMix Corky will be 12 in a few month, so all his life on this dry food, I was frantic as well, not knowing what to do, hospitalized for 8 days with a weight loss of 8.5lbs, it is overwhelming, but Diabetes is manageable,
diabetic cats need to have a diet of wet can food between 0-10%, kibble(dry food contains anywhere between 20-30% carbs and cats cannot digest carbs and the pancreas get damage, needing insulin that is not produced by it, below, you should make the transition from dry to wet slowly, by reducing the dry to the wet, perhaps this is the reason for the soft stool, we are happy to help you but we need to know more about Bee, we would like you to create your signature and spreadsheet to keep data on the glucose levels on a daily basis to determine how the Lantus and dose is working on Bee, below are several links to begin your journey for a healthier Bee, no concern is a small concern, so post away, there will always be someone to step in to answer your concern, I can see that you are home testing, important for you to test before each shot to determine the BG level, I am not experienced, or can assist you with Lantus Corky uses ProZinc, but I will tag several members that can step in for you, in the meantime gather your data on the test results and input them on the spreadsheet, download it on GOOGLE DRIVE for members access, we are very numbers oriented, if you have trouble with the spreadsheet let us know so we can help you with it and create your signature, again Welcome to FDF:bighug::cat::cat:

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/spreadsheets-tech-support-testing-area.6/
NEW FOOD CHART CHECK CARBS/ FF
Cat Food Nutrition Calculator | Elizabeth C Scheyder
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
Welcome to FDF, we have rambled almost lost our minds, and thought what did we do wrong, was it my fault? You are not alone, Lantus is a great insulin, I brought up my cats on free feeding with Dri Food MeowMix Corky will be 12 in a few month, so all his life on this dry food, I was frantic as well, not knowing what to do, hospitalized for 8 days with a weight loss of 8.5lbs, it is overwhelming, but Diabetes is manageable,
diabetic cats need to have a diet of wet can food between 0-10%, kibble(dry food contains anywhere between 20-30% carbs and cats cannot digest carbs and the pancreas get damage, needing insulin that is not produced by it, below, you should make the transition from dry to wet slowly, by reducing the dry to the wet, perhaps this is the reason for the soft stool, we are happy to help you but we need to know more about Bee, we would like you to create your signature and spreadsheet to keep data on the glucose levels on a daily basis to determine how the Lantus and dose is working on Bee, below are several links to begin your journey for a healthier Bee, no concern is a small concern, so post away, there will always be someone to step in to answer your concern, I can see that you are home testing, important for you to test before each shot to determine the BG level, I am not experienced, or can assist you with Lantus Corky uses ProZinc, but I will tag several members that can step in for you, in the meantime gather your data on the test results and input them on the spreadsheet, download it on GOOGLE DRIVE for members access, we are very numbers oriented, if you have trouble with the spreadsheet let us know so we can help you with it and create your signature, again Welcome to FDF:bighug::cat::cat:

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-how-you-can-help-us-help-you.216696/
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/spreadsheets-tech-support-testing-area.6/
NEW FOOD CHART CHECK CARBS/ FF
Cat Food Nutrition Calculator | Elizabeth C Scheyder
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Bron and Sheba (GA)

Thank you for the welcome ❤

I'm not sure if I can start a spreadsheet of his levels until I have a properly working glucose meter again?:( Also, I don't currently have a working computer, and am posting on my cell phone. I hope I can do everything that way, hmmm.
 
Last edited:
Thank you for the welcome ❤

I'm not sure if I can start a spreadsheet of his levels until I have a properly working glucose meter again?:(
A good reliable glucose meter most members use is is the ReliOn Premier and strips you can buy it at Walmart for $19.99 and the strips are $17.88 for 100 and $9.00 for 50
 
A good reliable glucose meter most members use is is the ReliOn Premier and strips you can buy it at Walmart for $19.99 and the strips are $17.88 for 100 and $9.00 for 50
You can have the spreadsheet ready and working when you get the meter
 
Welcome to FDMB!

