Stinky 10/12 Need to reduce dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

WickedSteppMom

Member Since 2011
I could really use some experienced opinions/advice on how I should adjust Stinky's dosage. Please take a look at his ss & see how crazy his #'s are & that 1 unit is obviously too much. He's fed 4 small meals/day & food is currently: Special Kitty or Sophistacat (per Binky's list) & he was on Purina EN w/a bit of Friskies for flavor, but has been off the Purina EN for 1 week. He also had a bowl of dry food that he shared w/1 other cat, though he ate it more often than she did. It had been a mix of Science Diet Age Defying & Purina One Beyond, and they got 1/2 cup per day total. I switched it to Innova EVO this past weekend, since they've had it before & it wouldn't really require a transition. I then reduced it from 1/2 cup to 1/4 cup, and so far today, I have not given them any. He is acting fine (crabby as usual!) but I just don't want to get into a situation where the too-high dose sends him into hypo. I have my Karo, feeding syringes, higher carb food...but would much rather avoid that situation! Also, how often should I be checking his BG for now? At this point, I've been checking it AMPS & if he didn't get a shot, then I check it pre-lunch & PMPS, unless one of the readings gives me an indication to do it more often. In March, his pancreatic enzymes were elevated, but the vet never actually diagnosed him w/pancreatitis, she rechecked him in Jun & Sep and said levels were good/OK.
 
Alyssa just so you know this particular room seems to get more action in the afternnoon/evening hours...so don't be discouraged.
I am an experienced pzi user and I will tell you what all here may agree with.
Cut your dose in half.
.5 unit.
Test amps, pmps and a couple of mid day shots and see how that starts working for stinky.
You should do just fine, specially considering 1 unit works about TOO GOOD for her/him.
Lori
and tomtom
 
Glad you made it over here, Alyssa. This forum is busiest in the am and pm but we do have people who check in during the day.

First, be sure to get a +6 today. He is heading down fairly fast.

Here is some info on mini dosing:

When your cat is consistently in numbers too low to shoot at shot time and in numbers in the 100 range and below during the cycle, you can consider micro dosing. This process should be guided on the forum by experienced members and will require more frequent testing.

You may be shooting at times other than the 12/12 schedule, when the blood glucose levels rise enough to require a small dose of insulin. You will need to pick a number somewhere near the 150 range at which you will plan to shoot, being sure that the number is indeed rising. The dose at these low numbers will vary with each cat and its patterns, so advice should be solicited. But you may be considering doses below .25 and even considering a “drop” of insulin. At this point, U100 needles and the conversion chart will be necessary.

It is important during this period to offer small frequent meals. You may want to experiment with the lowest carb foods to help bring down the numbers, staying away from seafood more than once or twice a week.
 
OK, his +6 was only 66 and he was TICKED OFF that I dared to disturb him as he came back to eat the rest of his lunch. I gave him a higher carb treat instead of the usual low carb one since I'm concerned about how fast he's dropping. Should I do anything else at this point-maybe put down the dry food? I can't run out to the store to get anything, but my husband can stop on his way home in 2 hrs. If I need it sooner, he can leave early & he only works 7 miles away.
 
The insulin has most likely peaked so he shouldn't go any lower. Can you check him at +7?
carl
 
I think testing him at 7 is a good idea. Sometimes they can surprise us and surf awhile. The food should bring up his numbers. This isn't a scary number; we don't start worrying until the 40s. I would not put down the dry at this point.
 
His +7 was 57 and he's just chillin' out while both of my kids make a whole bunch of noise all around him, so I'd say he's feeling fine. If he's feeling bad, he tends to take a swipe at whichever child (usually my son) irritates him the most.
 
So he is basically surfing along. I know he won't like it (probably try to swipe both you and your kids..... :mrgreen: )but you need to get another test in another 45 minutes to an hour. We want to make sure he doesn't go down into the 40s.

He has earned a dose reduction but at this rate, you may not get a shootable number at pmps. Get some advice about what to do if and when that happens.
 
+8 was 53...we're getting a little too close to the 40's for my comfort, considering dinnertime isn't supposed to be for another 1.5 hrs. Gave him another higher carb treat after this poke, so hopefully that will keep him steady.
 
That sounds fine. When you get more used to the lower numbers and his reaction to them, you'll know whether low carb or higher carb will work. It is good to have some higher carb gravy food around. That way you can give him just the gravy, bring up his numbers without filling up his tummy.

Can you get another test in 30-45 minutes? Very unlikely he will go any further down - much more likely he will go up or surf along where he is, but we want to be sure.

Two things to remember. These are great numbers for early in the game and his response to the insulin and low carb food is a very good thing. Two, every meter can vary by 20% every time you test, so all his numbers are pretty much the same, even though the 50s seem much lower.
 
You are still too new to this dance for this, but what I normally tell people who see those nice green 50s and 60s is "DON'T FEAR THE GREENS!". I realize that this is early in the game for you to be having to go through every color of the spectrum on your SS, and the double digit numbers are scary the first few times you see them.
What you will come to understand is that the meter is not your only weapon here. Try to observe how he acts when his numbers go below 100. He will tell you when he's going to low by the way he acts.
If he acts like he's starving, for instance, he's trying to tell you he needs a sugar boost, that he's feeling the effects of the lows, and he instinctively knows that food will fix it. So you give him a snack, his normal low carb stuff, which will pick him up just enough.
It is when you see the dizzyness, the huge pupils, the looking miserable look. That's when you grab your meter and get out the high carb gravy and make sure he comes up quicker. Kitties tell us a lot, we just have to figure out their language.

