strangeness..............

  • Thread starter Thread starter Anonymous
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
A

Anonymous

hello folks,
just dropping by to share a strangeness. tom's been plodding along well regulated. last night i got sloppy and he got a fur shot. yep, wet on the fur and smell it. with .6u ya gotta wonder how much if any got in there.
WELL!
this morning tom presents me with his lowest amps ever....89.
amps are usually his highest point of the day.
so lev-perts (i say that with all due affection) what say you? should i wait and shoot a rising number....or go along with this unplanned experiment?
lori
and tomtom
 
ambg 89
+14 86
on a pm fur shot???????????????????/
hmmmmmmmmmmmmm...
makes me wonder.
 
I'm no Lev-pert, but wow, that does seem strange. Tom has such a pretty ss with all those blues and greens! Sorry I have no advice to offer as I'm still trying to figure all this out myself. But good for you Tom!!
 
+18 140
well, I guess he is still an insulin dependant diabetic.
let's see if he can bring himself down by pmbg.
if not i may shoot the .6 to refill shed and then reduce dose? maybe .5? or a very adventurous .4 ?
 
Darlene

This new 1.2 dose looks as if it may be taking you where you want to go. Nice day today.

Lori
and tomtom
 
Hmm, I don't know that allowing the shed to empty is the greatest plan, but maybe it will kick start his pancreas to realize, "Oh, hey, I can do this on my own."

Maybe just go down to .5U instead of .4U 'cause that would be a 33% decrease whereas the drop to .5U would only be 17% decrease. He may loose ground if you drop too far.
 
Vicki I was going to refill the shed tonight by giving the normal .6 and start the reduction tomorow. .5
yes/no?
 
I just realized that the +18 is on my last test is really inaccurate. As I am sure he got a fur shot last night I need to add another 12 hours to that. it is +30 140. I find that sooooo fascinating, don't you?
 
Holy Crappus....+48 is 130....he has either brought himself down from the 140 or just stablized there.
HMMMMMMMM> shoot?
 
You could see how long he goes, but generally I think giving a token dose of insulin (maybe half the .6U) if he's over 150 would be a good idea.

He seems to tolerate the .6U very well if he's really this close to OTJ. Sorry I've had a long day and not planning to stay on much longer.

I see you posted about 1/2 hr ago. Did you shoot anything?
 
nope vicki,,,no shot.
it makes me wonder if he's been mini rebounding at night.
his chart looks that way sometimes.
 
Well if you're game for experimenting, then you might as well see how long he holds his own. Are you sure it's been 48 hours since his last shot, if you DON'T count the fur shot? 'cause if his last actual shot was AMPS the morning of the 24th, that's only 36 hours. Tomorrow morning would be 48 hours.
 
yes, last night was a fur shot. wet fur. smelled it.
so let's see...your right----so smart! no insulin to really speak of for 36 hours.
maybe .3 u
i'll test him again.
he obviously has been getting insulin he did not really need. i mean these are better than his average numbers at amps, pmps.
well pmps is kind of the same.
.3u i think...providing he has not gone down further.
 
tested again at what I think is +38 135. i decided to shoot .3
i want to play 'experiment' with him....but don't want to put either of us thru getting back to regulated if he zooms after too long with nothing in him.
funny, without that fur shot i may never have known......................
 
The liver and pancreas act together to maintain a level state and the insulin has allowed the pancreas to take a rest. Now that the exogenous insulin is gone, his pancreas had to wake up!

The steady levels he's had are necessary to allow the healing. That's why Levemir and Lantus are so good at getting cats to remission.

.3U sounds fine. Did you notice if he still did that thing where his BG goes down after food? That's a pretty good sign his pancreas is doing something. But he's always done that, right?
 
good morning Vicki,
actually the only times Tom did the food drop thing was the first meal of the day....not later snacks or meals. I've not tested that as often and now that his numbers are relatively lowish, even when I do test it there is not much change pre meal and an hour post meal...small drop. Only once did I see a food rise.
Waiting to test him this morning in a half hour. He's eatting now.
I know...goes against all logic. But I find if I feed him and then test him an hour later I have less to worry about with shooting a falling number .... KWIM?
 
Vicki don't miss post above....
OMG amps 127 on .3 after 36 HOURS. That is like NO SHED i'd say.
I'm sooooo excited flip_cat
I gave him .3u just now and I'm off to work in about 1/2 hour.
He can't crash on .3u can he? nah...I think he managed to maintain .6 long after he needed it so....
tomtom's goin OTJ...i can just feel it.
and sooooo many people had to put up with me just to get him to this point! including having to leave the board for a month to regain some composure :lol:
this is looking really really good is'nt it?
 
lori and tom said:
Vicki don't miss post above....
OMG amps 127 on .3 after 36 HOURS. That is like NO SHED i'd say.
I'm sooooo excited flip_cat
I gave him .3u just now and I'm off to work in about 1/2 hour.
He can't crash on .3u can he? nah...I think he managed to maintain .6 long after he needed it so....
tomtom's goin OTJ...i can just feel it.
and sooooo many people had to put up with me just to get him to this point! including having to leave the board for a month to regain some composure :lol:
this is looking really really good is'nt it?

Yeah, definitely an example of what we mean by less is more!

If by crash you mean a symptomatic hypo, probably not. He's holding his numbers very well, especially since he's been getting twice that amount!

Keep us posted.
 
thank you everyone for taking a look.
I just got home and gave tom a +6 134
so ... not as excited as I could be.

and yes, by crash I mean go too low.
he still could go lower before nadir...heck, he could nadir at his pmps. but i'm doubting that.
I'll just ride this train and see where he takes me :razz:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top