I guess it boils down to my disagreeing that 91 means that too much insulin was given. I would agree that 60 means that but not 91.
Ken, just wanted to chime in here to say that what Sue is telling you
is correct. (And BJ, too.) Please keep in mind that you are still in the "learning curve" phase of dosing your kitty on ProZinc - and that ProZinc is NOT a depot insulin, so you really should not be shooting insulin from an AMPS/PMPS of 91. That can be safe IF you are using Lantus/Levemir (both depot insulins) AND you have lots and lots of data already to support dosing at such a low number. But - again - ProZinc is not Lantus. Please don't make the mistake of confusing yourself with protocols written for people using tight regulation with a cat on a depot insulin.
You'd said:
I don't want to stick my cat's ear 10x/day.
None of us like much like the idea of testing our cats 10 times a day. But sometimes - and especially at the beginning - frequent BG checks are what it takes for you to fully understand how your kitty is processing the insulin throughout her 12-hour cycles. I realize that this is not always possible, given work schedules, etc. But is helpful to do more testing whenever possible (like on the weekends) to help you see your cat's cycle patterns; this will pay off in spades by helping guide your hand in making dosing decisions.
While some cats do well on a sliding scale while on ProZinc, when you're first starting out it's usually a good idea to hold a dose for at least 3 cycles because some cats' bodies take a while to adjust to a dose. (Obviously, you wouldn't hold a dose if you're getting one pre-shot # that's high enough to shoot and the next too low to shoot. In that case, a reduction is in order.) Having plenty of data (BG tests) accumulating in the SS is one of the best ways to determine which method of dosing works best for your cat, and you really
do need to be doing some testing around the usual hours of a nadir - anywhere around +3/+4 to +5/+7.
I can sense your frustration, Ken, and we can all relate to that!

It's only been a little more than 2 weeks since you started Ginger on ProZinc, isn't that right? Getting a cat regulated is a marathon rather than a sprint. So although it
is frustrating, try to hang on to your patience here, because it
does take time. We've all been where you are right now; we understand how it feels.
