Strange PM Numbers

Status
Not open for further replies.

geekgirldany

Member Since 2013
I've started using the AlphaTrak again and the numbers are not going down at night.

Please take a look at my spreadsheet the past three days. He is like staying the same in the PM. Like tonight PMPS 224 and nadir 219. Around similar numbers in the past two days.

Even looking at numbers prior to going back to using the Relion meter, the AlphaTrak showed PMPS 300 then drop down to 100s. The only difference is that he wasn't eating too well at that time. He is eating better now. Still free feeding Purina DM.

He has already seemed to go down 200 from post shot to nadiar.... now it is like leveled out.

Why is he staying around the same? Notice that AMPS he jumps back up.
 
Depending on his nadir, high morning numbers may reflect going lower overnight, ie, bouncing. You could try giving a smidge less at night for several days to see how that affects the morning numbers.

With ProZinc, you can do slightly higher doses for high pre-shots and lower doses for lower pre-shots. You might
Some cats have an earlier or later nadir; try randomly testing at +5, and +7, in addition to +6.

In some cats, ProZinc may wear off before 12 hours is up. When you can, try getting tests in the +9 to +11 period to see if you can identify that happening. Doing a full curve can be helpful, too, where you test every 2 hours from pre-shot to pre-shot. If that isn't possible due to scheduling, each day, aim for a different time to snag a test. As you collect these, you may observe if it is wearing off before 12 hours.

Are you meal feeding him or does he graze/get mini-meals? The timing of the food vs the insulin may have an impact, as may how much is eaten. If he is eating in the 2 hours before you test him in the morning, of course he may show up higher.
 
I will do more random testing. I am not sure why his numbers have been this way the last 3 days. Today PMPS was in the 300s. I gave him 2.20. More than likely it has to do with his eating/free feeding. He grazes and just eats when he wants. I've tried doing scheduled feedings but it isn't working. The wet food isn't going well either. He runs away. I've tried 9 lives and fancy feast.
 
Have you tried putting parmesan cheese on it? Or crushing a favorite treat on top? Sometimes they like a little warm water mixed in so it makes a gravy.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top