First, take a deep breath. No matter how much reading you do and how well prepared you think you are, the beginning of the journey is overwhelming. All of us have been there. I managed my cat's diabetes solo and I work full time. Once you get a routine in place, it will get easier.

There are two dry foods that are low in carbohydrates -- Dr. Elsey's Clean Protein and Young Again Zero Carb. With Lantus, the issue with dry food limits you to using only one of the dosing methods we use -- Start Low Go Slow. Many members use that method. If your cat is happy with the dry food, I would stick with it. If you want to transition to a canned food diet, that's fine but do it slowly. Chances are that your cat vomited due to the food switch. Diet changes are notorious for causing tummy trouble.

If you want information on feline nutrition, I've linked a site that we rely on. The menu bar on the right side of the page, has a link to a page discussing transitioning a cat from dry to canned food. In addition, there is a link to a food chart that has nutritional information on most of the canned foods available in the US.

I don't think many members have used the CentriVet meter. Many members use the Walmart Relion meter for a few reasons. First, the strips are inexpensive. The strips for most pet meters cost around $1 each. The Relion strips cost around $0.17 each. It will save you a fortune over time. The other issue is that if you forget to order strips or an order is delayed, you can always go to a Walmart to get strips. You can't rush a delivery. If there's not a Walmart near by, any human meter is fine. Most of our dosing information is based on human meters. FDMB started over 25 years ago and pet specific meters were not often used. I'd use the CentiVet for ketone monitoring and get a human meter for daily blood glucose monitoring.

I'm not entirely sure what the problem is with your meter from what you posted. Cat's numbers can jump around. In fact, it's possible that the numbers in the 60s are accurate. If you look at the spreadsheets in any of our signatures, you will see that numbers move around. I would reduce your cat's dose to 0.75u given the drop. With the dosing method we recommend, if your cat's blood glucose is below 90, you reduce the dose by 0.25u. If your vet didn't give you specifics regarding syringes, you want U-100 3/10cc syringes with half unit markings. You likely have the U-100 syringes but not ones with half unit markings. Since we make dose changes in 0.25u increments, the half unit marking on the syringes will make things easier. (You can get syringes from Amazon without a prescription.)

Please let us know how we can help.
 
Welcome to FDMB!

First, take a deep breath. No matter how much reading you do and how well prepared you think you are, the beginning of the journey is overwhelming. All of us have been there. I managed my cat's diabetes solo and I work full time. Once you get a routine in place, it will get easier.

There are two dry foods that are low in carbohydrates -- Dr. Elsey's Clean Protein and Young Again Zero Carb. With Lantus, the issue with dry food limits you to using only one of the dosing methods we use -- Start Low Go Slow. Many members use that method. If your cat is happy with the dry food, I would stick with it. If you want to transition to a canned food diet, that's fine but do it slowly. Chances are that your cat vomited due to the food switch. Diet changes are notorious for causing tummy trouble.

If you want information on feline nutrition, I've linked a site that we rely on. The menu bar on the right side of the page, has a link to a page discussing transitioning a cat from dry to canned food. In addition, there is a link to a food chart that has nutritional information on most of the canned foods available in the US.

I don't think many members have used the CentriVet meter. Many members use the Walmart Relion meter for a few reasons. First, the strips are inexpensive. The strips for most pet meters cost around $1 each. The Relion strips cost around $0.17 each. It will save you a fortune over time. The other issue is that if you forget to order strips or an order is delayed, you can always go to a Walmart to get strips. You can't rush a delivery. If there's not a Walmart near by, any human meter is fine. Most of our dosing information is based on human meters. FDMB started over 25 years ago and pet specific meters were not often used. I'd use the CentiVet for ketone monitoring and get a human meter for daily blood glucose monitoring.