This is a dance, and you're still learning the steps. Only he hears the music however, so in the sugardance, kitty leads.

Carl
 
OK, so it looks like the SS shows that at +10, Stinky is at 70.
Unless Stinky rises like a rocket in the next two hours, he wouldn't need a shot at PMPS.
If he is over 200 and needs a dose, it needs to be a tiny dose. 1 unit dropped him 150 points and 75% if I do the quick math in my head.
Too steep for a pre-shot this low. Another 10-15 points could have been bad.

I'd recommend a .25 or at most a .5 on a 200. If it's higher than that, we can discuss, but I think .5 is going to be his new upper limit if his pre-shots remain this yellow. I'm leaning on .25 myself. He lasted 48 hours on 1 unit a few days ago, and 36 hours on the next dose till this morning.

Any thoughts?
Carl
 
I actually had to take some medicine & lay down for a while when Hubs got home b/c I was having a possible pre-seizure aura (I'm epileptic) and I don't think Stinky would appreciate me trying to test his BG while having a seizure! In any case, Hubs forgot to do PMPS & just fed him while I was napping. I just tested it, and it's at 48. It's time for him to eat again, but do I need to be concerned about him dropping throughout the rest of the night? Hopefully the food will bring him up out of the 40's.
 
Alyssa, I can stay with you. I'm in Ca. and it's not late.
You may have to stay with him for awhile.
Where are you...time zone wise?
Lori
 
Lori
My alarm is set for 4:30. I can't do another late nighter...thsnks for following this one.
Carl :YMHUG:
 
of course, me and tom are just here in bed watching 'the middle' and he wants me to stop starring at him anyway.
 
Sue and Cindy and everyone else....hugs to you too.
carl
 
Cindy, about how hot are you? I'm waiting for the evening cooling off period to begin............
 
i can be backup for now if need be as we're still at the shop lori and i can keep an eye on the computer here so if you need something asap, pm me k. raul may give up suddenly on getting this broken stud out of this volvo and we'll dart off for home but will let you know if/when that happens

fwiw, this low this long after the last shot is exactly why everyone thinks the dose should be reduced

oh crap, i hear raul rolling up the air hose

ot but to answer your question, it's still boiling up here. enough to be uncomfortable at least. we hit 104 here in yl today 8-0 tomorrow is supposed to be more of the same then drop down into the 80's here on friday i believe
 
well crud. raul just realized senor baja's closes in 45 minutes and he wants his fish tacos so we are outta here. won't be back to a computer for at least an hour i'd say. will get online as soon as i get home.

don't forget, you can scream for help on other isg's or facebook if you're there and i'm sure someone will help out if kitty goes any lower
 
I'm here! Stinky is still doing fine, but my 3 y/o started screaming, and while Hubs is very good about taking care of the nighttime wakings, this time he only wanted Mommy. The most recent BG was about 4 hrs after eating, and I fed him again after-though he didn't eat all of it. It's been about an hour, should I test again, or give it a little longer-maybe see if he'll eat the rest of his food? I'm in central KY, Eastern time zone, but I'm an insomniac, so I'll be up all night if necessary.
 
He did not have a PM shot. Hubs isn't comfortable doing that yet & would've woken me up for it. Funny, he had no problem giving me shots w/22 gauge 2" needles when we were doing IVF, but he's intimidated by giving the cat a shot w/a 30 gauge 1/2" needle...maybe it's b/c I only *threatened* to bite him.
 
WoW!
That is some number at like +14 without insulin ...I guess you already need to learn to micro dose.
I don't suppose you have any u100 syringes....I can send you some, but you will need them right away.
You are gonna go off the juice stinky....i just feel it!
Lori
 
Sorry, I know I am being repetitive but it is pretty unusual for him to be in the 70s, then down to 40.

The food could have brought him down.

I would take another test in 30 minutes or so. Without insulin, he should be okay but we don't really want him down below 40.
 
Actually, the only syringes I've been using are 1ml/1cc=u100. They have the 1/2 unit marking on them & I printed out the conversion chart before I ever started giving him any insulin. I also have 3 pkgs of u100's that don't have the 1/2 unit mark, but I could use 1 of the other syringes to figure out where it would be.
 
I am going to bed, but you are in good hands with Lori. I think he should be fine. It is just amazing to go 14 hours and be at 40. A few tests if you are going to be up awhile is a good idea.

Sounds like you all have had an exhausting evening! Hope things calm down for you and Stinky.

Even if he is at 200 tomorrow, I would be thinking less than .25
 
Alyssa,
it's unusual that you are using u100 with prozinc. is the prozinc a u100 prozinc....actually to make a long story short would you like to make a quick phone call?
 
Seems little ms. stinky gave alyssa a 72 @ +16....
and she has plenty of u100 syringes.
I'm thinkin Stinky is gonna be an otj kitty before we know it :-D
I thought if the amps (+24) was over 200 she could shoot .4
hope that sits well with you guys.
ni ni
lori
 
Thanks again for helping me on the phone last night, Lori! I slept so much better knowing that I had plans in place for this morning. His AMPS (+24) was 97, so I fed him & have not given a shot. I plan to check him periodically throughout the day to make sure he's not going too high/low, but how often I check him will depend on the numbers I'm getting.
 
Good moning Alyssa and Stinky!
Looks like you are off to a great start today!
carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top