I'm not entirely sure what the problem is with your meter from what you posted. Cat's numbers can jump around. In fact, it's possible that the numbers in the 60s are accurate. If you look at the spreadsheets in any of our signatures, you will see that numbers move around. I would reduce your cat's dose to 0.75u given the drop. With the dosing method we recommend, if your cat's blood glucose is below 90, you reduce the dose by 0.25u. If your vet didn't give you specifics regarding syringes, you want U-100 3/10cc syringes with half unit markings. You likely have the U-100 syringes but not ones with half unit markings. Since we make dose changes in 0.25u increments, the half unit marking on the syringes will make things easier. (You can get syringes from Amazon without a prescription.)

Please let us know how we can help.

The CentriVet meter gave me an error code when I did a glucose control test. So I don't know if it's working correctly. I suppose it's good that the ketone control test was normal, so I can use it for that still.
What is the difference between the results from a human vs feline specific glucose meter?
 
I'd use the CentiVet for ketone monitoring and get a human meter for daily blood glucose monitoring.

I have a CentriVet meter that I use for monitoring Ketones. I got it because it's what my vet had. I have found that it works well, but it would be a pain to switch out the little plastic piece that tells the meter whether it's supposed to measure Ketones or BG. So I only use the Centri Vet for Ketones. I use a ReliOn human meter for BG monitoring. It's helpful because all of the recommendations and instructions on this forum are based on human BG meters.
 
The CentriVet meter gave me an error code when I did a glucose control test. So I don't know if it's working correctly.

Did you switch out the little plastic piece that came in the strips? There will be one for felines that goes with your Ketone strips and a different one, also for felines, that matches the code on your BG strips. Just checking.
 
What is the difference between the results from a human vs feline specific glucose meter?

The pet meters tend to give higher results that the human ones, but I am not aware that there is a conversion between the two.

The other day we tested the same drop of blood with Relion and the CentriVet (first time ever using CentriVet for BG) and we got 70 from the ReliOn and 81 from CentriVet. I think the difference gets larger as BG goes higher.
 
Did you switch out the little plastic piece that came in the strips? There will be one for felines that goes with your Ketone strips and a different one, also for felines, that matches the code on your BG strips. Just checking.

I changed the chip, yes. I got E11 for the glucose control test, the ketone control still tested normally, I checked again to see if both would give error codes.
 
I'm not sure if I can start a spreadsheet of his levels until I have a properly working glucose meter again?:( Also, I don't currently have a working computer, and am posting on my cell phone. I hope I can do everything that way, hmmm.

I think @Bandit's Mom can make a Spreadsheet for you if you can't get it started on your phone. I am able to update Kobe's Spreadsheet on my phone.
 
The CentriVet meter gave me an error code when I did a glucose control test. So I don't know if it's working correctly. I suppose it's good that the ketone control test was normal, so I can use it for that still.
What is the difference between the results from a human vs feline specific glucose meter?

the difference between the human meter and the Pet meter is the ridiculous price for the Pet Meter and strips:bighug::cat:
 
I changed the chip, yes. I got E11 for the glucose control test, the ketone control still tested normally, I checked again to see if both would give error codes.
.

Well, shoot, there goes that idea. I would get a ReliOn BG meter from Walmart. Then you can decide what to do with the CentriVet. I'm sorry it's giving you error messages. That's the last thing you need right now.

I also have a KetoBM ketone monitor from Amazon. It takes the tiniest blood sample.
 
At least at the low end of things, there's about an 18 point difference between a human meter and a pet meter. However, that difference become larger as numbers are higher. There's no conversion between the two meters - or at least there's no conversion that anyone has ever found.
 
Thank you both! I'm looking at getting the meter, and I started messing with the spreadsheet on my phone. I'll be back with more questions soon!

We can see your spreadsheet. Good job.

Did your vet say that Bee has ketones? If so, or if she ever gets them, you can add a column for ketones on your spreadsheet or put them in your remarks column.
 
We can see your spreadsheet. Good job.

Did your vet say that Bee has ketones? If so, or if she ever gets them, you can add a column for ketones on your spreadsheet or put them in your remarks column.

Ahh I'm pretty sure his ketones were normal until we tried Bexacat for a few days, he elevated slightly, so she took him off it immediately. Last time he was in, they were at .2mmol.
 
Ahh I'm pretty sure his ketones were normal until we tried Bexacat for a few days, he elevated slightly, so she took him off it immediately. Last time he was in, they were at .2mmol.
So, if no Ketonesare present is just trying to find out he right dose , test and transition to wet food:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Hi and welcome. I agree with Sienne, I would reduce the dose to 0.75 units because of the drops you have seen in the BG.
Can you get some data you already have, into the spreadsheet please? That would be very helpful.
 
Just got a ReliOn, and tested. He's at 136 currently, his last shot was at 3pm. I won't be able to test all day every day, obviously not while I'm at work, but I'll have to figure it out.
 
Hi and welcome. I agree with Sienne, I would reduce the dose to 0.75 units because of the drops you have seen in the BG.
Can you get some data you already have, into the spreadsheet please? That would be very helpful.

I was using a different meter that may not have been reading correctly, so I hesitate to use that data...
 
Just got a ReliOn, and tested. He's at 136 currently, his last shot was at 3pm. I won't be able to test all day every day, obviously not while I'm at work, but I'll have to figure it out.
@Merfles
Are you going to use the Relion from now on ?
If so your spreadsheet has to be modified to reflect using a human meter. One of our Moderators can do that for you. You can start a conversation with her
@Marje and Gracie
Tap on Marje and Gracie here , then tap on start a conversation and explain to her you will be using a human meter from now on if that's the case
 
Last edited:
Well, I heard back from the company I got my CentriVet meter from, and there was a step I missed for doing a glucose control test! There's a button labeled M that you press after inserting the glucose strip, but before taking the sample. The ketone control doesn't require the other step, which is why it was reading fine, and I was confused!
So now I have two meters, and the readings I had taken previously were accurate. Since most people here use the human meter, I should probably stick to using that one?
 
Well, I heard back from the company I got my CentriVet meter from, and there was a step I missed for doing a glucose control test! There's a button labeled M that you press after inserting the glucose strip, but before taking the sample. The ketone control doesn't require the other step, which is why it was reading fine, and I was confused!
So now I have two meters, and the readings I had taken previously were accurate. Since most people here use the human meter, I should probably stick to using that one?
I would assume now that you know know how Centr-Vet works you can use the one you feel more comfortable using try both in one testing and see if there’s a significant reading at least you always have a back up, just make sure you put the one you will be using on your spreadsheet:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
 
Last edited:
Hmmmm just tested with both meters, ReliOn at 138, and the CentriVet at 162.
He's eating hia pate right now, I don't know how much insulin I should give him, definitely not a full unit...
 
Hmmmm just tested with both meters, ReliOn at 138, and the CentriVet at 162.
He's eating hia pate right now, I don't know how much insulin I should give him, definitely not a full unit...
I would stick to the ReliOn this is the majority we use, I will tag Sienne for the dose, I do not give dosing advise, although I know the dose should always be the same, but do not quote me on this please give her a few minutes to step in :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Diane Tyler's Mom GA
 
I would stick to the ReliOn this is the majority we use, I will tag Sienne for the dose, I do not give dosing advise, although I know the dose should always be the same, but do not quote me on this please give her a few minutes to step in :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Diane Tyler's Mom GA
Thank you so muuuuch! I did knock him down from 1u to .75u this morning, since he had been dropping so low occasionally.
 
Now I can't edit my own spreadsheet, what in the world did I do now?! So I don't forget, he was at 112 at 7pm...
 
Found this posted by a member

Maybe this will help

The link in your signature is the shareable link that anyone can view but not edit.

Open the link in your signature. At the top right corner of the page is a blue Log In button. Click on that and enter your email address and password, whatever you used to create your Google account with. Then you are able to edit your spreadsheet. Changes are automatically saved
 
I wish I could get a handle on this cats levels, jeebus. He was great for two days, now he's been higher before his last two shots again. Maybe he's getting stressed by all the ear stabbing, he's been struggling and crying some *sigh*. I don't know how y'all deal with the constant emotional roller coaster :arghh:
 
Back
Top